We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad and the Ugly”
Review of Bolero Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bolero Resort
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We just stayed this past weekend at the Bolero. First the good - the people who worked there were great - pleasant, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. This hotel did meet my personal three basics - decent carpenting, decent bathroom, and decent mattress. We stayed in the motel part of the building, and found our room large. The location is close to the beach for anyone wanting a place to stay within a block of the boardwalk and beach area. Your right across from a pub, and close walking distance to some nice restaurants. There is a restaurant in the hotel but the first floor one was closed for a private party when we were there. We did not explore the second floor lounge. A pleasant pool area on the 7th floor of the hotel portion of the building provides a good view of the area. Microwave and refrigerator provided. The bad would be the thin towels and pillows, lack of toiletries except soap, and a price - in our case $113 a night for offseason - which you'd hope would provide a nicer place to stay. Your room won't be dark when you turn off the lights because of all the outdoor lighting. No wi-fi. The only elevator in the main hotel is slow. Ugly describes the furnishings - we're talking straight out of the 80's and mismatched. Electrical outlets are scarce so bring a few surge protectors along. What can I say - for a night, its a decent stay. But on season for several days - not so sure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2010

Restaurant , entertainment and location, were good or better. I was so disappointed when I stepped into the Lobby. Web pics made this place look AWESOME, only the price was awesome, awesomely expensive for what we got. Lobby carpeting was GROSS. I expected a Grand Resort like it showed in the picture. Yeh, maybe 20 years ago. It was run down and so was the neighborhood. Trying to get our stuff to the room was an Olympic Event. Laundry room/game room/ice room, was one small, hot, smelly rundown room. Our room was big enough. AC was awesome, but the overall appearance was not like the pics. floor lamps were rusty. Room was mildewey and stained rug could have used a little more attention. Not a place for peace and quiet but that was ok. I chose this for distance to the Boardwalk and Ocean. Boardwalk was GREAT. The Beach was dirty, disgusting. This was my life savings that I spent. Almost $600.00 for 3 nights. Plus food and entertainment. I lived for this vacation and cried when I got there. I would have preferred after the fact to pay less, walk more. Would I go back there. NO! This was a "Birthday" trip. Unhappy Birthday to me! (can locate photos)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 600wastedbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Great Hotel, close to the beach and the piers. Close to all resaraunts and attractions fun for family vacation. Not badly priced, good service, clean rooms.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank AmmieB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We just got back from Wildwood and can't wait to go back! This resort motel was centrally located, close to everything. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way for you. We tried the margaritas in many Wildwood bars, but little did we know that the best margaritas were at our pool bar! The tiki pool bar is new because you don't see it in any of the pictures online. Even if you don't stay at this resort, you can go have some fantastic margaritas. We're definitely visiting this tiki bar when we go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed at Bolero for two days. Paid for three nights but left early as we couldn't stand another night at the dirty place. The carpet was sticky and dirty. The beds were uncomfortable and the bed smell was terrible.
Unfriendly staff at the front desk, dirty rooms and extremely loud neighbors. We couldn't stand another night so we left a day early.
Paid over $200 per night. I would not stay here even if was free.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kangarooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Things went from bad to worse....I could write a book on the mishaps and terrible service from the front desk...rooms were dated and run down, ceiling falling in the bathroom and mildew smell from drawers, broken blinds....we had additional guests come for half our stay so we booked a room change for Sunday morning, we were told by the desk that since check out was at 11am and check in was at 2pm that they would make our room up first so we could move at 11 am from one room to the other. At 3:30 we were still waiting to get into our new room, we couldn't go anywhere and actually cooked and ate in the rain because we didn't have a room, when asked what they could do for our inconvenience we were told "nothing" not even an apology, the only positive experience we had was the housekeeping staff jumped through hoops to rush getting the room ready once they saw us sitting outside the room with all our belongings...which included removing God only knows what it was stain from the mattress while making the bed... ... ...advertised live entertainment every night during the summer yet was told on Sunday night that they canceled the entertainment. Advertised that there were grills for guests' use, but failed to say there was only ONE grill to be shared by every occupant.......also no cable in our room..we had 10 channels to choose from: 2 in another language and the rest too fuzzy to even see....but what a surprise when we moved on Sunday the other room had cable.... wish I knew that sooner. Oh yeah, the pool....interesting enough could not see to the bottom because the water was cloudy/dirty, refused to swim in it...

and the grand finale to this wonderful week???...my 15 year old daughter just picked a LICE out of her head......does it get any better than this??? Do yourself a favor and stay away from this one because it is NOTHING like the website says it is....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieque0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Needed a big room for my wife, three teenage sons and myself and the Bolero delivered big time. 2 king sized beds and a pull out sofa sleeper made this the perfect crash pad after a long day and evening and night in Wildwood. Friendly staff, free parking, clean newly redone bathroom with great water pressure and a pool side bar with reasonable beer prices fit the bill to the tee. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmacfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#22 of 75 in Wildwood
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#14 of 75 in Wildwood
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolero Resort

Address: 3320 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4802
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bolero Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bolero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolero Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing