We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dawn & Nova Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dawn & Nova Motels
Ranked #61 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
northeast ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was a good find. We made last minute plans to hit the beach in Wildwood, and came across the Dawn Motel. We were skeptical on what we were getting at the last minute and at a good price. Turned out better than we hoped.

Now, this isn't a 5 star hotel. This a beach motel, so it's not going to be the best of the best. It's basically a place to sleep while you spend your days at the beach. It was clean, and close to the boardwalk and beach.

The beds are comfortable, if a bit small. We were only able to get double beds. But it worked out for us. The mattresses are new and comfortable. The other furniture is old, but it's really just a place to put your stuff, so that's no big deal. Flat screens are new. The rooms have wall unit A/C which worked well enough to keep the room cool.

The bathroom was small but clean. Definitely dated with the pink tile, toilet, and sink. But the cleanliness is what matter to us, so we were happy.

On the 3rd floor you have a balcony, 2nd floor has an extended balcony with tables. A good place to hang out and have a beer after being at the beach all day.

The staff was very nice and helpful. The maids were also nice and gave us clean towels everyday and offered to clean up as needed. They vacuumed up the sand from the floor as well.

Parking is a bit odd. You double park, so you the person that blocks anyone in needs to leave their keys at the office. But that's due to the limited space in the area.

Overall we are quite happy with out stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javaman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    10
    5
    19
See reviews for
22
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I booked the Nova and it isn't the preetiest or the most inviting from the outside, but none the less clean room. Upon our entry a friendly lady with glasses came out side as we were looking around and greeted us inside. She checked us in and gave us some coupons and info. We go to our 2nd floor room and see all the chairs and mini tables out side of each persons room. Our door was hard to push to open but we pushed hard! Our room smelled very fresh and clean upon entering and we of course check every part to see if it was satifactory. We were happy with the room , there was a little rust on the sink and a little rubber mat imprints in the tub but it looked clean to the eye and finger. A little dusk on the lamps but easily taken care of with a tissue. Bring water flip flops or water shoes, I never put my bare feet in motels. Beds were okay but pillows were flat. B.y.o.p (bring your our pillow). The grill did not work so we were a bit disapointed in that when we were told that it was working when asked 5mins ago. I will stay again off season but not in the summer when a pool is needed. The lack of pool was a big no no to me. Love how there is a rite aid and the boardwalk is half a block down. Our sheets were clean and so were the towels, they smelled fresh too. The big screen t.v and the A.c that you can set in advance to power on was great.

Room Tip: Room #5 on the second floor was clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This place is a dump and is not worth staying here ANYTIME for ANY reason! From the blood stain on our filthy comforter, brown stains on the torn mattress protector, stained covered carpet, random items left from people who were there from who knows when (razor cover, dirty wash cloth, etc.) to the broken shower knob, filth-lined bathtub, dirty toilet with urine all around base and short'n'curly hairs, nasty microwave, random person who managed to be able to walk right into our hotel room (totally unsafe!), lights that didn't work, an inch of dust on the headboards and more....it seriously could not have been worse and we would NEVER return!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank jdoeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Was the worst vacation we ever had!!!! My daughter booked two rooms for two nights to surprise the family. They not only had our reservations all mest up with one room at the Nova and the other at the Dawn. We refused to be seperated and they went as far as telling another guess that her and her daughter had to move. We refused to have that happen. But the worst is when my husband came down the next morning to meet us he fell entering the room with the 6" drop,and past out cold we had to call 911. (there was never a sign to watch your step prior to this) any way he just had surgery on 9/15 due to the fall. And in my daughter's room she had a lamp with exposed wires that started smoking it was the only light that worked in the room. The staff was very rude and everone seemed to be manager.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in early August. Great proximity to the beach & boardwalk and it was nice to have the terrace to sit outside in the evenings. The rooms are old and the bathrooms and air-conditioning units are sorely in need of further renovation, but our room was clean and served us well. Parking is a bit odd, but seems to be the norm in Wildwood. The kitchenette in our room looked to be quite new and the appliances worked fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissylte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly suburbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Beware!!! My husband's wallet mysteriously disappeared from our room in the Nova building while we were on the beach. The Nova building is in kind of an alley way. It smelled of urine as you walked close to the stairwell. I had already requested to be moved to another room, because the railing directly in front of our room had 3 broken spindles. I have two small children, and they kept going close the railing. So we moved to a room in the Dawn building. That same day the power went out for about four or five hours during a heat wave (I guess this wasn't the fault of the motel...the whole neighborhood was out of power). They gave us a flashlight just in case. The next day my 4 year old son was looking under one of the dressers with the flashlight. I ran over to get him off the filthy floor, when my 2 year old son started looking under the dresser and picks up a syringe..DISGUSTING!!!!! Thankfully, the syringe was capped. I will never stay in this place again no matter how close it is to the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Caprice Motel
Caprice Motel
#57 of 76 in Wildwood
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#43 of 76 in Wildwood
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Court Motel
Royal Court Motel
#50 of 76 in Wildwood
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monaco Motel
Monaco Motel
#25 of 76 in Wildwood
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarem Happy Days
Clarem Happy Days
#37 of 76 in Wildwood
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawn & Nova Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawn & Nova Motels

Property: Dawn & Nova Motels
Address: 4300 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4621
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dawn & Nova Motels 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dawn & Nova Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawn And Nova Motels
Dawn & Nova Hotel Wildwood
Dawn Hotel Wildwood
Dawn Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing