We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super close to boardwalk fun!!”
Review of Diplomat Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diplomat Suites
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super close to boardwalk fun!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place was very nice. Great pool with sun over it all day which is important since most of the hotel pools are located on the side of the building which causes shading. The pool was large and in a great place! Only downside to this hotel was that the only ac in the room was located in the bedroom. Sooo the bedroom was freezing while the living room and kitchen were like a sauna! But for the price and location which was like a block from the boards I would def stay again:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cortnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    13
    12
    18
See reviews for
50
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have been coming to The Diplomat for two years and enjoyed our stays. We agree with other reviewers in that it is a condo complex, so your experience is largely based on the condo you receive. If the owner of your unit cares, the units are updated and provide some nice decor and comfortable furniture. If the owner of the unit is just in it for the money, the unit is less than ideal.

My suggestion is to find a unit you like and stick with it. We were fortunate to find a nice, comfortable efficiency unit last summer, booked early, and had it again this summer. However, we did hear by the pool from some other Diplomat guests who had stayed in previous years that their unit this summer was horrendous compared to others they had in the past.

Therefore, this hotel is largely dependent on the unit you receive. However, the location is great (2.5 blocks from the beach/boardwalk and close to many bars and nightlife) and if you're willing to take a gamble, you may just get something you like.

Room Tip: Find a room that you like and request it year after year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank livingandlovingnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in August, with our family and you basically get what you pay for. The price was excellent, the pool and grill areas were extremely clean and well maintained, but the rooms on our floor are in desperate need of updating. The 2 double beds were very comfortable, but the carpet and fixtures were broken and in need of replacement. The sliding screen door on the balcony wasn't even attached and the window in the living room had screens that pushed in. The living room had a comfortable couch, but the pull out bed was completely unusable and luckily we called one of our family coming late to bring an air mattress. The living room tv didn't have a working remote and only had a few channels so it was a bust for the kids and it was very hot as you couldn't open the window for airflow. Since most of our time was spent at the beach, boardwalk or pool the motel unit was functional. The cleaning people were helpful and hardworking, but one or two of the front desk staff could you a class in customer service skills as they clearly have none. Overall, if you aren't planning on spending much time in your room, then this works great (just ask to see the room first, if you have one like ours, try to get another room as certainly do have nicer units).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Diplomat is clearly not worth the money charged. We were first given a room the had a hole in the bathroom wall. When we complained we were moved to a room that was dirty. The AC unit did not work. When we complained we were told that they would replace the unit. They later said there was nothing they could do. The hags in the lobby were downright nasty. Finally the next day maintenance did show up to replace the unit. I later noticed they had to replace the AC units in several other Condos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

bklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The front desk were more experienced in Customer Service. I believe the old hags that work at the front, do not know one thing about treating people in a way to make them want to come back to this location. If it were my hotel/beach club/suites, I would make sure that my staff were friendly, courteous, and easy to talk to.

This is our second year staying at this hotel and I love it. But the staff make it more of a bad experience. Since it is just my fiance and I, we always get the Type A suite, which is wonderful. It comes with a kitchenette, full bathroom, blow dyer, big TV with dvd player, toaster, fridge, microwave, stove and other small things. The first room that we had was nice, clean, and large. Now the room that we had for this current visit is still large, but blemishes in the bathroom. No mold but rust around the bathtub and sink. One thing about me is, I HATE MOLD AND RUST STAINS.

In all, I would have gave it a five star rating but I took two points off for the bathroom and the front desk staff. Otherwise, everything was excellent. We also met some cool people here.

Ijanei

Room Tip: Type A is bigger than Type B. Go figure. Type B room seems to cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ijanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Diplomat for two nights in July 2013. When we first arrived, the room was not very clean. The bedspreads looked old and dated and when we sat down on the beds, one was very hard and the other felt like you were sinking into quicksand. When I needed to use the blow dryer, we looked around and were not able to find one. My mom went to the front desk to ask them for another one and they told her it had probably been stolen from the room. They did not offer to get a replacement. When my mom asked them to get her a replacement, the women at the front desk told her they didn't have a key to the storage closet. My mom noticed a little sign that they have at the front desk that says something like "please ask us how we can make your stay better." Well, we asked...but our stay was not to our liking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have been going to this hotel for the last 3 years with my son and now with a little friend of his. The rooms are just what you would expect in a Lotel, that is the nickname that my son gave to all hotels that are not 4 star hotels. The hotel is frequently used by many people during the season and the staff and management do there best to keep up with the maintenance of the building. It is really a nice place and very close to the boardwalk. It has it's own pool and places where you can barbecue your own food. The rooms have small kitchens where you can make breakfast. The beds are standard and the pull out sofa is what you expect in a pull out.

Room Tip: The higher floors of the hotel seems to be the quieter but the one elevator is always in use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenjjeanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#20 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caprice Motel
Caprice Motel
#58 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#46 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Resort
Newport Beach Resort
#34 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#13 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#12 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Suites

Property: Diplomat Suites
Address: 225 E Wildwood Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4837
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Diplomat Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Wildwood
Diplomat Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing