We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the price”
Review of Oceanic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanic Hotel
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for the price”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hotel was clean, location is perfect(you can bypass walking half the beach by using the ramp at the convention center). Front desk was always personable and accommodating. We were concerned about the pool issue as posted by previous reviews, however we did not have an issue, we had 3 girls ages 7,12,13 and the kids LOVED this place. Definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom ocean view room with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrotthead21974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    55
    36
    22
    44
See reviews for
83
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family and I (2 adults, 2 children) and our friends (again 2 adults, 2 children) stayed here Sunday through Wednesday August 4-9 in the "B" rooms. When we made the reservation, we requested adjoining rooms but when we got there we found that our rooms were one above the other.

Our rooms: My family stayed on the third floor at the end of the hall. We had a beautiful view from our balcony of the park, the convention center, and part of the boardwalk. The furniture was desperately in need of updating as the bathrooms, the mismatched chairs and the light fixtures came straight out of the '70s. We were afraid to open the pull out sofa as it looked dirty and old. The toilet was loose and not bolted properly to the floor. In all fairness, we didn't bother notifying the staff about the toilet; we just dealt with it. The beds were comfortable.

My friends' room on the second floor had ants but at least their sofa came from the '90s and they had flat-screen televisions. Neither room had a phone available which I find to be a safety issue.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and the pool was nice and warm. My husband and I were able to enjoy a cocktail at the swim up tiki bar while keeping an eye on our children who were swimming in the pool. We ordered nachos and chicken wings as well as some kids' meals for lunch one day and the food was just ok and it took an hour to get it. I wanted to use the laundry room as promised on the web site but I was told it was "broken."

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if they updated the rooms a bit and added phones and security cameras. I don't think I would bring my family here on the weekends as the bar and pool are open to the public and there are no phones or security cameras.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our church Youth Group was stranded recently in Wildwood because of an unexpected severe storm. We were to camp on the beach in Wildwood for the weekend, but we had to abandon most of our camping gear til the storm passed-- then we had to find a place which would accommodate 17 Teens and Adults for two nights. We knew nothing about the Oceanic Hotel, but the staff was able to handle our emergency stay. Being displaced by the storm, the Staff and Management of the Hotel not only accommodated us with rooms which fit our needs, but compassionately helped us with our gear which we were able to get off the beach. It was a long walk between the hotel and our beach conference but each night we had a roof over our heads, hot showers and something you can't buy....or rent....a Staff who took care of business & took care of us and an interest in our situation. We were very grateful and will return again. Youth Group from Middletown, NJ.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Ok first this place is dirty. We found dirty old lady bathing suits in the dresser. Than the pool !! The pool is by far the worst. The tiki bar is in side the pool which is open too the public. Soo you have drunks jumping around being wild and the girls bikini look more like thongs. On our last day we couldnt find the laptop and finally found it under the bed and none of us put it there. Only other person in the toom was the maid. We think she tryed hiding it too steal it. The only thing i can say good about this place is the owner bob. Hes very friendly and help us with everything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inlove21207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was by far the worst hotel experience I have had in my entire life. They promised so many amenities yet most were not functional. Air conditioners were loud and old, kitchen sink leaked, refrigerator not working, room smelt moldy, sofa bed was pretty much a sheet of metal, and the list goes on and on. We found waste in the sofa bed. Hint to management: don't charge me for a sofa bed if it is not even possible to sleep on it. When you mention your problems to them, they make it seem as if you're at fault. The hallways smelled like cigarettes and we found a few people who were 'proud to be high' walking around. I assumed the smell came from them smoking weed. Hotel management is full of a bunch of liars and I wish I knew that before booking this hotel. When you mention any room issues to them, the lady with the blonde hair working during the day brushes you off and you're left waiting for hours for them to be resolved, that's if they end up getting resolved. Even checking in took forever because they have one person working the front desk and every time you walk up it seems that she is on the phone. Management had only one person running around fixing everything that was broken. Apparently they refuse to spend money on their establishment and everything is breaking down. All these people care about is receiving your money. They don't care about your satisfaction or safety. I highly highly highly recommend you spend the extra money and go elsewhere. I will never be coming back to this "hotel."

Room Tip: Do not bother staying here with your family. A complete waste of money and your vacation will be rui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here over the Ultimate Frisbee Weekend and was disappointed overall in various aspects. Pull out couch was so bad(metal bar going across exactly where upper back is) that we took the mattress off and slept on the ground. The queen-size beds were also uncomfortable. The swim up tikibar was cool but it closes at 7pm. A/C was loud and dripped. Service was absolutely abhorrent. I am not sure if they are employees or owners but they had complete disrespect for requests such as additional towels. I will not be staying here again and instead will stay a bit farther from the beaches. I give it 2 stars merely because of location(~10 minutes to the best part of the boardwalk).

Summary: Will not be staying here again

Room Tip: The pool area is very loud with music playing until lateish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casualtraveler3092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Overall fantastic hotel. Great location, excellent service, nicest employees. Fell in love with Bob, at the front desk. Sweetest most genuine guy, he really cares about the customers. The hotel is directly across the street from the convention center and the beginning of the fun side if the boardwalk. Only name you need to know to stay on the Jersey Shore is Oceanic!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shines223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Beach Resort
Newport Beach Resort
#41 of 76 in Wildwood
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monaco Motel
Monaco Motel
#15 of 76 in Wildwood
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Motel
Casa del Sol Motel
#25 of 76 in Wildwood
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#6 of 76 in Wildwood
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
0.2 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#14 of 76 in Wildwood
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Hotel

Property: Oceanic Hotel
Address: 4600 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4697
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and cool off at the only swim up tiki bar in Wildwood. Capture the true island vibe with tropical drinks, ice cold beers, and the coolest staff on the island. You can always enjoy a poolside lunch from our fantastic grill menu. It's sure to please everyone. Play outside all day and party into the evening with live entertainment that will keep your vacation fun filled! Need to get out of the sun? Then come inside and enjoy your favorite beverage at the original barefoot bar - complete with views of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing