We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for you Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newport Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We came here in Aug 2012 for a weekend. Our room was a little on the small side, but we were only here to sleep and shower up. The prices were great. The staff was attentive and helpful with touristy stuff. The only issue we had was families that stayed here did not attend to their children while they were at the pool. We decided to not bother with the pool due to overcrowding and potentially seeing a child bust their head open while climbing on the fence that was there to divide the kiddie area. Maybe there should be a better watch on the pool or at least stricter rules on the use.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Newport Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

we stayed here for a weekend in october ocean front private balcony.they have an elevator the rooms were seperated from each other great viewof the wildwood sign and the beach we have never stayed here before and the summer might be much different but for 89 a night for the weekend is a good deal i would stay here again at the same time of year.my husband didnt like the small tvs and the remotes didnt work so well though.

Room Tip: spend a few more dollars for the ocean front its worth it
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked three rooms at the beginning of the month. There was not a single bug of any kind in any of the rooms! No bed bugs, no sand fleas, not even a spider. All of the rooms were very clean and the housekeeper is very friendly and sweet. She made she sure we had everything we needed. The woman at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful in suggestions on where to eat and what to do.

The hotel has a pool that was clean and is used. The kids had more fun playing in the pool than in the ocean (go figure). They also have a guest washer and dryer. Each cost $1. If you plan on using them make sure you have quarters (no one was able to give us change in quarters). There is also a sunning deck with lounge chairs. We only used it once and at night. It was a great area to sit around and talk. The hotel is outdated but not in a bad way. I think that is what gives it its charm. The hotel also charges for Wi-Fi. That really does not bother me as many hotels charge you. We have teenagers so we paid for 3 nights and up to 3 users and the cost was around $36.

Now for the downfalls. PARKING! A lot of reviewers have complained about it and when I was there a woman was screaming about it. To avoid this the staff should tell you when you make a reservation where to park. Park behind the Subway restaurant. Once you check in they will give you a parking pass to put in your car so you can stay in that lot. After we checked in and knew where to park we never had another parking issue.

The only other downfall for me was the water pressure. It was not too bad in the shower (though the hot and cold were backwards--took me forever to figure that one out lol). However, sometimes the toilets do not flush. To get it to flush you have to wait for it to completely fill back up (which takes a bit) and then flush.

Beach tip: Yes, the hotel is across the street from the beach. But, the ocean is still about 3/4 mile walk. When they say the beaches are as wide as they are long; they are not kidding! I suggest taking a wagon or some sort of cart to help get all your beach gear down there.

Boardwalk tip: It cost $8.00 per ride. Some rides are extra. The slingshot cage thing cost $50 for two people. We did not eat on the Boardwalk but we did have ice cream which was $4 a cone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justsomechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Very friendly and clean. Loved the retro beach feel, I remember as a child. Visitors should be told that they can use the Subway parking lot to park. There is also a guest washer and dryer and if you plan to use it have some quarters, 4 for washer and 4 for dryer. The Subway is a little strange,they do not take coupons or honor cards and never have decaf coffee but they are very friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I wouldn't give this place one star! It is completely outdated and dirty! My sheets were stained and garbage was left over from previous guests in the room. We had no towels when we arrived and the toliet barely flushes. I wouldn't waste my money on this place, keep looking. They have some nerve charging so much for this garbage!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Enjoy our stay at the Newport. The rooms were nice and clean. The service was good Kathy at the front desk very nice enjoyed talking to her. The location was great right across the street from beach and boardwalk. Really have fun. Will com back again. MH

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Margo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

They DO NOT offer breakfast, sleeping for children, free wifi, etc. you have to PAY for their wifi, and pay for something the kids can sleep on. NOT worth the money. The staff was not the friendliest either! The sleeping was rough!! I'd rather of slept on the floor! There's other locations for better prices. Don't waste your money here! I see them going under! Just my opinion

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrystalNmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#46 of 75 in Wildwood
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diplomat Suites
Diplomat Suites
#41 of 75 in Wildwood
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#30 of 75 in Wildwood
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#15 of 75 in Wildwood
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Motel
Casa del Sol Motel
#25 of 75 in Wildwood
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4519
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Resort Motel in the Wildwoods. All rooms are ocean-view with private balaconies. The Newport offers deluxe motel rooms, fully equipped 2 -room efficiency suites and 2 bedroom suites. Best location in Wildwood, crib rentals available, guest laundromat, ice machines, elevator, cable TV, refrigerators in all rooms, close to boardwalk, daily maid service. SUBWAY on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel Wildwood
Hotel Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing