We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog-gone Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rus Mar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rus Mar Motel
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog-gone Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just stayed at Rus Mar and it was perfect. Clean. Affordable. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great location just a block away from the Wildwood sign and across the street from the beach. And you can bring the dog. I would definitely stay again even without Fido in tow. (No my dog is not named Fido!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilmiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks for all of your kind words we loved having you. Can't wait to see you again, be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
26
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is our 3rd year returning to the Rus Mar. Subtle, but major changes this year! The paint on the building was redone and really makes the place shine in comparison to the neighboring hotels! Also, they completed really great renovations to the rooms and the stairwell leading up to the 2nd floor.

I have a Great Dane with peripheral vision issues, and going up/down the stairs in previous years had always been an adventure! The stairs this year are wider and the railing in place is even more sturdy...not to say it wasn't before; but the enhancements made are a definite improvement!

The rooms this year are OUTSTANDING! Fresh new beds and furniture to go with what we've become accustomed to over the years - fresh, crisp, clean linens! The overall layout of the rooms is great; and having the tile floors makes for easy beach and pet clean up!

Rus Mar has no issue with types or weight of dogs. I have a Great Dane and an Akita - we are able to stay with them and never cause issue with our neighbors - or they and their pets, with us. Forget about Wildwood - it's nearly impossible to find such a kindly disposition to dogs in hotels anywhere! This creates a very friendly atmosphere overall amongst the guests as well! Located just across the street from the beach, and at a quieter end of the boardwalk - you can rent a bike, grab the tram car, or walk to shore in minutes; but at the same time, deal with less of a mob/crowds coming off/on the boardwalk. We watched the fireworks from the Pier, on the balcony at the hotel and were comfortable, sand free, and had no traffic to deal with!

Let's talk about the staff at Rus Mar. Bob (owner) works sincerely to ensure this place meets your needs - that you truly feel at home. This is also (and superbly) embodied by the Managers and Housekeeping. I will elaborate a little about my experience at my in-laws' hotel below; but i want to say it loud and clear... Ed, Emil, Nancy, Anastasia, and Kate are hands down the BEST group of people I have encountered in many hotel stays across the states for either work/vacation! How-so-ever they do it -- Ed and Emil made us feel like old family friends...the very most important guests in the house; and this is how all guests are treated.

We cannot forget that we are all walking in there with various 2 to 4 legged temperaments, it's truly to THEIR credit, that everyone not only feels welcomed; but that they are willing to care for whatever we need. Housekeeping too, they are very flexible and supportive to our pets' needs and scheduling. As I mentioned before, the linens are spotless and fresh! I typically have to work a few days of the week that I am there. There is WiFi via DSL across 2 networks for our use, and quiet enough that I could hold conference calls without the participants being affected by my location.

A quick diversion down the beach in the Crest (where everything is supposed to be slightly superior) to present a snapshot of my in-laws' hotel. The staff was completely detached from their guests, the grounds were disgusting and slimy with sand and saltwater paste everywhere; and the linens were a dedicated effort to request replacement. The room had faded thin carpet that begged my questions of cleanliness even being possible. NO THANK YOU! I am thrilled to be a part of the Rus Mar alumni of guests and not changing locale anytime soon!!

Room Tip: There are Kitchenettes available, as well as units with smaller fridge, microwave and coffee pot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank farfadooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
The best thing about the Rus Mar is our regulars. We love our Rus Mar family! You guys have been with us from the beginning and we love having you every season. Have a great year and we will see you next July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Rus Mar for years. Bob, the owner, is a wonderful guy and takes pride in his hotel. Ed, the manager, is superb! It is very clean there and some of the rooms were recently updated. The place looks great. We have met some really nice guests there everytime we go. Can't wait to go back again in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
It was great meeting you and thank-you for all your kind words! Hope to see you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My son and I just returned from our 4 day annual vacation to Wildwood. In years past, we have always stayed at the same hotel, but wanted to bring our dogs. The place was awesome! It was exceptionally close to the beach and boardwalk, but also allowed for nice places to walk our dogs. Everyone was friendly and they even allowed pit bulls. I had a really hard time finding hotels in NJ that allowed dogs in general. The place was very clean and efficient for us to cook breakfast and dinner. The guy at the front desk even allowed us to check out later than normal so I could allow my son to go to the beach one last time before leaving. We will definitely be returning here soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. At the Rus Mar we take well raised doggies! We also found that our patrons tend to be good people and we believe that is because they are mostly "dog people". We will see you next time be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We wanted to take a quick get away from life, and bring the dog to avoid the hassle of finding a sitter or boarding. Rus Mar was perfect. The rooms are immaculate, hotel is old and has the vintage feel, paint is fresh and clean, linens are crisp and white, pillows are full , fluffy and firm. The renovations that include tile floors are perfect for dogs. Nice fridge and microwave, one cup coffeemaker, perfect for a day or so. Would do the kitchenette if longer. The boardwalk, and tram start are just across the street, you are at the quiet end of the boardwalk, but only a block from the Wildwood sign. Within walking distance to so much, definitely a hidden jewel. No pool, but the beach is right out of your door.

Room Tip: There is no pool or restaurant to grade, I can't get the reviews to go away . This place is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzyc2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank-you for all of your kind words. You did such a great job of summing up what we try to accomplish at the Rus Mar. Good location, clean rooms, and an updated but vintage feel. We take pride in our 5-star rating on Tripadvisor and we hope other people will come and enjoy themselves at our little place as much as you did! Be well and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

this was the first time we stayed there.we had agreat time met new people.they were so friendly.and they allowd pets which was great.we had a puppy and they asked no questions .they said sure some other hotels n motels wouldnt take puppies.thats sad.my grandaughters had a ball.it was close to the beach n boadwalk which i loved.we could sit out in front of motel n enjoy the scenery.and we had our puppy out with us.the rooms were really nice.the only thing is they could of have bigger refrigerater.lol.but other then that it was awsome.we are coming back in sept for the car show with our puppy to.thank you again for a super time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Your family was a blast we so enjoyed having you stay with us. We can't wait to have you come back in September. Don't forget to ask for your Alumni discount!! We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent Memorial Day weekend at the rus mar! The motel is located right on ocean avenue across from the beach entrance ... We were looking for a place that would allow our 5 lb yorkie Lucy .. We were lucky to get a room ! Ed the manager is very accommodating and serious about customer service . I'm hoping to return again in the next few weeks .. I think I just found the perfect summer getaway . 5 minute walk to beach and boardwalk with views from the rooms !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RusMarMotelMGMT, Manager at Rus Mar Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Nadia thank-you for your kind words! We enjoyed having you stay with us and I know your pup enjoyed being on vacation as well! I see you are coming back in a few days so we will see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.2 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#16 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rus Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rus Mar Motel

Property: Rus Mar Motel
Address: 5010 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4552
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We still have the same amazing location! On top of that!! The Rus Mar is under new management and has been totally renovated! Each room has new fixtures, beds, linens, and paint throughout! A fridge, microwave,and coffee pot is standard in every room. Some rooms are also efficiency units with stovetop cooking. You can still see the ocean from our rooms! Come stay with us! We remain pet friendly! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing