We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Royal Court Motel

Royal Court Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Court Motel
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for a week and the room was NOTHING like it appeared on the Internet! We checked in and should have checked right out! Our room was dark dingy dirty and dated! Was not properly cleaned at all! The underside of the toilette was what seemed to be either blood or feces that I had cleaned myself so I could use the toilette and make sure it was cleaned properly. I was very uncomfortable staying in the room. I spoke w manager about this said they had no more rooms like ours but we can get a room without a kitchen ( which is not what we payed for and were not offered a refund for difference) or get a apartment which we were told by the maid someone cooked with curry in. First off there were 2 of us. No need for an apt. Second the smell of curry would follow us home and third we were told we'd have to pay the difference. So the manager said he'd have the room cleaned again and add light. The room was some what cleaner and the extra light just made me more upset bc I got to see how nasty the room really was. The pool and pool area did not look clean either. The shower had no hot water and the shower head was non existent. We only stayed here bc our usual place was booked as well as others we stayed at and online it did not look like dump it really is! The only good thing about this hotel was the closeness to the boardwalk and rite aid right across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tquintela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We apologize for not having met with your expectations. The manager personally oversaw housekeeping and the room was thoroughly cleaned. We asked the guest if everything was alright and she said it was fine.The issue about the hot water and the shower were not brought to our notice. We have small shower heads in our hotel, as we follow green practices and try and conserve water, but they work fine.We did offer the guest a choice of two different room types: one was a regular room with two beds and the other one was an apartment with two bedrooms, kitchen and living room.The only reason why we offered the apartment was because she required a kitchen due to health issues.We did tell her that the apartment would be given to her at at an additional charge because it is much larger. However there was no discussion about the rate for the regular room as she rejected it because she wanted a room with a kitchen. We never declined to make a rate adjustment if a room is being downgraded. We did check the shower and hot water after reading the review and they both work fine. We had guests stay for six nights after this very guest and they reported no problems whatsoever. Once again please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have been vacationing in Wildwood for the last 8 years and stay at several different places. This was our first time at the Royal Court, but it certainly won't be our last! I was a bit concerned about the 'piggyback' parking, where you must leave your keys in the office in case your car must be moved. I have to say, though, that I NEVER had a problem with it! There was always someone in the office if we needed our keys, and our car was moved for others by the staff with no incident! The location is great, just a block away from the Boardwalk, and right across the street from Rite-Aid, which comes in handy if you forget or need something. The place was clean and our room was cleaned and serviced daily. I saw some other reviews that state that the furniture was old and/or not in good condition. While the furniture and appliances aren't 'new', they all worked fine and we had no issues with anything like that. The pools were cleaned daily and were crystal clear every day we were there. The price was great for the prime time of year we went there, so we were quite pleased. The best part of the entire stay was the staff! They were ALWAYS very pleasant! We were always greeted with a smile and everyone was VERY accommodating to ALL of our needs! They really went above and beyond to give us the best service! To us, that alone made it one of the best stays we've ever had in Wildwood! As long as you're not expecting the Ritz/Carlton for a Wal-Mart price, I think you'll be very happy you chose this Motel! It's a great value with GREAT service!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The only positive I can write about royal court is sheets were clean and towels changed daily. Very badly maintained, furniture chipped some drawers broken, bed extremely uncomfortable decor nasty, bathroom a disaster,kitchen awful, I will never go back, check-out was 10am we asked to delay until 10.30 were told 10.15 or else extra charge. ... Housekeeper was very pleasant and hard- working very nice lady

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rlecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear reviewer, we regret to hear of your disappointment. We actually painted and changed the decor recently and have received very positive feedback from our repeat guests. We aimed for a traditional beach hotel look with cream furniture and neutral colors in most rooms. We are sorry to hear about the late checkout incident. In general it is our policy to permit a thirty minute courtesy leeway to guests unless we need to do work in the room or if we have an early check-in scheduled. The manager on duty had thought he told you there was no problem with a 10:30 checkout. He does not recall discussing the late checkout charges but he thinks that perhaps he might have mentioned to you that we do charge late checkout fees (for example $10 for an 11AM checkout). We are very sorry about the misunderstanding or if there was a mistake made on our manager's part. Your feedback on the rooms is most welcome, and we will look into the issues you mentioned. The Royal Court, like many motels by the Wildwood NJ shore and boardwalk is a Doo Wop motel with a history stretching back to the 60's. The current owners only acquired the property a few years ago just prior to the economic downturn, and they are making steady improvements every year. We are sorry you won't be back, but we will continue to strive to improve this wonderful building and recapture what it was back in heydays of Wildwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

As a family we planned this trip and went to Wildwood, NJ. We had 4 Adults and 3 Kids (2,3, and 4 years old). We booked in advanced and were told that we will get a 2 Bedroom Apartment with a Kitchen, Bathroom and Living room space on the 3rd floor. Once we arrived, we were greeted by a nice gentlemen and he took our info and credit card and gave us the keys to the apartment. We went upstairs to check it out and mannn were we surprised when we walked into this apartment. Dirty, Filthy, Refrigerator had so much dirt in and around it, No outlet covers in hallway and bedrooms, electrical cables were hanging out of the walls, Mold in the bathroom, there were urine/poop stains on the toilet (it clearly was not cleaned),toilet was not flushing, Shower head seemed to be missing, Bedroom sheets were dirty, black stains and red stains on it (looked like Blood). Door hinges inside the apartment were about to fall off, there was a board attached to a wall in the hallway that hid a door that connected our apartment to the apartment next door. We were discussed, and left the apartment right away. We took pictures of all of these above as proof. We also have pictures of the railings that was not attached to the building and one part in front of our apartment was broken, we were definitely scared for our safety and went back to the office to tell them that we are not staying there. The guy brought out a lady and she was just talking about how everything was minor and how they can fix it right away. She wouldn't even apologize. We had seen enough and did not want to stay at this property, we ended up paying more than what we had originally paid for this apartment, but we didn't care, at least we had a clean apartment and great customer service that we could enjoy with our family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nevzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

The Management agrees with some of the above complaints and we want to start by saying we are sorry about those things. We did concede and apologize to the guest about a stain on the inner toilet seat (but which did not seem to be poop), and about the two missing plate covers for an inactive light switch wire, and a cable wire entry point (recently worked on by the cable company). Also, an old thermostat wiring had creeped out of a crevice behind a door frame meeting the wall. The refrigerator was clean, however, the guest did point out a small negligible tear in the two inch length cushion upon which a shelf was resting. The guest also
found a sheet on one of the three beds that they inspected and which indeed had a stain. This was a small yellow rust stain and the sheet was also thread bare in two areas. On occasion the linen laundering company does deliver sheets that may exhibit these types of defect, and we apologize that this sheet was not properly inspected and discarded by the housekeeper. However there were no blood stains reported to or seen by us and the sheet was clean. There were no issues with the toilet flushing or the small sized shower head, and these latter two points were not brought to our notice by the above guests or subsequent guests. The door problem pertained to a bracket with lose screws that needed to be tightened back. The board the guest speaks of is actually homosote sound proofing board which we use to reduce noise migration between adjoining rooms. The board is located in a hallway adjoining another room and does not impose on the esthetics of the living areas. The broken railing on the balcony regards a vertical slat which was corroded from where it meets the concrete floor. Although this problem does not pose an imminent threat, we are sorry the repair had not been made as we are exploring options to fix the small spot or replace the entire railing in the off season.

We did regard all the interior issues to be easily remediable and we offered to do so in a matter of 15 to 20 minutes. This is why we had described them as minor issues and we did not intend to offend the guest. We also offered the guest the opportunity to take a different apartment with the same amenities, however the guest declined to consider this offer.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to the guest. At the same time we are saddened and perplexed as to why the guest was not open to what were obviously easily and quickly resolvable matters (save for the exterior railing slat issue).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have stayed here the last 2 years. We have always found the staff to be helpful. The place is very clean. The pools are beautiful. The small one is great for little ones and the big one is big enough to swim laps. We ca't wait to go back. My teenagers already planning to go there with their families when they have them. The beach and boardwalk are close.
We loved the 2 bed room apts - plenty of room for everyone - We stay for a week so that is important. WE also use the kitchen to cook - which great on rainy days.

Room Tip: If you have teenagers - the 2 bedroom apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I came here for a weekend with college friends. We're a fun group, but respectful. The entire staff was incredibly rude, there was a security guard clearly on drugs that smoked in our room, the pool had no water in it, the entire property (especially the rooms) were FILTHY, and there was no hot water in the showers. At the end of our stay, when we went to check out, they told us that they would not give us our full deposit back because the security guard said we were smoking in the room (not one person that was in my room even smokes, and we were all disgusted when the security guard smoked in our room). The security guard also pulled a knife out on my friends.
My family owns one of the best hotels in Greece, I've worked at the Four Points by Sheraton, The Marriott, The Hilton, and my family's hotel, and I'm a hotel management major as well. I also travel a lot, and therefore have stayed at A LOT of hotels, and this was BY FAR the worst experience I've ever had. I recommend that no one books a room here. They'll steal your money, make your trip miserable, and you'll probably end up with some sort of rash from the disgusting beds.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

With all due respect, we wish to give our side of the story. This fraternity group gave us a very difficult time during their stay here. Wildwood has a tradition of hosting students. We have hosted student weekends for over ten years and we have also hosted large groups who hold parties on our pool deck and have a great time year after year. But with his group our experience was that of repeated inability to meet our reasonable requests to calm themselves down and respect the neighborhood and our property. Smoking was not only reported by our security guard. Staff members also witnessed smoking in the rooms. We discovered on the last day that one of the rooms had kegs --a first at our property. Most of the persons the staff tried to communicate with were intoxicated much of the time. The pool deck had broken beer bottle glass, and staff picked up empty alcohol vials littered in the corridor and stairwell. Repeated attempts were made to have the group quiet down, to move their vehicle, which was blocking parking spaces, and to stop openly displaying and drinking alcoholic beverages as per law. Our requests were often met with anger, or dismissal, or promises that were not always kept. It took valuable staff time for supervision and several reminders for complete follow through. Some members of this group behaved very badly and gave us a very hard time, in part because they had been drinking and they did not realize that they were being belligerent at the time. I ask the reviewer to consider that if they duplicated this behavior at the Sheraton or Marriot whether they may not get ejected from the premises. I also ask the reviewer to reconsider the claim that your group was respectful. At check-in some people were already huffing at staff over the deposit requirement even though we emailed the group leader all our rules and regulations (and we had reminded him twice on the phone to let everyone know). At check-out, one of your members had to wait because their room showed signs of damage. Meanwhile we took care of another guest checking in. Due to this wait time and the loss of his deposit, the young man felt the need to throw his wrist band at and insult the desk clerk which was quite startling and disturbing. Indeed we are not a Sheraton or Marriot. We are a small family owned business that has years of successful and positive experience with young adult guests. We, our property, and the city of Wildwood deserve the same respect, and regard as any higher class hotel. Please also bear in mind the noise regulations, and smoking fine at these fine hotels versus the sum total deposit the group forfeited for 11 rooms: $290 which in addition to the smoking charge, includes a fee for a lost key, for having to sanitize and provide a new bedspread, and for damage to a shelving rack. Please consider that perhaps what you may perceive as stealing deposits or rudeness from our staff might in fact be a result of some legitimate difficult issues that we faced. For the staff, simply asking nicely usually did not work and elicited ill will. Many individuals just did not seem to accept that the noise levels, alcohol regulations, and standard hotel rules needed to be respected. Some people tried to tell the staff “boys will be boys”. But such an excuse would be inappropriate at any lodging facility whether it be the Hilton or a small family run Wildwood NJ Motel. There are basic legal and property regulations in place to protect all guests, staff, and the neighborhood and we feel that these rules were being violated multiple times throughout the stay. We hope you will stop to consider whether your indignation might not be misplaced.

Additionally, as regards the security guard, we had asked for corroborative details of the accusations from the group but they have not been forthcoming. We would be most grateful for any information you can provide and we will not be hiring this individual again. Please note that we did bring in a different security guard after things with the group became increasingly difficult for our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was my first experience in Wildwood and I loved it! This motel is in walking distance of everything interesting! Beach, Boardwald, restaurants. The owners and the staff are very nice and so available! The room was big, bright and super clean. I would recommand this motel to every one. I would not go anywhere else when I go back to Wildwood!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funniered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.2 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
0.2 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#8 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Motel

Address: 4301 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4654
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range: £821 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Court Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildwood Vacation Motel providing comfort, convenience and affordability. One block from Beach, Boardwalk, and Amusement Piers. Two Pools. In room amenities including microwave, fridge, and cable TV. Centrally located: walk to beach, convention center, piers with rides and fun, restaurants, and convenience store. Let us accommodate you with our great rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing