We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We returned 20 years later ..........”
Review of Royal Court Motel

Royal Court Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Court Motel
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Rosedale, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We returned 20 years later ..........”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Over 20 years ago, we used to stay at the Royal Court Motel each summer with our children, family and friends, and we always had a wonderful time. The motel was and still is modest and simple in design, but met all of our needs - both then and now. Our children now grown, and 4 grandchildren later, we decided to return to Wildwood and the Royal Court Motel. It looked the same as we drove up, but is under new management. We found the new owners to be friendly, helpful, quick to meet any needs, and very down to earth. We learned that many of the motels of Wildwood (including this one) are now part of Wildwood's "Doo Wop" development style - mimicking the simplicity and architectural design and charm of the 50's & 60's pop culture. There's even a Doo Wop Museum and a Doo Wop 50's Trolley Tour! Although we previously stayed in an efficiency apartment, we chose a room for 2 on the top floor overlooking the lower pool, with a king-sized bed, table with 2 chairs, TV, 'frig, m/wave, and shower. Our room was simple but clean with the same furnishings that we had remembered, and very moderately priced. The bed was comfy, the a/c was cold, the appliances worked well, the shower worked fine, and our view was nice. The room was vacuumed, restocked with towels and toilet paper, and trash emptied each morning. The pools were cleaned every day and renovations were being made (scraping old paint, power-washing floors, etc.) during the day when most people were either on the beach / boardwalk or in the pool. There is a huge Rite Aid across the street that has everything-plus with reasonable prices, and the walk to the boardwalk is only about a block and a half away! We had a wonderful 4 day/3 night stay last week, and we are looking forward to resuming our annual family summer vacation at the Royal Court Motel.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms are best suited to families with children - no stairs, close to pool, etc. Older people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for you positive words. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay! We are especially encouraged by your interest and enthusiasm for Wildwood doo wop history. We are striving to bring this property back to life whilst paying homage to its historical background. We look forward to your next visit after our up and coming exterior changes are made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    11
    9
    16
See reviews for
31
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Will be back in 2012 - we had a wonderful time in Wildwood and at the Royal Court Motel. The staff was genuinely helpful, were cheerful and would ask us if everything was ok. We got a great price for being under two minutes walk away from the boardwalk and for the large pool facility there. We found the poolside room, including bathroom to be very well cleaned and of good size by Wildwood standards. Furniture was dated but our mattresses were comfy which is what we looked for. The AC was new and very effective. TV was 27" and presented a nice clear picture. The housekeepers came daily and brought fresh towels, wiped down everything, made the beds, and vacuumed. Coffeemaker and hairdryer was given upon request. The pool deck got good sun and the large pool is a lot of fun. The place was packed with families and we were worried about over crowding at the pool. But we found there is also a second pool on the other side which seemed to attract the parents with smaller kids. The location is the best part for the price and level of cleanliness - we did not need to use the car at all. Restaurants, boardwalk, beach, a park, a nightclub, movie theater at the convention center were all 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. Before we left, the staff showed us the poolside efficiency and the third floor apt. We loved the apartment and have planned an extended family vacation based on staying there. Very looking forward to it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is my 10th or 11th year straight going to Wildwood with 3 friends and I have been to a few hotels over the years. I am open in trying new motels as long as they are at a good price. I am aware that all motels are quite dated and all have quite dated furniture so nothing could really surprise me now. As we booked a little late for the season (in June) and there were not many hotels accepting "non-family" reservations (we would get the "is everyone over 25" question every time I'd call for a reservation inquiry); we went with the hotels in our price range. As the Royal court was charging us their regular season rate even though it was biker weekend, we also went with this choice because it was in the area we are more acquainted with as other similar hotel prices were more near the Crest or in North Wildwood.

I have to say that the staff at the hotel (owners) are very kind and helpful, and funny. Check-in went smoothly even though we arrived earlier than check-in time. There was maybe 3 other staff members for cleaning rooms and pool.

I have to say that I was a quite disappointed when we stepped into the room (Balcony side room - BCY)... As said previously, I know about dated Wildwood motels but this room was dated! The bathroom was tiny and one of the window shutters was missing so we needed to close the door all week for the air conditioning. There was no shelving in the shower so all 4 of us had to use the small shelf on top of the sink foir our belongings. The beds were very old, too soft but clean (one of my friends saw a bug).. There was almost no lighting so it was very dark at night. The AC, fridge & TV worked fine.

The windows were not well isolated as the room was humid all week... all our clothes would end up humid even in the drawers with the AC on. There ware quite a few drawers for clothes and hangers - so alot of storage.

The pool in front of our room was a bit iffy, but the larger pool towards the front of the hotel looked cleaner and actually 9' deep. This is the first time I went to a small pool that has 9' deep - nice to jump in and dive for once! The chairs and long chairs around the pool were fine but a little old. A nice thing around the pool is that we could catch free wi-fi.

We did snoop around and looked inside the other rooms that were a little more expensive around the bigger pool. They looked much better! Spacier, cleaner,... but more expensive and we didn't need a kitchenette as we would make sandwiches for our lunches and go out for supper. And frankly, we thought that the basic room would of been basic and enough for our buck - but it was below basic even not being fussy.

Also, one evening after going to the pool, we left our towels, cover-ups and bikinis out on the chairs outside of our room and for the first time in 10 years (as I always leave my bikini out to dry), we got our bikinis and cover-ups stolen! I would of thought it was the wind but even when we asked staff and the owners (and even looking around the hotel); they had not seen anything... Since we were almost alone in the motel that night as it was after labor day during the week, we came to the conclusion that they were stolen so please beware!...We then didn't feel safe and had to hide or bring with us any valuables.

As a conclusion, the location of the motel is excellent with the Rite-Aid right across the street, walkable distance to some great restaurants and a block and a half from the boardwalk but I would not return to this motel and not recommend it. I would of preferred to spend a little more to either get their better rooms or a better motel. Being older now and being able to pay ourselves a little luxury than when we were students, we should of gone with a better motel or should of booked earlier. This doesn't remove the fact that the owners are very kind and don't discriminate "non-family" reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms at pool side look much more bigger, modern and cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshmels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your balanced and informative review. We are sorry about the window and regret not being notified about that as we could have fixed that in a jiffy! We also regret that you were not happy with the smaller room for we could have upgraded you to a different room if we had known. At the time of your booking, we had discussed all the room types by phone and email as well as quoted discounted totals for the small and larger rooms, and because you had indicated a desire not to pay the extra cost, we offered the best possible deal as that of the BCY for four young adults. In fact, we were able to give you the lowest rate of any other four person booking for that weekend. It is true, the BPS and E units are bigger and a better location and the rates are higher. We always describe these options to potential guests making inquiries and let them choose whatever best suits their budget. And certainly, if you wish to pay more for an upgrade, that option is always open as long as the units are available at the time. Please feel free to ask us and we will be happy to make a room change for you.

As regards the bathing suit theft, we are sorry and we truly sympathize (we know bathing suits are expensive these days!) When personal belongings are left unattended, the risk of theft is always there and therefore we do not encourage guests to leave personal belongings unattended outside their rooms. Although the incident of theft has been extremely rare here (the Rite Aid being across the street and our close proximity to the board walk helps that), its impossible for us to guarantee the safety of unattended items.

Thanks again for your balanced review and constructive criticism. We appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps us make changes for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

For the price. We thought we were getting a great room at a great location. Location is great but room is very very disappointing. Very small, 60's furniture. Furniture very worn. Cheap mattress ( it was clean) bathroom was like a prison, water saver showerhead. Very small shower. Alot of rusted areas in bathroom and elsewhere. Thank God were only there for a weekend. If it was my weeks vacation, I'd take the loss and go elsewhere. I wouldn't stay here again if it was for free.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you were unhappy with the room. We would have been glad to have the opportunity to satisfy your needs if notified of any issues. We make it a priority to be responsive to reported issues but we can only do this if there is open communication. We have checked the room and the mattress has been confirmed to be in excellent and clean condition. But you are right about some rusting metal bits in that room's bathroom. Being that we are so close to the ocean, the salt in the air poses a constant threat of rust and we acknowledge that we need to be extra vigilant about that. Also, in the way of clarification, our shower heads are small but they work well with good water pressure. We do appreciate your feedback, and please know that our managers are very receptive and accessible. We are eager to know about any problems or concerns so we can improve your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for a week and the room was NOTHING like it appeared on the Internet! We checked in and should have checked right out! Our room was dark dingy dirty and dated! Was not properly cleaned at all! The underside of the toilette was what seemed to be either blood or feces that I had cleaned myself so I could use the toilette and make sure it was cleaned properly. I was very uncomfortable staying in the room. I spoke w manager about this said they had no more rooms like ours but we can get a room without a kitchen ( which is not what we payed for and were not offered a refund for difference) or get a apartment which we were told by the maid someone cooked with curry in. First off there were 2 of us. No need for an apt. Second the smell of curry would follow us home and third we were told we'd have to pay the difference. So the manager said he'd have the room cleaned again and add light. The room was some what cleaner and the extra light just made me more upset bc I got to see how nasty the room really was. The pool and pool area did not look clean either. The shower had no hot water and the shower head was non existent. We only stayed here bc our usual place was booked as well as others we stayed at and online it did not look like dump it really is! The only good thing about this hotel was the closeness to the boardwalk and rite aid right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tquintela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We apologize for not having met with your expectations. The manager personally oversaw housekeeping and the room was thoroughly cleaned. We asked the guest if everything was alright and she said it was fine.The issue about the hot water and the shower were not brought to our notice. We have small shower heads in our hotel, as we follow green practices and try and conserve water, but they work fine.We did offer the guest a choice of two different room types: one was a regular room with two beds and the other one was an apartment with two bedrooms, kitchen and living room.The only reason why we offered the apartment was because she required a kitchen due to health issues.We did tell her that the apartment would be given to her at at an additional charge because it is much larger. However there was no discussion about the rate for the regular room as she rejected it because she wanted a room with a kitchen. We never declined to make a rate adjustment if a room is being downgraded. We did check the shower and hot water after reading the review and they both work fine. We had guests stay for six nights after this very guest and they reported no problems whatsoever. Once again please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have been vacationing in Wildwood for the last 8 years and stay at several different places. This was our first time at the Royal Court, but it certainly won't be our last! I was a bit concerned about the 'piggyback' parking, where you must leave your keys in the office in case your car must be moved. I have to say, though, that I NEVER had a problem with it! There was always someone in the office if we needed our keys, and our car was moved for others by the staff with no incident! The location is great, just a block away from the Boardwalk, and right across the street from Rite-Aid, which comes in handy if you forget or need something. The place was clean and our room was cleaned and serviced daily. I saw some other reviews that state that the furniture was old and/or not in good condition. While the furniture and appliances aren't 'new', they all worked fine and we had no issues with anything like that. The pools were cleaned daily and were crystal clear every day we were there. The price was great for the prime time of year we went there, so we were quite pleased. The best part of the entire stay was the staff! They were ALWAYS very pleasant! We were always greeted with a smile and everyone was VERY accommodating to ALL of our needs! They really went above and beyond to give us the best service! To us, that alone made it one of the best stays we've ever had in Wildwood! As long as you're not expecting the Ritz/Carlton for a Wal-Mart price, I think you'll be very happy you chose this Motel! It's a great value with GREAT service!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The only positive I can write about royal court is sheets were clean and towels changed daily. Very badly maintained, furniture chipped some drawers broken, bed extremely uncomfortable decor nasty, bathroom a disaster,kitchen awful, I will never go back, check-out was 10am we asked to delay until 10.30 were told 10.15 or else extra charge. ... Housekeeper was very pleasant and hard- working very nice lady

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear reviewer, we regret to hear of your disappointment. We actually painted and changed the decor recently and have received very positive feedback from our repeat guests. We aimed for a traditional beach hotel look with cream furniture and neutral colors in most rooms. We are sorry to hear about the late checkout incident. In general it is our policy to permit a thirty minute courtesy leeway to guests unless we need to do work in the room or if we have an early check-in scheduled. The manager on duty had thought he told you there was no problem with a 10:30 checkout. He does not recall discussing the late checkout charges but he thinks that perhaps he might have mentioned to you that we do charge late checkout fees (for example $10 for an 11AM checkout). We are very sorry about the misunderstanding or if there was a mistake made on our manager's part. Your feedback on the rooms is most welcome, and we will look into the issues you mentioned. The Royal Court, like many motels by the Wildwood NJ shore and boardwalk is a Doo Wop motel with a history stretching back to the 60's. The current owners only acquired the property a few years ago just prior to the economic downturn, and they are making steady improvements every year. We are sorry you won't be back, but we will continue to strive to improve this wonderful building and recapture what it was back in heydays of Wildwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#46 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caprice Motel
Caprice Motel
#57 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holly Beach Hotel
Holly Beach Hotel
#38 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountain Motel
Fountain Motel
#34 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Motel
Casa del Sol Motel
#25 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#23 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Motel

Property: Royal Court Motel
Address: 4301 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4654
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Court Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildwood Vacation Motel providing comfort, convenience and affordability. One block from Beach, Boardwalk, and Amusement Piers. Two Pools. In room amenities including microwave, fridge, and cable TV. Centrally located: walk to beach, convention center, piers with rides and fun, restaurants, and convenience store. Let us accommodate you with our great rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Royal Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing