We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starfire”
Review of Starfire Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starfire Motel
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The location of this hotel is great! Very close to the board walk and beach. We only stayed for one night, since we came into WW one day before we could check into our rental. The room was small and dated,...tiles and flooring, bathroom, which made it seem unkept, but I have to say it was fairly clean. Our room had a musty smell,( i think coming from the air conditioner) I am sure we could have switched rooms, but knew it was for only the night and didn't want to go through the hassle. So we shut the air off and opened the windows. Pool was great and owner was very nice. From the rave reviews I was expecing something competely different, but overall it's good for a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank violete4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

great little motel, family owned, close to beach, convention center and boardwalk

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank deedee3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed at many hotels in Wildwood over the past 25 years. This hotel is by far the best!!! Extremely clean, new LCD TV's, excellent service. The view of the ocean is spectacular. The room rates are very reasonable. Never a worry about late night noise, management is on top of all their guests. I would highly recommend this hotel over all others in the Wildwood area.

Room Tip: When you call for a reservation, they will always offer you the best room available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mhoffmannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Whenever we go to Wildwood we always stay at the Starfire Motel. It's always very clean and the owners are on site and you can see they take pride in having a well maintained and clean property. It is on the border of Wildwood Crest and right across the street from the boardwalk. Also across the street is a bike rental shop also with very nice and friendly owners. I will always come back here and always recommend the Starfire to my friends and family members.
There is a very good Chinese Resturant, Dragon House, on Pacific Avenue which is in walking distance if you like to walk, Star Diner in North Wildwood is worth the short drive for breakfast and the Lighthouse Pointe Resturant is very good, (though it's a little difficult to find).

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean ask for a 2nd floor room, but it does cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CyclopMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is the second time we've been to Wildwood and the reason we stayed here (I still love the Astronaut!) is because of the location. It is across the street from the Boardwalk and the beach, yet the area is actually quiet. My kid loves to go to Morey's for the rides but we don't want to drive everyday to get to the Boardwalk. The view is also nice-you can see the Convention center and wildwoods sign, beach and boardwalk, from the balcony. The owner also stays there and makes sure everything is ok. There is coffee served all day near the office. The price is also reasonable for the time we booked it. One thing though that is a little weird is the paper bath mat(?). Definitely recommending it to everyone who wants to be near the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Beachfanbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

They request for you to send a check to make a reservation, no credit card. Once you sent it, NO REFUND or Credit for future use! Due to the Hurricane, whale watching trip got cancelled and so we needed to change the reservation 3 days before our arrival date. Disappointed they didn't even try to give us any credit for future use. I just wasted the whole $180 I paid.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank Aja123123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

After weeks of research and reading horrible reports for Wildwood motels, I found Starfire Motel, which had no bad reviews. We had 3 rooms with a mix of adults and children. It was a typical, dated, jersey shore motel room but it was very clean and the mattress/boxspring had plastic covers, which was a major plus in my opinion. bathrooms were updated and fairly new looking. The owners were very hospitable and worked very hard around the property each day making sure everything was neat and clean. It was across the street from beach and boardwalk. we had a nice view of ocean from top floor rooms. The only minor complaint i would have is that my daughter checked out a day sooner than the rest of us and wanted to spend the day at beach but they wanted her car moved because parking is limited to motel guests only. So she had to meter park her car for teh day which was inconvenient. Overall, I would highly recommend this motel both for location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank grammydisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Lu Fran Motel
Lu Fran Motel
#18 of 75 in Wildwood
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monaco Motel
Monaco Motel
#14 of 75 in Wildwood
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rus Mar Motel
Rus Mar Motel
#24 of 75 in Wildwood
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea-N-Sun Resort Motel
Sea-N-Sun Resort Motel
#8 of 75 in Wildwood
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Kist Motel
Sea Kist Motel
#19 of 75 in Wildwood
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Comber Motel
Surf Comber Motel
#40 of 75 in Wildwood
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfire Motel

Address: 5100 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4429
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wildwood
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Starfire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starfire Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing