We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trippy trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“trippy trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

we fell in love with this motel on-line and knew we had to stay here this summer. we are super into everything retro and knew this motel would please us! we stayed here over 4th of july – thankfully they had one room left and were able to accommodate on a spur of the moment trip.

positives
- pool: really large, heated, and has a deep end (8ft). they also had a mini baby pool to keep the children safe. the pool did get pretty packed as soon as it opened (9am), but gradually got less crowded as the night went on. we had the pool to ourselves in the 5:00 hour. it is open til 9pm with only adults allowed from 8pm – 9pm.
- location: the motel is only a block from the beach (wildwood though has a long walk to the ocean). it is also only two blocks from the start (or end however you want to look at it) of the boardwalk. the shops on the crest end of the boards are great (arcade for the kids, dairy queen for your sweet tooth: we have sweet teeth, breakfast and lunch spots, and a few stores for souvenirs). being in wildwood crest is great, it’s quiet, you’re within walking distance to great restaurants, mini-golf, ice cream, bike rentals, etc. though the crest is a dry town if you’re in the mood for a cold one only about 5 blocks from the caribbean you will find a bar.
- room: the room was great, awesome air conditioner, a little kitchenette, comfy beds, a table and chairs, a dresser, a (not so) mini fridge and a flat screen tv. the bathroom is small but we knew to expect this in wildwood. a few chairs outside your room make it perfect to chill during the day or late night. it is super charming!
- we had a room on the ground floor and it worked for us. it seemed that all the rooms had good placement for limited disruptions for relaxation.
- events: caribbean hosts various events throughout the year that are included with your stay. for fourth of july all guests were invited to a bbq lunch. so yum!

negatives
- there is not a snack machine, though they do sell candy and chocolate in the reception once that is closed (not open 24 hours) you have to walk to a nearby motel and use a machine. we often need(!!) midnight snacks so we’ll plan accordingly next time we visit.
- cool merchandise in the reception but nothing in our size. maybe next time 

the caribbean was perfect for us. really nice, the grounds and rooms were super clean, it was close to everything we wanted to enjoy in wildwood, and the super cool décor took us on a trip to another decade when the fun in wildwood all began! we’re looking to go back october to enjoy the heated pool and possibly some special events they have planned.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacasRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    37
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
57
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Was pleasantly surprised when we arrived - the motel had a feel of its own. The room was a nice size and spotless with microwave & refrig. - the pool was lovely and very clean with plenty of chairs & lounges around, but what made the Caribbean Motel stand out from the rest were the Owners, Carolyn & George who socialized with their guests and made you feel so welcomed there. Their unique idea of serving food at a Motel added so much enjoyment and got you socializing with the other guests - (may I say the food was exceptionally delicious prepared by the Chief). Could not get over how Carolyn helped served the food to her guests like you were visiting her in her home and wanted you to be comfortable and feel like you belonged. And let's not leave out the rest of the staff - Marge, the property mgr. could not have been more helpful; always ready to make your stay there enjoyable. Her dedication to working here really says it all - Where do you ever socialize with the person who takes care of your room - well, that's Donna who was a delight and Steve, the person I spoke with on the phone when I booked the room was always so pleasant to deal with as he answered all my questions about an area we weren't familiar with. The atmosphere was enhanced by having the 50's/60's music playing around the property and in the room. The only thing bad I can say is - vacation came to an end and we had to leave. God willing we will be back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

After living in New Jersey for 18 ys and been to every street of the State, dozen times to Shore, two times to Cape May, it was our columbus discovery to the land of Wildwood, South NJ. Dense town with one of the largest, bad beach run over by free-loaders, China like populated, middle class odd shaped people. Wildwood has few avenues but about 100 blocks all with red lights. Nice breakfast restaurants like Amish Village and Avalon Coffee. Nice boardwalk with shuttle service. Beauty of the place is you are about 20 mts away from Cape May, and the drive is great with water and old time bridges.

Still could not explain properly to wife what 'doo wop' means, at historic Carribean Motel, we had the best and the costliest ($556 for 2 nights) room of the motel, #214 with a 'ocean sneaky view". Joe is the most sincere guy there to help you. Avoid straw-hatted owner George as a free dinner server but Carolyn is very sweet, even she takes round of second floor watchers to serve dessert. We had good time on July 4th. Bathroom towels need cleaning. Staff is busy, forgot about tea-coffee fillers. Dinner is good, swimming pool is always full, but our neighbors were all excellent residents, sitting in peacefully and reading phones on verandah chairs, all well fed.

Room Tip: Dont go for first floor ground rooms, the best is #214 or next to that.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank moshamim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atglen, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed for the July 4th weekend...not our first stay.....and again it was so nice. The Staff are wonderful---attentive , friendly and the rooms are kept so clean. The owners , Caroline & George obviously enjoy beings the hosts. They greet all guests during meals , and the entertainment both evenings were fun! Games, dancing , good food and good people.

Room Tip: give a try to the newly decorated C-Luxe rooms. Won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliengreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is my second time at the Caribbean Motel for the 4th of July Extended Weekend. This year was hands down the BEST experience ever. From the family ambiance to the DELICIOUS meals and entertainment (which were included for the holiday weekend) to the new friends we met at the pool (which we literally stood at all day). We spent close to 90% of the time at the motel since EVERYTHING was available there (meals, lodging, entertainment, FUN, & good company)! Our family is already planning our next visit!! DEFINITELY TWO THUMBS UP!!!! (Plus the owners, George & Carolyn, are AMAZING hosts! Literally, make you feel like Family!!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deliris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent Memorial Weekend at Carribean with another couple who had been there on previous occassion. This was special opening season weekend that had, of course, a Jimmy Buffet-Carribean theme. The included meals on all three evenings were tasty and plentiful. There were other couples of various ages and families with children. All blended OK during the meals which was about the only time we saw anyone else. We and our friends spent each day visiting some N.J. wineries, Cape May and other sites. We likely would have spent more time on the beach but with 50ish temps and strong winds we did not want to be sandblasted. Overall the stay at the Carribean was nice. The only negative comments we left for the managment had to do with a very slow drain in the bathroom sink and the bed nearest the door which seemed to have a crater in the middle. The other bed was much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRLretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel is very cute! It is amazing! The heated pool, one block away from the boardwalk, the famous Jetsen ramp, the afternoon and night lights, and more! The rooms are very cute and small and has a speaker in the ceiling that you can control with a knob on the wall, it's got it all! A mini cabana room, with a tv, fridge, bathroom, seating area, leopard skinned couch, a little bar area and more! And, there is an ice cream parlor across the street! I really recommend staying here!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#20 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Scape Inn
Sea Scape Inn
#42 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Plaza Motel
Bristol Plaza Motel
#55 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 5600 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Caribbean Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing