We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - beware the sofabeds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2006

Nice enough of a hotel - as others have said, the staff was very pleasant, and the views fantastic, but for the money we were charged, we were surprised by a few problems. The carpeting in the lobby is worn and the lighting in the lobby and the rooms a bit on the dim side. Our oceanfront two-room efficiency was comfortably sized, but the beds were very uncomfortable. The two full-size beds were hard as rocks with the mattresses covered in cheap crinkly plastic; the queen-size pull-out coach was made of nothing but coils and plastic - even putting the mattress on the floor didn't help! The staff was helpful in supplying us with an extra cot mattress when we complained. They said the sleep-sofa's were only a year old, but my mother had the same problem with her sleep-sofa in her room. The mattress was a disaster and the spring mechanism was broken. You couldn't even SIT on the sofa due to broken springs and sagging cushions! Also, for the money charged, the soap was cheap and there was no shampoo/conditioner provided. Fortunately, there was a hair-dryer and an ironing board and the kitchen was new and clean. The air-conditioning in the room was controllable, however, it didn't seem to remove the dampness from the air, rather it re-circulated the dampness. Even dry clothes that I put into the dresser drawers became damp - and in the morning, the bed linens felt damp from the air-conditioning. Again, the staff was very lovely, the room clean and the towels plentiful - and the location and views fantastic, so I guess these complaints are minor - just be forewarned that if you intend to use the sleeper-sofa, ask for a cot instead, or get two separate rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swimangel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2006

i must of had an older room because it was still pretty stinky. but looking around on our drive into wildwood crest we decided to tough it out. on a good note the terrace and pool area were very nice, both with great ocean views. the pool area was nice and well kept and the staff were friendly. price is a little steep.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank Colette400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
phila
11
Reviewed 28 June 2006

all of the emplyees were very nice, but I have stayed in hotels for half the cost and been more impressed (elevators are old, bedspreads are stiff and knit, and not even a continental breakfast for the price). On the other hand: employees nice, oceanview could not be better and pool very clean and large enough.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2006

The Reges has been under major renovation during the past few seasons. The whole pool area is new, and looks great. The water is clean and the whole pool area is well kept. They also have two grills and a nice area to sit down and eat. All of this is oceanfront.

The hotel's diner was average, but was not played up to be anymore. Good food for a good price. I don't think they serve dinner, and I suggest Duffy's On the Lake for dinner, amazing food and service, get reservations though.

As for the rooms, most are done for the 2006 season. The old rooms are in decent shape, but smell of years of use (not a pungent smell, but just of being used) The bathrooms in the old units have some rust on the ribbing of the drop ceiling. Otherwise the old rooms are fine.

The new rooms are extremely nice. The completely renovated them so everything is brand new. They are bright, welcoming, and like all the other rooms clean.

The maid service is friendly and does a good job. Linens are a bit crummy, however they come from the Linen Supply company so it's not the Reges' fault. You get a good supply, so no need to worry about running out of towels. Usual cheapo soap bars, but they do the job. Front desk staff is very nice.

As for the view, all rooms and pool area are oceanfront, so everywhere you go you have a beutiful view of the Atlantic and Wildwood's soft sandy beaches. The hotel is at the quieter end of the Crest, so beaches don't get too crowded.

As for the Wildwoods, there isn't a better place to vacation in NJ. Wide, clean, safe beaches, the best boardwalk left in the country, and many 1950's era mom-and pop neon motels, also worth of your patronage.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeachBumGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2006

My first time there,my husbands umpteenth with his parents as an older teen. It was just remodeled when I went. Rooms spacious and clean. Mini-kitchen with everything you need.Great view of ocean(3rd floor). New pool and kids pool great,clean. Jacuzzi also next to pool!. our late summer deal included 4 dinners and 5 breakfasts for 2!!!!! Game room for teens(and big teens!). Nice, dry county so riff-raff is not there. streets and houses clean. The boardwalk is about 5minute drive if you want and other restaurants out crest if you want to indulge in an alcoholic beverage. Overall great time with our kids! staff was also very nice and accommodating. Clean beach. Going again this year!
The Drews

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buttercup7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Holmdel, NJ
13
Reviewed 12 September 2005

Came back again this year and WOW was I suprised. Newly furnished rooms, no more musty smell! Every year I say I am staying somewhere else due to past problems, not after this time around, I wont even entertain the thought of staying elsewhere! Great job guys.

Only two problems remain though: Constant electric key problems, and a couple of grouchy elder women working behind the front desk. Other then that I was a happy camper.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Chester, NY
15
Reviewed 7 September 2005

My family of four (2 adults, 2 kids under 12) stayed from August 29 through September 2nd on the Summer Celebration package deal. Exceeded our expectations, and we were already pretty hiped up about this hotel through various reviews. Awesome king room with balcony overlooking ocean - beautiful views of sunrise and perfect for dolphin-watching! Kids just loved the pool and the entire pool area was nicely decorated and never had an overcrowded feel to it. Courteous staff and I appreciated the information table located in the lobby to help with our dinner selections and various other offerings of things to do in the area. The dinner package restaurant selections were terrific - my only reservation was the crowds at the hotel restaurant during breakfast hours - the package included breakfast every morning at the hotel, but they also offered an alternative at Duffy's on the Lake, which was only a few blocks away and my family loved going there each morning. Will definitely plan to stay again next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.2 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reges Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reges Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9201 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#9 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £93 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reges Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at the Reges Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Wildwood Crest are proud of our oceanfront accommodations and resort amenities. Widely recognized for our cleanliness and exemplary hospitality service, the Reges is family owned and operated, celebrating over 40 years of service. All 75 rooms and suites, most with kitchenettes, are oceanfront with private balconies. We take pride in continually updating and enhancing our resort property and amenities to ensure that our guests have a most comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our experienced staff strives to ensure that all our guests feel right at home and that each stay with us is a special one. Whether you choose to put your feet up or seek adventure, we have the experience you're searching for. Our resort island offers diversity of recreational activities, restaurants, shopping and family entertainment within immense natural beauty that will satisfy any passion. The possibilities for a day of complete relaxation or non-stop action are endless. Come play and relax at the Jewel of the Crest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Reges Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reges Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Reges Oceanfront Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing