We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale Wedding, Fabulous Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2007

A fabulous family resort, right on the beach!!!!

This was our home while attending a fairytale beach wedding. The setting, the hospitality, the people all made this a remarkable time.

Everything from our ocean-view room, on the 7th floor to the pool-side cocktails were fabulous.

Thank you!!! I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amherstMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2006

we just got home from the reges oceanfront resort -the rooms were very clean- we had a type c room on the first floor-towels were soft, beds were comfortable, living area and sofa bed were just fine. the hotel staff was very nice-breakfast crew at the cafe were great with giving us suggestions on what to do around the area as they served up quick, hearty breakfast meals. we have stayed on the east coast from maine to florida- and the reges was one of the most relaxing enjoyable places. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radarwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We (2 adults, 2 small children) stayed at the Reges in June, 2006. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the only major complaint was not the resort's problem: it was unusually cold for that time of year. Otherwise, we had a good time. There was a special package with free passes to Morey's and some dinner vouchers so it helped to offset the price of the hotel a little.

Pros: The balcony and view are excellent. The rooms were somewhat small, but comfortable. The kitchenette was good and had everything one needed. The restaurant downstairs was also very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is located right by the entrance to the beach so that was very convenient. The only problem is that the beach itself is extremely wide so it's a long walk with children to the water's edge.

Cons: The bathroom was serviceable, although somewhat aged and cramped. The outside door was difficult to keep closed. A few times we didn't realize that the door wasn't completely shut. The sofabed wasn't very comfortable. The main bedroom didn't have much space and since the outside door is connected directly to it, we could hear all the elevator traffic. The hotel is a little further away from the amusement park at the other end.

A few people in the higher balconies began feeding the seagulls and the building was attacked by flocks of birds (a la Hitchcock). I called the front desk to complain and they quickly went outside and asked people to stop, which was good.

Overall, I would consider coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerrypk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Reges. The hotel is very clean and the view from the balcony was just beautiful. Every room has it's own balcony that directly faces the ocean/beach. Plentiful parking and never had a problem. Since we had 2 cars with us, we were able to park 1 on the street without any difficulty (only 1 space per unit in hotel parking). The pool area was very nice and there are plenty of lounges and tables. We did not eat at the cafe but did get a few "take-out" items from the grill and they were good. As for the staff, they are all extremely friendly, pleasant and accomodating. We used to stay (for 11 years) at a particular place in North Wildwood and the management never was as friendly as the staff here!

The beds were a little hard, but hey you are not at home and can't expect the mattress to be completely comfortable. Our 23 year old daughter slept on the sofabed and I had brought a sleeping bag with us because another review stated that the sofabeds were uncomforatble. She opened up the sleeping bag and used it as a "matress topper" and she was fine. Another daughter (21) slept on a cot and she said that it was not bad. The rooms were kept clean and we had plenty of towels. We stayed on the 8th floor and it was quiet and comfortable. Air conditioning worked very well and we had no problem with dampness even though the hotel is directly on the beach. We sat on the raised "deck" by the pool a few times and had lunch and it was very nice. There are 2 BBQ's and tables, chairs and lounges up there also. This was our first stay in Wildwood Crest and I was a little apprehensive about trying someplace new, but the comments on trip advisor helped. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Reges and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeeBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

This was our 1st time to Wildwood. Loved the area, beach and activities ... but were very disappointed in the Reges. This is not to say that many guests whom we spoke with didn't enjoy their stay, it was just that we were led to believe 1 thing and got nothing like we expected. Basically, Do Not Stay In A B-Room!!

After reading the reviews here, we decided to go with the Reges to celebrate our anniversary with a private balconied room overlooking the beach. When I booked our reservations 4 months ago, I asked if it was one of the remodeled rooms [yes] and was it on the ground floor [no] because we wanted to overlook the beach and not the pool front.

Well, when we arrived we found that we were in Room #201. This is a 2nd level corner room. Upon opening our drapes, we see that our "private balcony" is located 3 feet across from the rooftop patio that's over the kids’ arcade. Standing there in front of us is a group of 15-20 people making and eating their dinner. (I could almost touch the back of the BBQ and trashcan that was directly in front of me.)

When I returned to the front desk to request a new room, it appeared that they were ready for me. The 1st thing they said was that "Sorry, but that is considered a private balcony because it has a fence around it and our other B-Room(s) are booked." When I said I would take anything else and pay for an upgrade, they said that they were full, but that they would put me on a list in case something became available." They didn't seem to be overly friendly or apologetic about the situation.

Thank goodness for my wonderful wife. She basically said that our room wouldn't bother her since we really wouldn't be spending too much time there and she didn't want to spend a day of our vacation looking at other hotels. (Ah, the calming voice in our relationship!) And our room was basically clean so we went with it.

Well, we got to chat with a few other guests over the next couple of days as they had BBQs. Nice folks, but I couldn't believe we were paying $240+ a night for this. Each day we would check with the front desk and were told that nothing else was available.

Note: The Reges has a nice pool and a small hot tub that is intended for their guests only, but several times other people visiting the beach stopped in to enjoy themselves. Not much of a problem, but I noticed 1 afternoon when trying to find a unoccupied chair by the pool, that a person with the Reges staff had placed towels on 7 chairs to reserve them for a family who came from another NJ town to visit with them, but who were not staying at the Reges. This was a bit annoying since most of the other pool chairs were in use.

Again, many people said that they liked their rooms, but not us. Luckily, Wildwood and Cape May had so many things for a family to do that we had a good time despite the Reges.

PS: If you get the chance, have a slice of plain cheese pizza at Mack's on the boardwalk. It was the best I've had in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vacationer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Reges. We knew that the Jersey Shore in August would be a zoo, and it was! There were a million people on the beach and boardwalk, but then... it's August. But the hotel was surprisingly quiet. We were on the second floor, lower down than I would have like, but we booked relatively late. There was no noise from the rooms beside or above us, so we could have some peace and enjoy the view. We are planning to go there again in the fall. The room was clean and well kept, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Pammn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

Nice enough of a hotel - as others have said, the staff was very pleasant, and the views fantastic, but for the money we were charged, we were surprised by a few problems. The carpeting in the lobby is worn and the lighting in the lobby and the rooms a bit on the dim side. Our oceanfront two-room efficiency was comfortably sized, but the beds were very uncomfortable. The two full-size beds were hard as rocks with the mattresses covered in cheap crinkly plastic; the queen-size pull-out coach was made of nothing but coils and plastic - even putting the mattress on the floor didn't help! The staff was helpful in supplying us with an extra cot mattress when we complained. They said the sleep-sofa's were only a year old, but my mother had the same problem with her sleep-sofa in her room. The mattress was a disaster and the spring mechanism was broken. You couldn't even SIT on the sofa due to broken springs and sagging cushions! Also, for the money charged, the soap was cheap and there was no shampoo/conditioner provided. Fortunately, there was a hair-dryer and an ironing board and the kitchen was new and clean. The air-conditioning in the room was controllable, however, it didn't seem to remove the dampness from the air, rather it re-circulated the dampness. Even dry clothes that I put into the dresser drawers became damp - and in the morning, the bed linens felt damp from the air-conditioning. Again, the staff was very lovely, the room clean and the towels plentiful - and the location and views fantastic, so I guess these complaints are minor - just be forewarned that if you intend to use the sleeper-sofa, ask for a cot instead, or get two separate rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swimangel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.2 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
966 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reges Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reges Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9201 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#9 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reges Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at the Reges Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Wildwood Crest are proud of our oceanfront accommodations and resort amenities. Widely recognized for our cleanliness and exemplary hospitality service, the Reges is family owned and operated, celebrating over 40 years of service. All 75 rooms and suites, most with kitchenettes, are oceanfront with private balconies. We take pride in continually updating and enhancing our resort property and amenities to ensure that our guests have a most comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our experienced staff strives to ensure that all our guests feel right at home and that each stay with us is a special one. Whether you choose to put your feet up or seek adventure, we have the experience you're searching for. Our resort island offers diversity of recreational activities, restaurants, shopping and family entertainment within immense natural beauty that will satisfy any passion. The possibilities for a day of complete relaxation or non-stop action are endless. Come play and relax at the Jewel of the Crest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Reges Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reges Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Reges Oceanfront Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing