We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for quick get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The staff was very nice and the property was adequate for one or two nights. If you are looking for Paradise, it's not here but for an average place to stay, it's not bad. The Bed was hard and the bathroom small but for one night it was manageable. Ice machine broken but they sold ice in bags and although they had a coffee pot in the room, the coffee was not included. Also, not many chairs around the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Title says it all Thanks to Bruce, Mike, Wally and the rest of Bruce's staff.
We just returned from a wonderful extended weekend stay and totally agree with all truely positive TripAdvisors' reviews. We have no complaints with this new ownership/management staff. They all make your stay True Paradise. They'll recommend great restaurants or steer you to their private, clean, gas grills to BBQ your own meals. Nice, clean rooms with fully-stocked kitchenettes, very comfortable beds, ample free parking, with their own pool and right on the beach. We hardly left this True Paradise and are going back in a couple of weeks.
Paradise Oceanfront Resort reviews will rise from Top 20 to Top 10 before summer's end.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, and if you need anything ( within reason !!! ), just ask.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the Paradise for the 2nd year in a row, from July 21 to the 26th. Our family had a block of 6 rooms.

Room- Our room was on the 2nd floor/206. Just a few things bothered me about the room this time around during an otherwise pleasant stay.

1) Shower faucet head- the same kind you would find in a prison. When running a beach motel you need to anticipate that small kids will also be using the shower. The heads found in the bathroom spray so little and so erratically that you actually need to hold a "red solo cup" to the top of the faucet to collect water and then dump on a kid's head to get the shampoo out. A $15 shower wand @ Depot is not too much to ask.

2) Rusty caulk around the sink. If it's rusty and I can see it, the people cleaning the room can see it as well. It doesn't take much to rectify this problem.

3) Efficiency unit with no dishes. We had access to a stove top, microwave and refrigerator, all of which worked perfectly fine. However, there were bent utensils in the utensil drawer and only a few dishes in the cabinet. Staff needs to be more aware of what needs to be replaced.

4) Carpeting was filthy. I realize that there is a short season here and that rooms are turned very quickly when one family vacates and another starts their stay. The push is on to turn over rooms with great efficiency. That being said, my one-year old daughter, a big crawler, would crawl on the carpet in our unit where after we would realize that her knees, hands and the tops of her feet were absolutely filthy. There needs to be some periodic cleaning of the carpets in between stays. Perhaps hold people to the 3PM check-in (we were given 11:30 which was most generous) and give the carpets a quick steam-cleaning?

Those were the only 4 issues I ran into with the hotel this go-around, and that's pretty close to near-perfect by Wildwood Crest standards. Now onto the good:

1) Staff- new ownership this year brought new staff running the hotel. Everyone, from the owner (who is around with great frequency) to his office team, is extremely pleasant and very helpful. The same can be said about the housekeeping and maintenance groups. It's nice to walk onto a property where everyone is smiling and truly appears to be enjoying what they are doing.

2) Room- other than the issues raised above, the room worked out great. We had a larger efficiency unit and it more than accommodated our group of 2 adults and 3 kids. The room is in need of an update but I understand that the first floor will be renovated for the beginning of next season. Honestly, you spend so little time in the room that what you would come to demand of a traditional hotel room versus a Wildwood Crest beach motel are two different things.

3) Facilities- staff does a great job keeping up with cleaning of the grounds and common areas. Chairs and tables were clean. There was no trash found about and by sunrise you would see a great amount of effort put into keeping things in good shape, including the beach area in front of the hotel which isn't even their responsibility to maintain. Housekeeping is very efficient at cleaning your room- it seemed as though they were in and out in less than 1/2 hour.

4) Convenience- great location near the southern part of Wildwood Crest and even if there's crowds, it never feels crowded. The beach is at your feet and less than a 3 minute walk gets you to the water. In terms of places to eat within walking distance, there are several cafes in adjacent hotels but nothing at the Paradise. They will however recommend local fare.

We greatly enjoyed our stay this year and will be booking for next year when their schedule opens up. I know that ownership must read these reviews and my criticisms-above are more of an "FYI/Please Change" then they are a rant about the property. Thanks to those at the Paradise for giving our family another great year in Wildwood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GK1Impulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just finished a week vacation at this hotel. The hotel is very clean, the location is awesome for the beach, nice clean pool, very friendly staff...owner was a great guy! Gave us suggestions on where to go out to eat. The only issues I had were that the place needs updating, but from what I hear they are going to start renovating rooms, which is great, and we had an issue with families that came down(about 15 families all together)and just took over the hotel...not the hotels fault, but it was annoying and they honestly didn't care that anyone else was there. Other than that, we did enjoy ourselves and the hotel is really a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommy-ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a fabulous time staying here,we truly did.The room was very clean,and we loved looking out our window and seeing the ocean.The staff was super friendly and they were genuine.The outdoor decks were very nice and we loved the flowering plants/trees.There are decorative palm trees which gives it a resort feel.It was also nice to walk out our door and be on the beach in just a few minutes,oh and there is a wooden walk way that goes part way out to the beach which was nice.The pool was very clean and refreshing,and surprisingly not crowded at all!There are many lounge chairs on the several decks they have,you can sit and relax by the pool or look out toward the ocean.It is very peaceful,and we really enjoyed it.We already signed up for next year,which the super friendly staff helped me with.It makes you feel good.Our room had a full sized refrigerator,a stove and sink.Cabinets were stocked with glasses,plates,and utensils if you need them.It was perfect for us,and will be going back.We also met a family who told us they have stayed many places in WW Crest,and that Paradise is simply the best.Once they found it,they only stay here.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the second or third floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

OUTDATED NO WIFI went to desk for help was told only 14 people could use it at a time. wasnt ment for my KIDS to get online. was not intended for me to work from! advertised fully equipped kitchenette one pan to cook everything no bowls! old outdated bathroom . Go some where else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce hamlin, Owner at Paradise Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

This kids mother stopped by our front desk not the child who wrote this review. His initial email to the motel was both rudely and childishly written with no proper punctuation and laced with profanity. IN his email written to the motel he stated that he checked out due to our free WIFI had been working consistently, (this was due to a Comcast issue). He also stated his vacation was ruined due to lack of WIFI.

His comments were abusive and certainly not appreciated by the motel staff. Clearly we must be doing something correct in that over 372 families thus far that have experienced the new ownership at the Paradise do not share his infantile remarks. Master Petty, in addition to studying harder in your English & Letter Writing Classes please do us a favor and heed your own advice by staying elsewhere if your travels take you back to Wildwood Crest!

Paradise Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years. I've tried other motel/hotels on the Crest, but I always come back to this one. It's not that its fancier than the rest or a five star hotel, but if you plan on staying in your room all day, what was the point of coming down the shore, right?

On the other hand, the atmosphere is really relaxing and the staff is great. You feel like family there. If you need more towels they bring you more towels. If you need more of anything at all, just ask, they always try to accommodate their guests.

Also, the rooms are very clean and well kept. So is the pool. Nothing is too old, broken or dirty, which is a big deal if you've ever stayed at the shore. And this place sits right on the sand! It's also very cozy at night to sit outside and watch the fireworks :-)

Plus Wildwood Crest is the best (hey, that rhymes!) ;-)

Ana

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor across from the pool are my favorite. I guess it's because its bec...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anac709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Oceanfront Resort

Address: 405 E Denver Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3509 (Formerly Paradise Inn Ocean Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#20 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £65 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Family Resort with all rooms featuring ocean views. Conveniently located between Wildwood's famed Boardwalk featuring Morey's Amusements and Water Parks and Victorian Cape May, the Paradise is family owned and meticulously maintained. The Paradise has been hosting family vacations and reunions for three generations. Our large heated pool, volleyball court, spacious sundeck and conveniently located outdoor grills make for a perfect location for groups to host your gathering with a postcard like setting offering expansive views of the beach and ocean. Our 1 Bedroom Efficiency Suites feature either two queen beds or one queen and one full bed in addition to a queen sleeper sofa for children. If you are looking for a tranquil setting inquire about our Oceanfront Efficiency Motel Rooms with King beds and a queen sleeper sofa for children. Nearby activities include, Morey's Amusements and Water Parks, wave-runners, parasailing, deeps sea fishing, golf and over 150 restaurants featuring foods from pizza to steaks and chops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn Ocean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Paradise Hotel Ocean
Paradise Inn Wildwood Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing