We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
403
103
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
403
103
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal grillefficiency apartmentdeluxe hotel roomnext yearupscale hotelbeautiful hotelthe jersey shoreocean frontthese yearsfront desk staffother hotelson site restaurantthe entire staffthe hotel is cleanfree concertsmother's dayupdated rooms
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel and room were clean and modern. Very nice pool and snack bar that was reasonably priced. Very happy with the Port Royal! Did lots of research on hotels since last year was our first stay. My husband, children, and I are going back next month and we can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Port Royal just gets better and better. We stay for two weeks, and it is truly our "home away from home". We have been going to the Port Royal for twelve years now and we've seen numerous improvements each year. We see many of the same guests year after year and have watched their children grow up as they have our son. As others have noted, this year the gift shop was removed in favor of a maritime themed library and sitting area. My wife missed the gift shop but my credit card account and wallet did not (LOL). Seriously though, in addition to the stylish clothing and gifts, the shop offered various sundries, snacks, and other items of convenience for the hotel guests. We are sure we are not the only guests who missed having the gift shop as an option. They did do a terrific job on the new maritime library. We only hope the clientele keeps it nice. The game room was re-done a year ago and some of the games have been abused by the guests to the point where they need repair. Nevertheless, the place is so very well kept and very clean. The rooms are immaculate. The pool area is beautiful and the property is not only steps from the beach, but is flanked by two parks. Simply put, it is the best in Wildwood Crest. The staff is so kind, courteous, and efficient. Whether it is the front desk staff, management, pool attendants, maintenance, or housekeeping, the staff is friendly and dedicated to making your stay special. In fairness, there are a couple of areas that we would like to see addressed. As many have stated, the Port Royal charges for its indoor parking garage. We have always been more than happy to pay for this extra as a matter of convenience. There is no charge for the outdoor parking. Indoor parking patrons get a certain type of placard that must be displayed and is good for the length of stay. Outdoor parkers get a hang tag and it is identified as for the outdoor parking privileges. I cannot tell you how many times we saw multiple cars in the garage either with a hang tag (outdoor parking) or nothing at all. The hotel should have someone patrolling the garage from time to time to enforce the parking rules. The nominal fee for indoor parking is not the point; rather it is the principle involved. Additionally, there are frequent instances of the general public parking in the outdoor spaces while going to the beach and/or the pool (we observed this personally). These cars should simply be tagged and towed. The other item we would like to point out is that some folks seem to think that it is ok to bring bottles of alcohol to the pool. In fact, one group reveled in having their libations in the pool itself. This would not have happened if A.J. were on duty at the pool; we felt compelled to mention this to the front desk and they acted promptly; only to discover that a bottle had been broken on the pool deck. Just when you think the children need to be watched, it is their parents that prove to be the most juvenile. I guess this could happen anywhere. Certainly no one would be concerned if they left their bar in their room and simply brought cups to the pool without the glass bottles. So, we once again thank the entire staff; John, Louise, Susan, Virginia, Rodney, Scott, Jake, Rita, Chrissy, A.J. and all other members of the staff at the Port Royal for another unforgettable and restful vacation. See you next year!

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the south side which has a view of the pool. Book early, there are many return guests.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OTKChamp7Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I just returned from a trip to Port Royal in Wildwood Crest. The hotel was a great find. It is clean, newly updated. The rooms all have balconies, nice size with 2 sinks one in the bathroom and one in the dressing area. The lobby was well kept with a new sitting area and game room. The game room was super expensive each video game was $1.

My only issue with the pool area was there was no lifeguard on duty. The pool area was great, directly across from the beach with plenty of chairs and umbrella's. The pool is a nice size with a kiddie pool directly next to it making it easy to keep an eye on your kids. There is a restaurant/grill right across from the pool with a nice selection.

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to be away from the chaos of the boardwalk. It's in a perfect spot to the beach, a bike route, and parks. It's in a quiet section with easy access to all the above. It's about a mile from the boardwalk. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newyorktravelermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just got back from a great 4th of July vacation. The hotel is the best in the area. Well keep friendly and helpful staff. This place is the best kept secret in Wildwood Crest.
Already have plans to stay next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onegoodcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel was fantastic for our family getaway. We stayed in a very spacious and clean efficiency suite which was located poolside on the 4th floor. This suite can definitely accomodate a family of 6-7 people comfortably. The hotel has ample outdoor parking, but we paid a mere $2 a day to park in their underground lot. It is about .5 miles from the boardwalk so we did drive there, but it was a quick and easy ride, and parking was ample on the streets at meters or in pay lots. The stay and play package was amazing..I believe we paid around $250 for our family of four to gain unlimited ride and water park access at the three piers, which was nonstop fun. The cleaning crew was friendly, thorough and efficient, and even loaned my friend detergent to run her laundry the first day there. It is right on the beach and the main and kiddie pools were clean and staffed by a vigilant lifeguard. There was even a restaurant, but we only ate from the snack far (food was good enough for a light lunch). Do yourself a favor and book this for your family trip to Wildwood. We loved the hotel AND the destination and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poetess74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews