We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wonderful after all these years!”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still wonderful after all these years!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having vacationed at The Port Royal since the early 1980s, we never cease to be amazed at the quality of service by the Staff, and amenities that keep getting better and better every year! The heart of The Port Royal is the people, people who are genuinely eager to make each stay a memorable one. The professional work of the housekeeping staff, the efficiency and pleasant humor of the managerial staff, and the beautifully maintained property make The Port Royal our "summer home away from home". Thank you, Port Royal, for all the wonderful memories! The Kolis Family, Wayne, NJ

Room Tip: The Ocean Front suites are worth every penny. The view, the sounds of the surf, and pretty much all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    95
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
238
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We haven't stayed at the Port Royal in many years because we usually rent a shore house. However, Hurricane Sandy destroyed our rental so we decided to return to the Port Royal. We had a fantastic week at this lovely hotel. The view of the ocean is spectacular, the pool is very well maintained (nice lifeguard named Anthony) and the restaurant is amazing. Especially the greek yogurt/fruit/ granola Island Bowl for Breakfast. This hotel is perfect for families with kids of all ages. The area and boardwalk and water park have so much to offer

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our fifth stay at the Port Royal. It is a very clean and well-maintained hotel. It has an excellent air conditioning system and a beautiful library and game room off the lobby. Except for a somewhat rusty shower curtain rod, the room was beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here--we always have a pleasant vacation and it is worth the price. Having a snack bar and a restaurant on the premises is also a plus. Servers at both places were excellent. Food is delicious at the Royal Grille. Will definitely book for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psugurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Port royal July 10-14, 2013 - same room, same week every year. We do this because we know what to expect from the Port Royal - Wildwood Crest's best. From the time we get reservation confirmation in February to the time we arrive in July, the clerical staff is efficient and accurate. Checking in is a breeze with the professional and courteous staff at the front desk; these ladies are some of the nicest people in Wildwood. Hotels can be fancy or plain, expensive or cheap but all should be clean and the housekeeping staff at the Port Royal keep it absolutely spotless. During our stay, Sommer took care of our room. A room couldn't be cleaner once she finished her chores. Throw in a friendly smile and a little sympathy because it was raining and you couldn't ask for a nicer encounter. And that's the way it is with all the Port Royal employees - sharing an elevator with a maintenance guy carrying a light bulb - he smiles and says hello. The pride of the employees shows up in the quality of the hotel. My reservation is made and my deposit paid for 2014.

Room Tip: Parking an SUV in the underground garage is very difficult because of tight corners and numerous bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LarryGering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel and room were clean and modern. Very nice pool and snack bar that was reasonably priced. Very happy with the Port Royal! Did lots of research on hotels since last year was our first stay. My husband, children, and I are going back next month and we can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glastonbury, CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Port Royal just gets better and better. We stay for two weeks, and it is truly our "home away from home". We have been going to the Port Royal for twelve years now and we've seen numerous improvements each year. We see many of the same guests year after year and have watched their children grow up as they have our son. As others have noted, this year the gift shop was removed in favor of a maritime themed library and sitting area. My wife missed the gift shop but my credit card account and wallet did not (LOL). Seriously though, in addition to the stylish clothing and gifts, the shop offered various sundries, snacks, and other items of convenience for the hotel guests. We are sure we are not the only guests who missed having the gift shop as an option. They did do a terrific job on the new maritime library. We only hope the clientele keeps it nice. The game room was re-done a year ago and some of the games have been abused by the guests to the point where they need repair. Nevertheless, the place is so very well kept and very clean. The rooms are immaculate. The pool area is beautiful and the property is not only steps from the beach, but is flanked by two parks. Simply put, it is the best in Wildwood Crest. The staff is so kind, courteous, and efficient. Whether it is the front desk staff, management, pool attendants, maintenance, or housekeeping, the staff is friendly and dedicated to making your stay special. In fairness, there are a couple of areas that we would like to see addressed. As many have stated, the Port Royal charges for its indoor parking garage. We have always been more than happy to pay for this extra as a matter of convenience. There is no charge for the outdoor parking. Indoor parking patrons get a certain type of placard that must be displayed and is good for the length of stay. Outdoor parkers get a hang tag and it is identified as for the outdoor parking privileges. I cannot tell you how many times we saw multiple cars in the garage either with a hang tag (outdoor parking) or nothing at all. The hotel should have someone patrolling the garage from time to time to enforce the parking rules. The nominal fee for indoor parking is not the point; rather it is the principle involved. Additionally, there are frequent instances of the general public parking in the outdoor spaces while going to the beach and/or the pool (we observed this personally). These cars should simply be tagged and towed. The other item we would like to point out is that some folks seem to think that it is ok to bring bottles of alcohol to the pool. In fact, one group reveled in having their libations in the pool itself. This would not have happened if A.J. were on duty at the pool; we felt compelled to mention this to the front desk and they acted promptly; only to discover that a bottle had been broken on the pool deck. Just when you think the children need to be watched, it is their parents that prove to be the most juvenile. I guess this could happen anywhere. Certainly no one would be concerned if they left their bar in their room and simply brought cups to the pool without the glass bottles. So, we once again thank the entire staff; John, Louise, Susan, Virginia, Rodney, Scott, Jake, Rita, Chrissy, A.J. and all other members of the staff at the Port Royal for another unforgettable and restful vacation. See you next year!

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the south side which has a view of the pool. Book early, there are many return gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTKChamp7Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I just returned from a trip to Port Royal in Wildwood Crest. The hotel was a great find. It is clean, newly updated. The rooms all have balconies, nice size with 2 sinks one in the bathroom and one in the dressing area. The lobby was well kept with a new sitting area and game room. The game room was super expensive each video game was $1.

My only issue with the pool area was there was no lifeguard on duty. The pool area was great, directly across from the beach with plenty of chairs and umbrella's. The pool is a nice size with a kiddie pool directly next to it making it easy to keep an eye on your kids. There is a restaurant/grill right across from the pool with a nice selection.

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to be away from the chaos of the boardwalk. It's in a perfect spot to the beach, a bike route, and parks. It's in a quiet section with easy access to all the above. It's about a mile from the boardwalk. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newyorktravelermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#32 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing