We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Royal”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Just a notch below the Pan American in my opinion. Location is great especially if you like the Friday night concerts. The pool is of good size. The dining at the Royal Grill was also surprisingly good. Underneath parking is a little tight but is another reccomend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichS230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

By traveling with a group and staying the week preceding Memoral Day, we were given a fantastic deal at the Port Royal. My wife and I were provided with a large 2 bedroom suite, including a private balcony and daily complimentary breakfast. If you can afford to stay during the peak season, you will still be extremely satisfied at the Port Royal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Our family has stayed here for 5-7 days almost every summer for the past 15 years. It's right on the ocean. Virtually every room has a nice view. It's a 10 min walk to the Boardwalk (but thankfully not too close to it), and a 10 min drive to Cape May. The rooms are clean and the service is great. Their restaurant also has a nice (but not inexpensive) breakfast. Great place for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DNCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The Port Royal hotel was great. It was super clean and the staff was so nice. It is in a great location, only about a 10 minute walk to the boardwalk. It is better to stay in Wildwood Crest for many reasons. The beaches in the Crest are not as busy as those by the boardwalk. Now, back to the room. We stayed in the efficiency apartment. I have two small children and it worked out great. The kids went to bed and we had the rest of the place to ourselves. The room had a great view of the park and beach. One night, there was a concert in the park across from the hotel. It was great, we got to sit on our balcony and listen to music. The cleaning staff was so polite and saw that we had two small children. They asked if we needed anything for the kids. Both the outdoor and indoor restaurants were great. We ordered at the window and brought it back to our room. Good menu with lots of choices. Cape May is just 10 minutes away. THIS PLACE IS GREAT!!!!! Can't wait to go back next year!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having vacationed at The Port Royal since the early 1980s, we never cease to be amazed at the quality of service by the Staff, and amenities that keep getting better and better every year! The heart of The Port Royal is the people, people who are genuinely eager to make each stay a memorable one. The professional work of the housekeeping staff, the efficiency and pleasant humor of the managerial staff, and the beautifully maintained property make The Port Royal our "summer home away from home". Thank you, Port Royal, for all the wonderful memories! The Kolis Family, Wayne, NJ

Room Tip: The Ocean Front suites are worth every penny. The view, the sounds of the surf, and pretty much all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We haven't stayed at the Port Royal in many years because we usually rent a shore house. However, Hurricane Sandy destroyed our rental so we decided to return to the Port Royal. We had a fantastic week at this lovely hotel. The view of the ocean is spectacular, the pool is very well maintained (nice lifeguard named Anthony) and the restaurant is amazing. Especially the greek yogurt/fruit/ granola Island Bowl for Breakfast. This hotel is perfect for families with kids of all ages. The area and boardwalk and water park have so much to offer

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our fifth stay at the Port Royal. It is a very clean and well-maintained hotel. It has an excellent air conditioning system and a beautiful library and game room off the lobby. Except for a somewhat rusty shower curtain rod, the room was beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here--we always have a pleasant vacation and it is worth the price. Having a snack bar and a restaurant on the premises is also a plus. Servers at both places were excellent. Food is delicious at the Royal Grille. Will definitely book for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psugurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing