We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite getaway !!”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgewood, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A favorite getaway !!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Port Royal is the hotel to book. So close to Cape May and other NJ attractions. The front desk, Rita's housekeepers, Kathy and the other waitress's in the outstanding restaurant and Frankie "the whatever needs doing" guy all make your stay a pleasant enjoyable experience.. Try it,you'll like it !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    95
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
238
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a queen bed deluxe room over the Memorial Day weekend, and enjoyed the hotel and its location very much. We rented bicycles nearby and rode every morning after having breakfast in the restaurant, which was always very good. We also ate dinner there once which was also very good and of very good quality. The hotel is very clean and we liked our room a lot. In the morning since our room faced the park and ocean, we could see a Zumba class going on. At night there was a rock and roll concert and we could watch it from our room. There is a short walk to the beach and to the boadwalk. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were on an active adult bus trip. We were to stay in another hotel closer to the start of the boardwalk, but since there was a band competition that weekend the company upgraded us to this quieter location. All rooms had a balcony from which we watched the sunrise. We witnessed two weddings on the beach that weekend. Rooms had everything we needed, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, wonderful bath products, hair dryer, ironing board and iron. It was too cool for us to use the pool but it was looking good. Two large and one baby heated pool! My only complaint is we did have a coffee maker but when I called the front desk to ask for coffee to make it I was told it was not provided. Maybe they should invest in the kuring makers and provide a cup in the morning., since the resturant did not open till 7:a.m. All in all we loved it and would return.

Room Tip: Every room had a balcony with an ocean view. The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilljen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

very good to stay on for family vacations and couples. the hotel may be on the higher side, but u get what u pay for. the rooms are big enough but most of the time u are out on the beach , the eateries etc. we have been going for their for at least ten years and plan to go again. the office is receptive and will work with you if u need to change dates ahead of time. the game room is good for kids and they tend to spend a lot of time there on the down time. it would be nice if they enlarged the phone booth sized computer room. that is small for the # of people staying there.

Room Tip: top floors actually better view. also the sides closer to the street are noisier due to garbage pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here over Mothers Day weekend in 2014. I loved it. I stayed in an ocean front suite, which was considerably larger than other similarly advertised rooms at the shore. The rooms were also a bit more tastefully appointed than most shore hotels.

It was slightly more expensive than its peers, but it also felt a bit more full-service than its competitors. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: ocean front is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was the second time that my husband and I took advantage of the hotel's specials that they offer before and after the prime summer season. Our last time was the end of September, this trip was the first weekend of May.
A Mother's Day weekend was offered, but when we called to book, we were informed that a wedding party would be filling the hotel, and we were offered the same package for the first weeekend of May. We booked for a two night package in the basic hotel room, which included one dinner for the two of us, one lunch apiece, and breakfast for two, for the two mornings that we would be there.
We arrived on Saturday about 3:15 pm, and had a smooth check in, since all we had to pay was the balance of the reservation. The desk person informed us that the hotel restaurant would not be open for dinner that evening, and she gave us a list of about six restaurants in the area that would be available to us for the package. She gave us menus for the restaurants as well, and told us to feel free to call her with any questions. Coupons for the meals were provided, and they were accepted without a question in the both the hotel restaurant and outside.
Our room was on the top floor with a great view over looking the pool, and south, We could actually see the ocean. All rooms do have an ocean view, a few suites have a full ocean front view.
The hotel has been renovated since we were there last, our room being done in muted colors, with the white bedding that is so great looking, and comfortable! A small cafe type table and two chairs are in the room as well. There is a flat screen tv and a small fridge. Perfect for keeping cold drinks and leftovers.
The bathroom is done in gray and white, shore colors that I love, with new plumbing fixtures and a marble topped vanity. A hairdryer is also supplied. There are two chairs and a small table on the balcony.
Loved the room, my only suggestion would be more hangers, and a coffee maker. I would love to have that first cup of coffee out on the balcony first thing in the morning!
The entire hotel is in great shape, though I think that the lack of a gift shop is a negative. The shop that was there the last time we visited did have very high end items, but also carried the usual type of souvenir things, as well as those sundry items that you sometimes forget to bring with you.
The hotel restaurant overlooks the beach and ocean, how can you go wrong with that view? We very much enjoyed our breakfasts and lunch there, as well as chatting with the servers and the desk people.
Every worker that we had contact with was more than friendly and helpful- front desk, restaurant people, cleaning ladies, and even the pool boy, with whom my husband had a great conversation with while we were enjoying the sun on the pool patio. Saturday evening after our dinner out, we talked with the woman at the front desk who gave us a lot of really interesting information about the hotel rooms, and various packages.
This hotel has high rates during the summer season, but because of all the positives about the place, I don't feel that they are overpriced. My husband and I simply prefer the peaceful quiet of the area before the summer crowns come in.

Room Tip: check the internet for hotel layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a second year visit, and it was great as expected. All I can say is that I wish there were some more promotions for repeat guests to save money, because the hotel is a bit pricey. The view from our room was just ok. We had an efficiency suite(see pics). Location is great - next to a park on both sides. Restaurant is ok - menu is minimal and I didn't like the snooty hostess. The restaurant is best suited for couples going for a romantic dinner(the view of the beach at sunset is nice). Really no complaints here!

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to the Oceacnfront suite and book early! Phone lines open in Feb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#32 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing