We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at the Port Royal. This is a five star for Wildwood Crest. The pool area by far is the best I have seen. Had breakfast at the restaurant and it was great. We had a double queen and while it was nothing fancy but it was spotless. I like the feel of having a nice lobby and entering your room from the inside as opposed to the inside and that is hard to find at the Jersey shore. The pool was taken excellent care of and the staff was great. We loved the walk up window to eat at lunch by the pool. The prices were reasonable to eat poolside. The prices are a bit higher ad far as other room rates but this hotel had a much higher standard then most in Wildwood. Lastly the hotel has open grass on each side which gave my teens the opportunity to play football and soccer every night. I highly recommend this hotel. I will be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ktattoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    90
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
220
81
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is one hotel in Wildwood crest that lives up to the reviews. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and they treat you like family. The efficiency room was great, the pool was clean and service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank racersl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Port Royal - beautiful hotel, right on the beach, lovely pool and great views! Close enough to everything, but removed enough that it was quiet at night! A bit upscale for the Jersey coast.

Truly the only negative was the mattresses in our room - extremely hard - and we like firm mattresses!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are a wee bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first stay at the Port Royal Hotel and we will be back the rooms we got were very clean and the maid service was bar none. They were very helpful and kept the rooms very clean. We took our kids and I grandkid, he's 18 months and very messy, they went out of their way to make our stay very nice. The pool was sweet and heated and at this time of the year could have been chilly at best, it was perfect and the pool staff worked on it fulltime. They have their own restaurant and breakfast was full service. They are an ocean front hotel as well so walking distance was right in front of us over the walking bridge and there's the ocean. They also have underground parking which is nice as well. Also the difference between Wildwood Crest and Wildwood is that Crest is dry. Keep that in mind when choosing hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great hotel, very clean, friendly staff! Great prices & packages! A must stay in Wildwood Crest.
Right on the beach, great restaurant, beautiful pool! Open space on both sides! Perfect location, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the heart of Wildwood!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthAnn261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Port Royal is the hotel to book. So close to Cape May and other NJ attractions. The front desk, Rita's housekeepers, Kathy and the other waitress's in the outstanding restaurant and Frankie "the whatever needs doing" guy all make your stay a pleasant enjoyable experience.. Try it,you'll like it !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a queen bed deluxe room over the Memorial Day weekend, and enjoyed the hotel and its location very much. We rented bicycles nearby and rode every morning after having breakfast in the restaurant, which was always very good. We also ate dinner there once which was also very good and of very good quality. The hotel is very clean and we liked our room a lot. In the morning since our room faced the park and ocean, we could see a Zumba class going on. At night there was a rock and roll concert and we could watch it from our room. There is a short walk to the beach and to the boadwalk. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing