We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME HOTEL”
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME HOTEL”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Port Royal is an amazing hotel. We stayed last August and come here yearly. We've been in the Hotel for many many years. It gets better every year. The game room is great, although the games change a lot. The kids love it. The only thing we don't care for is the restaurant it has terrible service. For a family of 5 it cost us $95. We know now to not go there. We buy other things to make. Dinner we eat at piers. A lot cheaper. The pool is nice, I personally don't go in it but the lounge chairs are everywhere so I just lay there. Our room was on the 3rd floor. We have an ocean front room with another balcony facing the pool. There is a set of bunk beds,a king bed, and a sofa bed. We use all of them. My oldest sleeps on the sofa bed and the two younger use the bunk beds. Me and my husband sleep in the king. We get great nights rest. When showering I recommend not taking a bath because after going to the beach sand gets caught and unless you ask the maids they will not dare to clean it. The staff is nice and helpful besides the dining staff. I recommend paying for parking because it's better and if it rains (pray that it doesn't) your car will have more sand on it than expected. When going to morey's piers, at night take the trolley. It's way easier than walking or paying for parking. If you do walk to the piers it's about 10-15 mins. Not bad. On Fridays and Saturdays there are concerts in the park to the left. Not bad but we don't watch it. Overall my family loves this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    90
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
220
81
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a solo getaway for me and it was perfect! Very clean and in a great location! My only complaint was the bedroom tv was pretty snowy. It's was a perfect suite. FYI, There is a restaurant on location but it closes after lunch.

Room Tip: Spring for the oceanfront room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennPenn1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location. Beautiful view. We stayed in one of the mini apartments which was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful. I will book another stay very soon. Oh i do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: mini apartment was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful location. All rooms have see view. Massive rooms with big beds.all modern and nicely decorated.fantastic pool with kiddie pool.both heated. Super friendly staff.entertainment for children.one word.heaven

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A group of us booked a suite for the weekend in June and were pleasantly surprised. This place does not have a motel-feel, and is far superior to many of the options in the area, no contest.

Our suite was well-appointed, bathroom brand-new with Philosophy brand toiletries, had 2 balconies with fantastic views of the beach and ocean. Even the bunk bed nook with an extra sink and shelving was great. It was more Pottery Barn kids than anything you'd find in a south Jersey motel. It was great sitting outside at night listening to the ocean on our balcony and our kitchen was well appointed and came in handy.

We spent time at the the pool and found it to be immaculately clean (like our room) with a nice little restaurant window available for surprisingly good food. We were also able to bring out our own drinks, as long as they were not in glass, which was also appreciated and made for a nice experience. There are ample lounge chairs and table seating with umbrellas. It's also great that the beach is just across the street!

The only down-side is that you only get 1 parking spot with a suite reservation. Since we were several adults, we had 2 cars. It worked out perfectly - we took the front desk's recommendation and parked 1 block away on a residential street. I'm not sure if it would have been as easy if we were visiting 1 or 2 weeks later, but it worked for us!

Beautiful lounge area and game room - very well decorated.

North Wildwood is a dry town, but we found it to be a simple, short walk to bar options about 1 mile down the block in Wildwood. I imagine this is a BIG plus if you're looking for peace and quiet during the busy July and August season!

The only area for improvement is the courtesy bathrooms they offer after you check out. First, I was impressed when they offered this amenity - I have only found this in 4.5 and 5 star hotels. Then, I understood why when we visited. Yes, there were showers and areas for hair dryers, but it was in the basement level and dim/dark, with old grade-school yellow tiles. When we checked it out around 4pm, it was clear that A LOT of people used it that day. We skipped using it entirely! An upgrade of this area would make this hotel near perfect!

A fantastic stay and we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The higher levels have the best views! Also, if you want to get breakfast - the restaurant can be VE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfarquar_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at the Port Royal. This is a five star for Wildwood Crest. The pool area by far is the best I have seen. Had breakfast at the restaurant and it was great. We had a double queen and while it was nothing fancy but it was spotless. I like the feel of having a nice lobby and entering your room from the inside as opposed to the inside and that is hard to find at the Jersey shore. The pool was taken excellent care of and the staff was great. We loved the walk up window to eat at lunch by the pool. The prices were reasonable to eat poolside. The prices are a bit higher ad far as other room rates but this hotel had a much higher standard then most in Wildwood. Lastly the hotel has open grass on each side which gave my teens the opportunity to play football and soccer every night. I highly recommend this hotel. I will be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ktattoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is one hotel in Wildwood crest that lives up to the reviews. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and they treat you like family. The efficiency room was great, the pool was clean and service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank racersl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
961 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing