We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pefect Family Hotel in Wildwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pefect Family Hotel in Wildwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was my first time staying at the Port Royal hotel...and it won't be my last. If you are looking for a hotel - not a motel- definitely stay here. The rooms were clean, staff was great and the pools were perfect. Location to beach can't be beat. The beach was nice and clean. Very family oriented. You are far enough away from all the crowds on the boardwalk but a short car ride away(5 minutes). Breakfast at hotel was great and prices were reasonable. Hotel room was very spacious, we stayed in the efficiency apartment. Maid service was excellent. I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifromny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    87
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
217
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Perfect location. The hotel's nautical design is very nice. The pool area is comfortable. The kids (and parents) really enjoyed the game room. Its clean, and the staff is courteous and nice. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetjackson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I've been going to Wildwood for years and this hotel, by far, is the BEST!! Clean, cozy, comfortable rooms and beds, great view of the Ocean! Park is in walking distance, as well as, outside summer concerts, bike rental facility, and steps to the beach. The on site restaurant has exceptional food and we ate there most nights.....from breakfast to dinner to outside snack bar, the food was delicious. There's an arcade on site which was convenient for our 8 year old son, he really enjoyed playing in there. There's also a nice sitting room where you can watch t.v. or play board games in there or just relax. The hotel room was nice, as well as, the room with the couch and separate bedroom. Personally, I took a tour and every room was very nice. You can also bring your bike with you and chain to the hotel railing or put outside on your balcony. Our family will definitely stay there again! And Theresa, one of the staff, is sweet, personable, and accommodating!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and spacious! The room with full refrigerator, couch, and separate bedroom i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our family and our friends and their families have been going to Wildwood Crest for almost 50
years. We have stayed at the Port Royal Hotel for the majority of those years. At one point we went to The Dragon House (chinese restaurant) with 48 people. Our 3 children and our friends children and now many of our grandchildren are still returning. The hotel is immaculately clean with a friendly, lovely group of housekeepers headed by the indomitable Rita. They even remember my birthday. The people at the front desk headed by Louise (who knows all our children and grandchildren are amazing). The restaurant in excellent. Do go there and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: You have a choice of many types of rooms. Most have been recently refurbished. We heve a 2 room oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stay at The Port Royal two times during the summer, and once in September. We've been doing that since 1981! We can't imagine EVER staying anywhere else in Wildwood Crest, and quite frankly, as we travel a few times a year to other destinations, we always find ourselves comparing those other hotels to The Port Royal. We appreciate and respect the staff of the hotel, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the maintenance staff...all of them do their jobs professionally and with personal care to the guests. Our usual room is an ocean front suite on the third floor, and we love the housekeeping staff! From Chrissy who is extraordinary in the personal attention she offers to the guests, and Rita who watched our children, and now our grandchildren, grow up, we truly do feel like we're coming home every time we visit Wildwood Crest. Maureen and Stan Kolis, Wayne, NJ.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52MaureenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Book a room if you can. The PR has it all. Fantastic Beach, great pool, good restaurant, comfortable modern rooms, terrific housekeepers (book the third floor with Chrisy if you can). The front desk is competent and always helpful (ask for Louise - she runs a tight ship). You will not find a better place to stay in the Wildwoods (or Diamond Beach,or Cape May). Rain or shine, always a great shore vacation (and we ought to know, we've been there each of the last 45 years with family and friends)!

Room Tip: Ocean front "suites" are outstanding for comfort and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

First time staying at the Port Royal Hotel and our experience was wonderful!! The grounds of the hotel were so clean and well kept, the rooms were nicely renovated and the maid staff does an excellent job at keeping them clean and comfortable. All the women I spoke to either on the phone or at the front desk were so very accommodating and friendly. They are doing everything right at this hotel, other hotels should take a page out of their book!!! We have found our favorite hotel in Wildwood Crest!

Room Tip: We had a park-facing room and were treated to an amazing oceanview as well!!! Nice and quiet on thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotstosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Property: Port Royal Hotel
Address: 6801 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3919
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#8 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing