We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanview motel - Its not really ocean view”
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanview Motel
Ranked #65 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The back of the hotel looks like junk yard. The Pool is nice and maybe is the only good thing. Its pretty close to the beach and some restaurants which was also good. When you look through the window of the double bed rooms you see junk and not ocean. When we walked in the room there was this terrible smell which i cant stand. I went to the manager and i told him nisely that the room smells. He said lets take a look. He grabbed room freshener and sprayed it for couple of minutes. After that he left. That didnt fix anything. The price was O.K. but i just cant stand this. The beds were good and the rooms were clean. The furniture looks like its from 50 years ago and i thing its going to break everytime i touch it. The bathroom is tiny and old but clean. The only thing that safed me from the smell was a bottle of Jack Daniels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at this motel for a basketball tournament. Like others mentioned, it was like going back in time. Although it looked clean and the location was great, the room looks like it hasn't been updated in 40 years at least. We're not rich, but we're used to a little more luxury. I realize this is a beach town and this hotel is not a resort, but a few modernizations to the decor would not hurt at all.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the ground floor, right in front of the mini golf. We didn't request it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillygirl109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Hi we just got back from this hotel the older women at the front desk with blonde hair is a creep. Has no personality we got no hello no nothing she was pretty miserable. Anyway the location was excellent room was ok the admiral Resturant across the street is excellent staff is great and food is awesome. If I had to stay at the oceanview again I would if I had to since it was pretty much the cheapest place around the crest. The oceanview room has pretty great view.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntsFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Went in late June till early July with my husband and children. Although quite a far walk from the boardwalk, we all had a great time. The beach was great because of location and the sundeck was just perfect for relaxing in the sun. The staff was all very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We decided to go last minute and saw this motel online, but was not sure because the reviews were mixed. So I called and spoke with Pat who was very nice over phone and gave a lower rate than online. I booked it and Barb let us check-in a little early. The room had 2 double beds in front room and 2 in a separate room which the kids loved. Had table with chairs, fridge, tv, but no coffee maker or microwave. The bathroom was small, older style tiles but very clean. Beds were clean and comfortable. Right outside the room was a nice mini golf, no charge, big clean pool with kids pool, game room and a grill area that has 4 grills you can use to bbq. Ice machine was convenient and clean. Plenty off free parking. Location awesome right on beach and boardwalk a few blocks away.
Craig the manager has been there a long time, is very personable and generous. He helped me with an issue that made my stay memorable. Also the handicapped rooms are great. Newly renovated - new tile floors, furniture, full kitchen, roll in shower, flat screen tv.
I have a Bachelor degree in Hotel/Restaurant management and as far as motel's go, this is a great one. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable motel on the beach, you found it!

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchen's, our room had a fridge. Remember this is a motel style so people do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed at this motel 3-4 times in the last 6 years, always in the oceanfront room which offers a king sized bed. The motel is in a great location, literally on the beach and the room has a balcony. There is a bike rental shop and a playground next door. There is also a path that leads to the boardwalk which is within walking distance.

Unfortunately the balconies are not private and most times people are smoking on the balconies which blows right at you but the view is great, especially at night. The pool is fairly large and clean but always packed. There are BBQ grills to use, a small mini golf course, a small arcade room and multiple vending machines. There is a small elevator which is nice when you are on the 3rd floor and overpack! Parking is tough, the spaces are very tight, unless you own a motorcycle or a mini!!! Wifi is offered but only in the main office.

I only give this motel 3 stars because of the rooms.......very very outdated. The air-conditioning does not work well and last visit, it looked like it was about to fall out onto the balcony. It is placed in a hole in the wall above the door to the balcony so you get water dripped on you when you go out the door and it is not sealed so you can see outside around the unit. The bed is ok, no major complaints there. There is a slight musty, mildewy smell in the rooms, nothing that I was too grossed out over. Otherwise the rooms are clean. The bathrooms are tiny and really need upgrading. The water pressure and temp were fine. Towels are the typical white, scratchy ones but were clean. The small fridge is a great addition and worked well. I think 2012 was our last year here. Not worth the price even though the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra $. Great view and nice ocean breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dev33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Oceanview is a very family friendly place to stay where the staff is always smiling and welcoming. Every year for over 10 years now I have brought down a large group of teenagers for a field trip (some of which have never seen the ocean) and each and every year I have not been disappointed. the location is perfect, the rate is very reasonable and the rooms work very well for us. It is not meant to be a high end hotel; it is meant for the average family that will be tracking sand and playing in the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a good time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.8 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#57 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#50 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#24 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Scape Inn
Sea Scape Inn
#44 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Address: 7201 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3809
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £178 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanview Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Oceanview Motel, our accommodations are comfortable offering one bedroom motel rooms and suites that can sleep up to seven. All suites include individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a refrigerator, phone, and TV. Our motel is stocked with a video arcade, gift shop, laundry services, wi-fi, BBQ hut, and a beachfront grill. A family friendly motel, Oceanview Motel also has a supervised children's program featuring water balloon contests, egg toss, pie eating contest, swim races, miniature golf, and arts & crafts. Enjoy family bingo with prizes, beauty parades, and hula hoops. Other activities nearby include bike rentals and a bike path directly to Wildwood piers, golf, tennis, sailing, surf casting, and deep sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel Wildwood Crest
Oceanview Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing