We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”
Review of Mark I Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mark I Motel
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was my first trip to Wildwood. Headed down for a friend's wedding. Only stayed one night so we didn't spend a lot of time on the property (not that it is that big) or enjoy the pool. The pool did seem pretty busy with lots of families /kids every time we passed by.

We were in room 24. In the main room there was a couch (pull out?), table and chairs, plus a bed and a TV. On the far side was a full kitchen: refrigerator, oven, microwave, plates, glasses, etc. We didn't have time for any meals there, just some drinks and snacks. Wish we had packed some napkins or paper towels. There was another bed /dresser /TV in the bedroom. View of an open lot behind the building. Bathroom was small with a shower stall. Tough to shave your legs...the ladies know what I mean.

Everything seemed fairly new and definitely clean! Very pleasant staff. Not much within walking distance so pick up groceries and snacks on the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I've been going to Wildwood Crest for over 30 years. This was by far the cleanest motel we've ever been to. Great for families with small children. This is the only motel I know of that has ovens in the efficiences. We recommend this motel to anyone going to the shore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Throwback 1960's style motel that we got at the last minute for a weekend at Wildwood Crest. There's some "fancier" hotels in Wildwood Crest, but pretty hard to get a reservation for at the last minute for a weekend. We stayed in the "Apt 24" room, which accomodates 6. For six adults, it's sort of like "camping" - because there's a separate bedroom for two, but the other 4 have to use a double bed and pull out bed in the living room area. But, we knew that going it & has we had teenagers with us, it's wasn't too bad. If it were a family, it would have been less sort of "cramped". We wanted a place to "crash" for a beach weekend that was clean and right next to the beach that wasn't ridiculously expensive - so, Mark 1 for sure filled that need. The rooms are clean, and the almost full size fridge was appreciated. The pool is open until 11pm and we had no problem finding a table to sit & have drinks at night poolside. So, as Wildwood motels go - I've got no complaints. No frills, but clean & friendly staff - and that counts for a lot. The comfort level of the bed was the greatest - but, it wasn't horrible. I only gave it three stars because it was not a great comfort mattress & only two pillows offered on each bed - but, as I said, if you are looking for a "crash pad" for a beach weekend, it's clean & adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a fantastic little get away spot that not nearly enough people know about. In a sea of mediocrity this motel is a jewel! Exceptionally clean rooms, beautiful pool and such an incredible staff. I can't say enough great things about this place. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mark I. Facility was very clean and Kathy and Chris were very accommodating. The only improvements we would suggest would be possibly Queen size beds in place of the full size beds and definitely restricting smoking at the pool. Possibly the smoking could be limited to the tables at the street end, which is more out in the open. Our family could not fully enjoy the pool or sit out near the pool due to the heavy smokers surrounding the pool. Possibly we may have chosen the wrong week when there seemed to be a large number of smokers. Again, the place was exceptionally clean, maintained like it was your own home, and is in an ideal location. We would have given it 5 stars except for the smoking.

Room Tip: For non-smokers, be aware that smoking is permitted at all locations outside rooms. This includes p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stay at this motel every year. This has been my 5th year and for many of my friends, the 15th year! To say that the owner is meticulous is an understatement. He truly cares about the condition of the property and is always available if you need something. Although externally dated, the rooms have been upgraded and it's got to be one of the cleanest motels I've ever been to. It is the second motel from the beach and so the location is excellent.

Room Tip: We always stay in room #20- ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel5182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else for a week at the beach! Chris and Kathy and always available, friendly, and answer every question you could come up with. They know where everything is and have great recommendations. The rooms are immaculate, with friendly staff. The heated pool is fantastic for kids and adults. They have a variety of rooms and suites to meet your needs, and you can't beat the view. The beach is not even a block away, and it's only a short drive to restaurants and stores. It's a bit away from the boardwalk, which we actually like because it's much quieter! We've been staying at the Mark I for 4 years and I know we will be going for many many many more!

Room Tip: The beach house not only has a great view of the beach, but also the bay! However, if you have kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenEHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
1.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#19 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark I Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark I Motel

Property: Mark I Motel
Address: 417 E Atlanta Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#21 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark I is a totally remodeled family motel offering guest rooms, efficiencies, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. All rooms have central A/C and heat. Our commitment to cleanliness is unmatched. Relax in our heated pool or on the ocean view sundeck. We offer free wireless internet, laundry facilites and extended pool hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mark I Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark i Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing