We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit outdated but superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cara Mara Resort Condominiums
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Location is perfect for the beach and the boardwalk. walking distance to everything, yet in a quiet neighbourhood. looks very mid-70s but it is very cleanand well maintained. Only complains would be sofa bed needs updating (in some rooms I presume as well as appliances but they work.) Game room is a bust-not interesting for kids. Wireless is weak in the rooms. Must be outside on patio for good reception. Note: no room service or gym, so ignore my scores below. Had to put something.

Room Tip: Ask for a more recently innovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1775Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed and had room 312. It was nice and clean. The kids loved the pool and outdoor area. We made great use of the grills and everything was clean. The beach is right there as is beautiful centenial park where there is entertainment. The staff was friendly as were the cleaning men who did a great job on our room!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Booked an Ocean View suite and upon getting to our room discovered our "ocean" view was a view of the stair well. Checked the back window to see the wall of the next hotel. Lovely. It was too late to complain as the manager left upon giving us our keys. Trying to make the best of it get ready for bed to discover grit and hair on the sheets, making me wonder if they had actually been changed. After one night, woke up congested with a headache and notice "dust" all over my iPad that I was using the night before. Tried to get a glass of water to discover grimy glasses. Yuck. I was't expecting much from a motel, but I do expect honesty and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquishyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Cara Mara again. I was here a few years ago. I noticed a lot of improvements since I was here last. Last time I stayed in Room 301. I had a good experience. I tried to get the same room but it was booked. I understand that the rooms are individually owned. So I asked for a similar room and location when I stayed here last time. I was given Room 302 next door. I was told it was recently upgraded. What a surprise. Flat screen TV's in both rooms. The sofa bed was extremely comfortable for a sofa bed. The view was awesome ! You get a pool view but you can still see the ocean and beach from my room ! There is a park next door and they have concerts which my family and me enjoyed right from our balcony. I understand there are fireworks too sometimes. I was told the motel is constantly undergoing improvements and I could definitely tell. The Cara Mara is not a Hilton or Marriott but thats the beauty of staying in Wildwood Crest at the CaraMara. Its comfortable, casual and family oriented. I've stayed at a few motels in Wildwood Crest over the years. This is the second time I came back, I'll definitely come back again. Ask for one of the same rooms I stayed in before. I would recommend it to my friends. The people at the front desk were also very accommodating too. Loved it. See you next time.

Room Tip: Look for any rooms updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasualTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We went to Wildwood with family for a tournament. The hotel room had a horrible odor. The couch was dingy and dirty looking. The rug was dirty and dark. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, the bed had hair in it from previous customers. The blanket had stains and was dingy and when we asked for a new blanket they refused to give a new one. When asked for a new room like the ones advertised in the pictures they refused, said they were for leasing customers. ALL THE ROOMS SHOULD HAVE THE SAME QUALITY. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Tyreneeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

If you are a fan of the 50-60's in Wildwood you will enjoy the Cara Mara Resort. Haven't stayed in Wildwood overnight for about 30+ years when a trip came up last minute with family. The rooms were very nice, clean and the feel that I remember from years ago at the shore. Location was good, just off the beach with about a 1/3 mile to the boardwalk. The rooms were individually decorated as they are a Condo and owned by various individuals. Supposed to sleep 6 but that would have been tight. What we had word very well for 3 people.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms in the middle had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schwenksville220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel itself is OK, staff is nice, location is OK, BUT be prepared.. the doors are closed after aprox 10 at night, so if you are planning a late arrival, it's very possible that you will not get in till next morning. The room has a fridge, TV and coffee machine (everything old, but OK), however no plastic cups or a glass to even brush your teeth. I couldn't understand what's the point of having a coffee machine in a room, if there is no cups, I am not even talking about a coffee or tea bag. Nothing in the bathroom, except towels and 2 little soaps, no little shampoo, lotion or anything else, that all the hotels always have. The room service only take out the trash and bring new towels, they didn't even do beds. BTW, I had the cheapest room, but it still was over $400 (with tax) for 4 nights, you don't expect this level of service for this money

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gringusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#17 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#23 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara Mara Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara Mara Resort Condominiums

Address: 6701 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4005
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £59 - £789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara Mara Resort Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cara Mara is a colorful "Doo Wop" style resort condominium hosting families and couples in the classic Wildwood-by-the-Sea fashion enjoyed year after year by visitors to the Jersey Shore's most complete resort. The Cara Mara is one of the most famous Wildwood NJ Motels and features beautiful Wildwood Crest oceanfront rentals that have great views overlooking our sandy white beaches. The Cara Mara is located directly across from the largest, safest free beach on the East Coast and just minutes from all the excitement of the Wildwoods' world-famous boardwalk and entertainment district. Historic Victorian Cape May and the exciting Atlantic City casinos are just a short drive away...Planning your vacation to Wildwood Crest? Don't forget to check out the Cara Mara Specials available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cara Mara Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Mara Resort Condominiums Hotel Wildwood Crest
Cara Mara Hotel
Cara Mara Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing