We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't do it !!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This "resort" should win an award for having the most deceptive advertising ever ! It is a small, filthy dump. We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't get out of there fast enough.

The room is so small that if you are a family of 4 you will literally be bumping into each other. The "kitchen unit " consists of a cheap plastic table and 3 very small plastic chairs that you would use in your yard, but not in a hotel. The bathroom opens directly into the kitchen and is so small that when you sit on the toilet the sink is right in front of your face. The sink has no counter so there is nowhere to place your personal items. It all looked so old and musty that you didn't even want to shower. I wouldn't even think of using the kitchen area for anything, that's how gross and dated it all was.

Then there was the bedroom....I am convinced there are jail cells that are more comfortable. The floor was filthy with sand all over it, which of course made it's way onto the sheets. The beds were awful and lumpy with old, dirty looking linens. Our room had a door that was attached to another room and we could clearly hear all the noise from the room next door, from their TV to their discussion of what to eat for breakfast. The beds were so close together that you had to crawl in from the end and by the end of the second day my kids were afraid to take their shoes off.I went to bed with the feeling that something was going to crawl on me. The musty smell was overwhelming and putting the air on did not help at all. And because we were on the first floor and near the pool, there were constantly people right outside our window...and let's just say that some of the guests looked very questionable.

The only nice thing I can say about the place is that their little restaurant was convenient and the food was actually pretty good. We had egg sandwiches for breakfast and pizza for lunch and it was good and reasonable. And yes, the location on the beach was good but there are also 100 other motels in the same location.This place is not worth a fraction of the money they charge.
By later in the week we moved into another motel and were very happy and actually plan on returning later in the month.

Room Tip: There probably aren't any! Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    69
    18
    25
    44
See reviews for
152
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the third year we chose to stay at the Coliseum. We stayed last year and noticed things going down hill, but took a gamble again this year because the prices just can't be beat. New management and cleaning staff have done an excellent job of improving service here. Maids are fast and efficient and, most of all, friendly. We were able to check in a full 3 hours earlier than the regular check-in time...something that has never happened here before. The rooms are clean, as is the parking lot and pool area. Location is still one of the best in Wildwood Crest...just steps from the beach.

Be warned - Parking is tight on the inside parking lot...try to get a spot on the outside. We barely drive once we reach Wildwood, so this usually works well for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors have the best views of the ocean. First floor rooms are good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraB203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Don't be fooled by the online pictures like we were! The place is dirty, cramped, and extremely outdated. The electrical receptacles are a fire hazard. The management was poor. The clientele that stayed here did not care about the other people. They were lighting off fireworks and throwing them off the balconly into the parking lot where all the cars were. The cops were called but they still continued to do this past midnight. We were supposed to stay Thursday thru Sunday and left on Friday morning. Will never go back!

Room Tip: Don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraK8242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Coliseum for 4th of July Week with my sister and her family (3 children between us - ages 10, 9 & 7.) We went into the hotel a little apprehensive since we are the pickiest people in the world but came out LOVING IT! Great location right on the beach, decent size and very clean pool area and awesome pizza/food right at the hotel. I can't say enough about the entire staff - they are what truly made the stay. They did everything and anything we asked for and were super helpful and pleasant. Amanda was awesome, she bends over backwards for everybody and really made a difference in our stay. The cleaning staff was great as well - they truly take pride in the job they do. If you're looking for a CLEAN, ON THE BEACH, FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel then this is the place. We will absolutely be back next year and may even make another trip to Wildwood this Summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susquehanna, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the time we were acquiring pricing and availability, to our arrival, our stay and then our departure - the team - management (Wally) and staff, all genuine, concerned about you and your stay and how they can make it better if necessary.
They listen and accomodate.
Worked with our schedule when to clean the room daily.
Internet went down and accomodated us with their personal account.
Everything was up to date and well maintained.
The pizza place/ice cream was convenient but would have been better if they had milk for sale (bottles not a cup).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rayraypol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Coliseum Ocean Resort from June 8-15, 2014 and had a great time! The pizza/ice cream shop attached to the hotel is very convenient for quick lunches in the middle of a beach day without having to leave the hotel. The room was clean and we had no issues with it. We stayed oceanview on the second floor in room 219 and were happy with our room. The staff of the hotel is very nice and accomodating. Wally, the manager, is so nice and was there to help whenever we needed him, which was quite often as we locked ourselves out of our room and our car during our stay. We had to call him at 6am to save us. He came quickly and wasn't upset at all about it. We also locked our keys in our car and he recommended a quality locksmith who was there quickly and not priced outrageously. After all the mishaps we had, the staff will probably remember us as much as we will remember them for their friendliness and hospitality! They really made our vacation even more enjoyable! The maintenance man and the maids were all friendly and helpful as well! We hated to leave! We will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The management of the Coliseum was just the best. We had great service, everyone was so friendly and helpful. Being on a girls get away can be very annoying and noisy and although I don't think we were that but we had a problem with our keys and every time we had to ask for a new one It was handled with a smile. The manager and maintenance guy were so kind and made sure everything was right. The place was clean and what a great location. I can't wait till I go back again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator at this time, so the first floor is great if the stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#35 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coliseum Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coliseum Ocean Resort

Property: Coliseum Ocean Resort
Address: 416 E Miami Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3618
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coliseum Ocean Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coliseum Ocean Resort is located directly on the beach. All of our suites have fully equipped kitchens. There are sundecks that overlook the ocean with barbeque axcess. We are all about helping you make wonderfull family memories that will last a lifetime. Come enjoy Wildwood Crest looking at the Atlantic Ocean every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coliseum Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coliseum Ocean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Coliseum Ocean Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing