We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth your while....”
Review of Sea Chest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Chest Motel
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Collingswood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth your while....”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just returned from a short visit to the beach and I am very glad to have found the Sea Chest Motel. I have stayed at other hotels in Wildwood and Ocean City and I will make the Sea Chest my first choice when I want a beach get away. If you are looking for luxury this isn't it, but it is very clean and it's in a great location. The rooms was not large, but the bed and pillows were comfy with crisp white linens. I loved the 1940's green and yellow tile bathroom others may see it as old fashioned. When I'm at the beach I am there for the sun, sand and ocean; not spending time in the room. The owner John was very sweet and personally keeps the place in tip top shape. It's a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    17
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Sea Chest a few times. John, the owner, is always welcoming on our arrival. He and his staff/family keep the place very clean, even with the beach sand from our flip flops and constant client turnover of clients.
You could spend more money elsewhere, but the Sea Chest is close to the beach, clean and fun.
Why spend more?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I've been coming to the Sea Chest for as long as I can remember and have so many memories coming here as a kid up until today. Great location close to the beach, friendly staff, and clean rooms. Definitely recommended! Check it out next time you're down in Wildwood Crest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpleasthat324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We've been coming here for years! This is a family friendly motel. The rooms are reasonably priced & clean. The owners are very friendly and accommodating to any requests made. The motel is 1 block from the beach so you can't beat the location! If you enjoy the feel of a small & intimate motel, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The owner John was very friendly and attentive during our stay. Clean rooms(& bathroom), great beds, Wifi, full size fridge & freezer, even a microwave in my room! I'll certainly be coming back! The pool was also nice & clean, there are great full size gas grills by the pool, I mean we ended up chilling mostly on our balcony. They had nice picnic tables with umbrellas and comfortable lounge chairs to sun in. Plenty of ice too!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikedm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I recently vacationed in South New Jersey and brought my family to the Sea Chest Motel in the (dry) town of Wildwood Crest. The family-owned business with small style apartment-type rooms gives you a welcoming feeling from arrival through your exodus. They made me feel very welcomed and I even picked up a few words of Polish during my family's vacation. I will definitely be staying there again in the future, possibly again at the end of this year's summer season. Here's hoping each return visit is as enjoyable as the first!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the Sea Chest Motel in Wild wood Crest, NJ. The hotel is whistle clean and the staff is extremely accommodating. The management kept the pool open later so the kids could swim when we returned from the beach. There are 3 grills and picnic tables to accommodate feeding the kids. There are refrigerator/freezers in every room. The price is very good for what you get. The trolly picks you up right at the corner and takes you to the boardwalk so there is no need to drive down and pay to park. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Colony Resort Motel
Beach Colony Resort Motel
#1 of 7 in Wildwood Crest
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saratoga Inn
Saratoga Inn
#34 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca D'or Motel
Conca D'or Motel
#50 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astronaut Motel
Astronaut Motel
#38 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#19 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#37 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Chest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chest Motel

Property: Sea Chest Motel
Address: 7401 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3831
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#21 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Chest Motel is located in the heart of Wildwood Crest, one block from the largest free beach in New Jersey. The motel was built in 1956, making it the oldest motel in the Wildwoods. It has been family owned and operated since inception (2nd owners, 28+ years). We are a short drive or trolley ride (pick up 1 block away) to fine restaurants, nightlife, and the world famous Wildwood boardwalk. We are also 6 miles from Cape May and 45 miles from Atlantic City. We take great pride in our establishment and are well known for our cleanliness. We have plenty of space outdoors, a large swimming pool (slide & diving board), 4 barbecue grills, queen size beds in every room, far reaching high speed WIFI throughout the facility, 48" wall mounted smart HDTV's w/cable in each room (enjoy watching your Netflix/Hulu/etc.), sofa beds in each room, & much more ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Chest Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing