We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Coronado Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Coronado Resort
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Endwell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed from 7/7/13-7/11/13 with our 2 kids. We were room 624 which was great! A great ocean front room and the sunrises were beautiful from the balcony. We have been going here for 4 or 5 yrs now, and this was the best stay yet. The room was clean, and our housekeeper, Wilmer, was friendly and great with my kids. I agree with others that some updating can be done such as with the carpet, but it wasn't dirty. I try not to pay much attention to minor things like that because I don't go on vacation to stay in my hotel room. The room meets our needs, it was clean, beds were comfortable, and my most important feature to me is the view, which is fabulous from this room. It's so easy to get the kids to the beach, just walk down the steps and we are there.

Reservations were easy to make, and Paula was very helpful in finding the room that I was describing to her, because in the past we have stayed in a different type of room. Sara made check in quick and easy.

We will be back again next summer!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovelyRN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
So happy to hear your vacation was pleasing to you and your family. Thank you for taking the time to note your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    120
    57
    54
    55
See reviews for
255
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at El Coronado at the end of June for 5 days with our family of 6 - 2 adults and 4 kids. We stayed in a A1N ocean view room on the sixth floor. The staff was courteous and friendly, offered restaurant recommendations and seemed sincerely attentive. The pool area is great and the location was exactly what we wanted. The food in the cafe downstairs is priced a little high but the food is very good and the portion sizes are very large. The room was comfortable and the little kitchenette was a blessing to our food budget with a family of 6. The kids really enjoyed the little arcade downstairs.
The issues our family had were not really issues - I agree with previous posters that a little TLC is needed in various areas. Our balcony did show signs of wear with chipped paint and rusting on the railings. The wireless internet available is very weak and slow. If it were not needed for work for my husband while we were there then I wouldn't even mention it, but he had to lug his laptop and work downstairs to get the best signal which was still very slow. The only real complaint I had was the very thin blankets used for bedding.
Even these issues were not issues affecting our vacation in any way. We really enjoyed the resort and spoke of it so much already that we have family who has booked there for the end of the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, Melanie. I was pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the El Coronado over Beach Blast weekend and my family had so much fun! While the rooms may be a bit dated, our room was clean and comfortable. We spent very little time in the room - the pool was fantastic and the staff was very accomodating to our very large group of soccer players! The grills are just a great ammenity.

We did not ask for house cleaning during our short stay and the only slightly disappointing thing for us was that we had to wait about an hour after check-in for the room to be ready. It was not a huge deal, though, since we could walk on the beach or hang at the pool. The pool is just fantastic!

Will definitely stay at El Coronado for Beach Blast 2014!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
I was most pleased to read you enjoyed you stay at my resort! I will share your comments at my next staff meeting. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My family was excited to be able to book a last minute July 4th getaway in Wildwood Crest. My mother had stayed at the El Coronado years ago and had a good experience, so naturally we expected this trip to be a good one.

When I called to book the reservation I spoke with Theresa. She was pleasant and professional. She informed me that the only room available was a class (AAN/AAS) - BEACH FRONT 1 BEDROOM EFFICIENCY SUITE. Sweet! Beach front! This was exactly the type of room we were looking for. I put down the one night's deposit and received a prompt email confirmation. So far, so good. The person at the front desk was very kind and helpful to my mother who arrived at the resort a few hours before my wife and I She let her into the room even though I had not arrived to pay for the reservation in full. I appreciated this since my mother has knee problems and needed to rest after a long drive. When my wife and I arrived our check-in was flawless. I paid the remaining balance and received my room key, towel card, and pool bands.

Upon entering the room I changed clothes and walked out of the bedroom into the main living room area. I stepped into a very wet puddle of water in front of the bathroom and the kitchenette sink. I noticed water dripping from the ceiling. The carpet was soaked from the main living room to the back bedroom. I called the front desk and they dispatched maintenance technicians, Lucky and Flash, within about 15 minutes. Lucky and Flash were very professional and displayed empathy for our situation. They brought up a wet/dry vac and tried to remove as much water from the carpet as possible. They also brought a commercial grade blower fan to increase the rate of evaporation from the carpet. They removed a few ceiling tiles and, as I expected, the problem was caused by condensation from the air conditioning. The beachfront units have a separate air conditioning system from the rest of the property. These units are in the ceiling and have no ventilation, a must for these type of systems. The lack of ventilation causes an abundance of condensation which winds up leaking on the ceiling. In this case through the acoustic ceiling tiles and down the wall onto the carpet. Even though Lucky and Flash did the best they could the carpet remained saturated throughout our stay. There were no other comparable rooms available until Saturday night, the last night of our three night stay per Sarah at the front desk. Our immediate concern was mold. All that is needed for mold is moisture and heat; two things there are plenty of near the ocean in the summer. The commercial blower fan was very loud, so we could only run it when we were not in the room. We had to make sure we wore shoes or flip flops in the room because of the fear of mold growing on/in the carpet from all the stagnant water.

While the soaked carpet was a major problem, I do understand that things happen. The reason I rated this stay poor instead of average was how the El Coronado's management responded to the problem. We thought it was a reasonable request to refund one night's stay. The manager on duty only authorized 10% of the daily rate and the next morning, Sarah authorized an additional 10% for a total of 20% off the daily rate. Sarah stated that the property was a condo and this was all they were authorized to refund regardless of what the problem was. While that may be the El Coronado's policy, it is completely unacceptable. We would have left the evening we checked in but finding a vacancy on July 4th weekend in Wildwood is near impossible.

Just because our room experience was bad does not mean everything was bad. As I wrote earlier, the staff was pleasant and professional. The pool area was clean and a lot of fun. Wildwood Crest beaches are magnificent.

Additional comments:

On the last night of our stay I noticed that were was blood on the fitted sheet. This was not my blood. It grossed me out, but considering it was our last night, we made due.

The resort needs a lot of TLC. The metal railings on the balconies are all peeling from worn off paint. It makes the resort look less than what the brochure and website promote.

When I checked out Paula (I believe that is her name) apologized for our negative experience. Her apology was sincere which I appreciated. She asked me if I would reconsider and try the El Coronado in the future. Based on what I consider to me a less than acceptable reimbursement by management I told her that we will not be returning.

Summary:

You can do worse than the El Coronado. I strongly suggest you inspect the room before you pay the balance due and do not be lured in by the impressive website or brochure. The resort is not as nice as the El Coronado's marketing efforts try to portray.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before paying the remaining balance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BoomerMD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
I was sorry to read my property did not meet your expectations. Although unit-issues do occur in our busy resort, it is important my staff address guest concerns quickly and courteously. Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a last minute add on to our weekend. The pool area was very nice. Great to be able to order lunch and have it served poolside. Rooms were very clean. We were in a AAA room. Very spacious and perfect for our family of 4. Would be nice if there were more tables in the shade for eating lunch, etc. We were unable to secure a table for lunch.

Staff was very friendly. Nice that if you get there before check in you can use pool, etc while waiting for room to be ready.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to hosting your next Wildwoods getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

My family and I book a stay for several nights. I left 2 days earlier than I had planned to, while some members of my family stayed. Things started off poorly from the moment we waked into the room. The floor was soaking wet due to a pipe break or poor drainage from the air conditioner....depends on who you ask. There was a large, nosey shop-vac fan running to dry the carpet out when we arrived. The carpeting throughout most of the room was wet for 2 days. When we asked to be moved we were told there were no other rooms were available. We decided grin and bear and try to make the best of the situation, without allowing the wet carpet to dampen our vacation. To the managements credit, they did offer to give us a 10% discount on the room. The morning after our arrival I got up early (5:30 AM) to take advantage of the peace and quite. I went to grab a shower and nothing but cold water ran from the shower. I let the water run for 15 minutes and it was still freezing. I had to resort to taking a very fast cold shower. I registered a complaint with the front desk and a maintenance man was sent to the room. He played with the faucets for 20 minutes. Finally at 8:30 we got some warm water. The toilet in the room backed up shortly thereafter. I had to make a trip down to the front desk to get a plunger and unclogged the toilet myself. It just seemed that it was one thing after another and it really started to put a damper on our vacation. The second night our room was freezing. The sign on the thermostat said now to lower the temperature below 69, so we did not, but for some reason the AC continued to run all night. We called down for extra blankets and again I had to walk from the back of the resort to the front desk to grabs some blankets. Again, to the managements credit they did offer to take additional 10% off of our stay. for a total of 20%. However, I didn't think 20% covered the inconvenience. The friendliness is a toss-up. I felt that the maintenance and housekeeping staff were very friendly and as accommodating as the could be. For the most part the staff at the front desk were friendly and also tried to be accommodating, with the exception of one gentleman who worked in the late evening. The barbecue area in the very late evening to early morning hours was very nosey, with folks partying and talking loudly right under our balcony. Overall, I was a bit disappointed with my stay and decided to leave early. I am not likely to return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with friends. The location is perfect, right on the beach and not too far from restaurants and whatnot. The rooms are somewhat outdated but they were clean. Nice balcony with a view of the beach, we actually saw dolphins swimming from our room. The price is fair for what they offer.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucemo123, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you, Steve...I'm glad your enjoyed our resort and look forward to hosting you again when in the Wildwoods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Coronado Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coronado Resort

Property: El Coronado Resort
Address: 8501 Atlantic Ave, at East Preston Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3515
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Coronado Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coronado Resort is a beachfront full-service condominium hotel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest just minutes from fine restaurants, nightlife, the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk and just a short drive to Cape May and Atlantic City. With a variety of accommodations from guest rooms to spacious 1, 2, 3 bedroom suites, El Coronado can meet your vacation needs. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from your balcony or relax on our beachfront sundeck. El Coronado offers free poolside barbeques and live entertainment in season for your enjoyment along with many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your El Coronado Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coronado Hotel Wildwood Crest
El Coronado Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing