We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was not the greatest place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Colony Resort Motel
Reviewed 18 September 2007

lola is a very nice lady but its time to clean the rugs.
it is great that it was pet friendly but tired of these places
with a fee per night per dog . take a deposit and then if no problems give it back. there is no way these rugs were cleaned with the extra money they get.
also we arrived at 4 pm and there was a note on door be back at 5

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank gvolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2007

We just returned from a week stay at the Beach Colony Motel. After reading some other reviews I was nervous about staying there but it was one of the few pet friendly hotels in Wildwood Crest. However, I found this hotel to be much better than I had expected. The motel looks much nicer than the pictures from the website. The hotel is smaller than many others in the crest and is not as modern. For example there is no internet access and the furnishings are not new. However the rooms, pool and grounds are very clean and comfortable. There is a large pool with a slide that I saw being cleaned each morning. There are trees and flowers surrounding the pool area. There are many lounge chairs, picnic tables, and gas grills for guest use. Our air conditioner, tv, and bed linens looked brand new. We had a clean full size refrig., microwave, and a small kitchen area that was fully equipped. Our room was kept very clean. Our room was one of the few without carpet so the floor was always very clean. The hotel is not ocean front, but the beach is just steps away with no streets to cross. It is in a quiet part of the crest, but the trolley to the boardwalk stops right outside. Lola and her staff were very friendly and made you feel at home here. All of the other guests were either couples or families- no loud college parties happening here. All of the guests were very friendly and all seemed to enjoy their stay- some with pets and others without pets. Although there were many dogs here you never heard loud barking or any other noise. This is really a great hotel for the price. I have stayed at numerous hotels throughout Wildwood, including many of the larger most expensive hotels. While they may have a few more amenities,they are often very loud and crowded. We had one of the best vacations I have ever had in Wildwood at the Beach Colony and I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beachbumsnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We stayed for 2 weeks and it was wonderful.We went to Beach Colony becase she is a pet friendly motel and we have 2 dogs that we take away with us. The owner Lola was very nice and helpful. The pet rooms are without carpet and that was great. We didn't have to worry about picking up anything from another dog in the carpet. We stayed at another pet friendly motel in the Crest and it was by far no as nice as Beach Colony. The room was very,very clean and pool was just as clean all the time we were their.There was a man cleaning it every day. The location is great. It is right next to the beach. Our kids loved the water slide and the pool. At night the tram stope at the corner of the motel. Every thing was perfect. We could not have found a better or cleaner place and be able to have our pets with us also.Our kids were so happy to have our dogs with us. Sitting out at the pool there is music from outside speakers and the property is clean with beautful flowers around. It is perfict!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishladynewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

My family and I stayed at the Beach Colony for the first time and we LOVED it!!!!! My kids could not get enough of the water slide and the pool. We were very close to the beach, not a far walk at all. Lola Jay is very nice and our housekeeper was very friendly as well. We were very comfortable at this resort and will definitly be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
North Jersey
15
Reviewed 30 March 2005

I had made two reservations in 2003, one at the Beach Colony and one across the street @ The Casa Nova Hotel. Thank God at the last minute I chose The Casa Nova! When I saw The Beach Colony up close I was lol butt off. The laundry room presented in the brochure was one broken down washing machine and one dryer in a dingy little room. The pool ^ grounds were gross. It is NOT on the BEACH as claimed on the website & brochure. No phone in the rooms, I asked a person who had the misfortune of staying there and regreted it too. Anyway The Casa Nova (knocked down for condo's) was really cute & clean unlike the Beach Colony.....that was a close call.....lol
Do NOT stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2004

Our family recently stayed for the weekend. The hotel was very clean. And was nicely done in a "retro" style. The pool was nice and the kiddie side was separate from the larger side. Something our 9 year old really liked.It has a slide and diving board. It was nice to have a full size fridge and microwave in the room for quick snacks. As we were mostly in our room to sleep, the absence of a land phone didn't matter,rather nice, and family has our cell numbers for emergency. No loud "neighbors". We were there to enjoy the beach and we DID. A short walk to the sand and BAM there you were.And I mean SHORT. Lola was very nice and I would and have recommended this establishment to others. We stayed at a location 1 block away last time and had mold, smells and no water for half the weekend.YUK. The Beach Colony is a nice motel, it's worth the drive and the price.

3  Thank Phatbotum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Edison, NJ
14
Reviewed 6 July 2004

Terrible, and disgusting!
1. There was no phone.
2. This was not on the beach as advertised. The Swan Motel behind it, is on the beach.
2. The pool was very green.
3. The hand rails on the stair well were sticky.
4. The sheets were not changed from one day to the next!!!!
5. The fridge was dirty.
6. Plastic cups in the bathroom were not individually wrapped.
7. $400.00 dollars for a 2 nice stay. Not worth it.
8. However Lola was very friendly.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.9 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#11 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#33 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#17 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort Motel

Address: 500 E Stockton Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3847
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed, Large heated pool with slide, Beach block with no streets to cross,Two bedroom units with kitchens, All units are supplied with a coffee maker, microwave and a refrigerator, Free wireless internet, Tile floors every room, Minutes to Cape May, Trolley stop to boardwalk and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beach Colony Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Wildwood Crest
Beach Colony Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing