We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Blast at "The Gondolier"”
Review of Gondolier Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gondolier Motel
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2006

We just got home from a wonderful 5 day, 4 night stay at the Gondolier Motel in Wildwood Crest. We miss it already.
We were right on the ocean and a quick walk from the boardwalk. The motel isn't fancy, but it is CLEAN and everyone who works there, from the front office to the pool man to the always smiling housekeepers, made it the most enjoyable and relaxing vacation we could have wanted. The weather helped, too!
Our room had a living room with a TV, a full size refrigerator, a microwave oven and coffee maker along with a couch/pullout bed and table/chairs. The bedroom had 2 double beds and another TV. The housekeepers kept us stocked with plenty of towels, which doesn't seem like a big deal, but believe me, with a wife and 3 girls IT WAS HUGE!
The pool was fun, especially for the kids, as it had a deep end with a diving board. Not all the motels have pools with diving boards. And there were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrella tables all around the pool.
They also had 2 big grills at poolside, where we had our own little bar-b-que one night, which was a great touch....they don't let you do that, at those big, fancy hotels.
At night after spending the day at the beach or poolside, if the kids didn't get down to the boardwalk, they just went down the walkway to Gondolier's own game room.
and to keep the really efficient mothers happy there is a laundry room!
The only gripe the kids had, was that the pool closes at 8pm...they probably would have swam and dove all night long, but I guess some people like to get to sleep early so they can hit the beautiful beaches early or get in a bike ride before it gets too hot.....
Anyway, if you are looking for a nice, clean, fun place for a reasonable price ( we paid around 240 a night for 5 people), I HIGHLY recommend The Gondolier.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucefan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Gondolier Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2006

The Gondolier Motel in Wildwood Crest is simply the BEST! The staff is so friendly and helpful...our housekeeper, Lisa, was outstanding. The rooms were so clean..the entire premises were clean. The beds were SO comfortable...the first time I didn't return home with a sore back! It's just a fantastic motel...I would definately recommend it to anyone looking for a place to vacation in Wildwood Crest! It's truly a FIVE STAR place!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhiannon2luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2006

My family and I stayed at the Gondolier in June 04 and everything was perfect. The rooms were spotless and the staff could not do enough for us. This was our first experience of an American hotel and we were very impressed. The kids loved the pool and the location was perfect. All in all I would highly recomend staying at the Gondlier.Thanks to everybody for a wonderful holiday.Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owen040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2005

My family and I stayed at the Gondelier Hotel over the Labor Day weekend. It was my first time there. We loved it. The view was awesome, the rooms were clean and the service was excellent. The location to the boardwalk & beach was the best of all. I would like to make this my new family vacation spot. Also it was child friendly for my 4 & 2 year old.:) See ya next summer!

6  Thank whitelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2005

Just got back from a four day stay at the Gondolier. It is a typical concrete Wildwood hotel, therefore you access your room via the common exterior balconies. Altough it is a bit dated it is very clean and well maintained. The location is great, right on the beach and a few blocks from the boardwalk. The staff was very friendly. If you realize what a beach motel here is all about (you are paying for the location)you will be happy at the Gondolier.

6  Thank rkstjarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

We just came back from a 5 days vacation in Wildwood. We had a wonderful time over there. We stayed at The Gondolier in Wildwood Crest. Like all motels in Wildwood, it's a little bit old. We cannot compare with other motels but The Gondolier has nice and very clean rooms. The pool is big enough and there is a game room with a pool table. Yes, it is expensive for the type of rooms available but since they are open only a few months during the year...

The boardwalk and excellent restaurants (yes... really!) are at a walking distance from the motel and the beach is right there... if you plan your meals, many restaurants offers a special menu with reduced prices meals between 4 and 5 pm... it is worth the try... I had pasta with shrimps for less than 10$.

one thing's for sure... we are going back next year!

4  Thank Christy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2005

A REAL REVIEW...

First, I'd like to say that I've been to the Wildwoods at least 50 times in the last 30 years, and I've stayed at, at least 30 different places. My favorite place of them all (of the one's that I've tried), is the Port Royal. I only stayed at the Gondolier because I couldn't get reservations at the Port Royal and because of it's high rating here. I've seen it before in my travels and never thought much of it's looks, but sometimes, you can't judge a book by it's cover.

I booked an Ocean-front 2-room suite w/kitchen, at $265. per night with taxes... rather steep for a "glorified" Motel, but I don't have a problem paying for quality. Upon seeing the building, it was as I remembered it to be, a typical 1960's, stucco, 3 1/2 story motel. Walkby terraces, front entry, with pool on the side. As I entered the grounds I noticed they were very small, with everything squeezed-in together. The pool was clean, but crowded. The 2 gas-grills were 3 ft. from the high-end of the pool, constantly getting splashed from divers (making it next to impossible for anyone to barbeque). As I squeezed passed other guests sitting in front of their poolside rooms (very narrow porches), I turned at the end to my "ocean-front" room on the 2nd floor. I was somewhat disappointed because the oceanview was blocked by foilage in the dunes , which sprouted about 20' high. I could only see the beach or ocean if I looked to the left, or right, or jumped 3 feet in the air. There was also a bike and pedestrian path, as well as a street right off the porch which reduced the privacy and decreased the peace at night. This porch too, was also extremely narrow and difficult to pass by.

Upon entering the front room, again, disappointment. Old, ugly 20 y.o. wallpaper, poor furniture configuration (impossible to watch T.V., while in bed) and a musty smell. The old wall A/C unit was extemely loud, but cold. I did notice however, a Wildwood rarity...new carpeting. The second room was separated by a wooden sliding door... again the musty smell and a loud A/C unit. To the right was the so-called kitchen... tiny everything. It was similar to what you'd find in a small trailer. No counter-space at all, 2 burner stove and a tiny sink. The fridge however was full-sized. The vinyl floor was ripped. Next, the small bathroom... just big enough to take care of business, clean, except for the big complaint... a filthy, disgusting, corroded showerhead (shame on them).

For this kind of money, albeit prime-season, one would expect lodging at a higher quality than this. There is no way that this motel should be rated #2 in Wildwood Crest. Out of the 30 places I've stayed at, this falls in the middle. Folks... this is your average, run-of-the mill, 1960's Wildwood motel. It has the same smells, stains, cracks, etc. that anyone, who has ever stayed anywhere in Wildwood would be accustomed to. The Gondolier is nothing special. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad place, but if it wasn't where it is, it would be a $50. a night motel. If you can find another Motel, in a similar location and get a better deal... take it. You may be a bit disappointed there too, but at least you got what you payed for. I don't feel that I did. My recommendation (if you can get a room), would be the Port Royal... you may have to book now for next year. For those that plan to stay a full week, you're much better off renting a Condo. Wildwood is now full of brand new "Townhouse" type Condo's... many with "For Rent" signs in the window. A week in the Gondolier for my room would run you about $1800., get another family and rent one of those new Condo's and you'll have much more room, be in a cleaner and newer environment, have privacy and maybe even save a few bucks.

This review was the absolute, honest truth... I hope it helps.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
54  Thank cigbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Safari Motel
American Safari Motel
#26 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#19 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Attache Resort Motel
Attache Resort Motel
#22 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#15 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondolier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondolier Motel

Address: 5701 Ocean Ave, On the Beach at Lavender Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4353
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#23 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £77 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gondolier Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the beach and just 3 short blocks to the Boardwalk. Bike rentals, a park, basketball courts and restaurants are only steps away. The Gondolier features one, two and three room suites and kitchens. Perfect for a family vacation. Spring and fall packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Gondolier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondolier Motel Wildwood Crest
Gondolier Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing