We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront at a great price”
Review of Nassau Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nassau Inn
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oceanfront at a great price”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We are here as I type this review, it's late September and we are enjoying the most beautiful fall weather, full sun and in the 70's. Frankly from reading some of the other guest reviews I was worried about this place. I don't understand what all the negativity is about. When you come to the Wildwoods you will not see 5 star hotels, no Hilton's, Sheraton or even Hampton Inns. These towns are stuck in a time warp and it's not going to change any time soon. Most of these hotels are dated and in desparate need of upgrading. That being said, this is what makes the Wildwoods so charming and affordable. The Nassau inn is right on the ocean. This is why we booked a room here, the location. Direct access to the beach with a balcony to relax on. The beds aren't too comfortable and the bathroom is small and outdated, but it's clean and the staff is nice. The pool is heated to 85 with an 8 Ft deep end, awesome! They have laundry facilities on site, coffee makers in rooms, the efficiency had a full sized fridge and microwave, and a 2 burner range. We got a package deal which included 2 breakfasts and one dinner for two. We will return again to stay at the Nassau Inn.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank psmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    49
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This is our usual stay when we come to Wildwood. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, rates are reasonable, and it's right on the beach. Nothing fancy, but if you're looking for a good-valued clean hotel you might want to try this one. Only downside this time around was that our air conditioning unit in the room reminded us of the furnace in "A Christmas Story;" it sounded very unhealthy and seemed to have a mind of its own.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach_Lovers91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palmetto Point, Eleuthera
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When you go to Wildwood you need to have realistic expectations.
You are not going to find a pristine hotel but character you can find and nice people you can also find.
This is one of those retro motels like so many of them in Wildwood Crest across from the beach with a concrete sun deck, pool next to the parking lot with communal grills, kids, families...

We liked the Nassau because for Wildwood standards it was clean. The people were really nice.
When we arrived the bathtub was dirty after I told them at the front desk (they were visibly disturbed to hear this) they sent someone right away to clean it and to repair our kitchen faucet.
The location is great and it is a perfect place for your Wildwood stay.

Room Tip: We had the private balcony facing beach front. Specify you want beach front.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have stayed at the Nassau Inn many many times over the years and keep coming back. Each of the rooms has an ocean view and is not too far from the boardwalk.

Our room had a bedroom with two double beds, an a/c and a tv. The kitchen area had a two-burner stove, sink, refrigerator and microwave. The living room area had a sofa bed and tv along with table and chairs. All very clean - the bathroom in our unit looked relatively new.

Yes, a few reviews state that it's "tired", but really, we are NOT at home and we are NOT at a hotel charging $421 a night. The management team keep the place clean and well maintained. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the a/c worked just fine. Each unit is privately owned but rented out.

The front office is extremely friendly and more than happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible and respond quickly if called.

Oh yes, they have an elevator so you don't have to worry about carrying your luggage up and down five floors (should you be lucky enough to get a room up there - we were on the 2nd floor and just as happy).

They have offstreet parking and two beautiful gas grills near the pool that you can use.

I highly recommend this location is you want to be away from the noise but close enough to the boardwalk so that you don't have to pay the horrific $25 for parking that they were charging in the lots on Friday night.

Room Tip: i really think any room is a good room. However, if you don't have children, you might want som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneMcDUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Nassau Inn because we made a last minute decision to go to Wildwood Crest this year. For many years, we have stayed at another local motel. We thought that the Nassau Inn needed upgrading. It's obvious that it has a busy and noisy clientele but the rooms were less than average. On the other hand, The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryPat105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binghamton ny
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My family had stayed at the Nassau Inn for many years when my children were younger. We always found the hotel to be very clean; conveniently close to the beach; and, the staff to be helpful and courteous. After not going to the Jersey Shore since 2009, my youngest son and I made a last second decision to spend 4 days at the beach before he returned to college. The Nassau Inn had a room available and we reserved it. After not being there for several years, we found the motel to be basically the same. Still clean; conveniently located and the staff still helpful. While that was positive, it did also point out that the rooms could use some upgrading and modernization. The Nassau Inn remains a very family friendly motel that should meet the needs of families looking for a beach vacation at the Shore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creagh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My extended family has been staying at this property for many years and we typically occupy 5 rooms which range from $220.00 - $325.00 per night. Overall, the motel is clean, the staff is friendly and the location is exceptional. However, many of the rooms are in need of upgrades. More specifically, a few of our rooms have tube televisions and outdated furnishings. The mattresses are very uncomfortable. Especially the pull-out sofa mattress which you can feel the springs coming through.

The maids are all very friendly and do a decent job.

We were disappointed with the resolution of maintenance issues. The light in bathroom would constantly flicker and go out for a few moments at a time. The woman working the front desk in the evening's best remedy was to have my 72 year old father come to the office and pick up a replacement bulb (which he did) and change the bulb himself. This did not solve the problem.

There is no central air conditioning in any of the rooms. The rooms are cooled by window units located in the bedrooms. The living room is typically 20 degrees warmer than the bedrooms.

This motel does a great job maintaining the pool and the water is heated.

Parking at the motel is a bit of a hassle as the spaces are very narrow

If you are looking for a family-orientated motel on the beach that is clean and within walking distance to the boardwalk, this is a good choice. If you are new to visiting Wildwood please understand the rooms are very expensive compared to the amenities.

Room Tip: There are 5 floors to this motel. The upper floors closest to the ocean offer the best views and les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divot316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Plaza Motel
Bristol Plaza Motel
#51 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nassau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Inn

Property: Nassau Inn
Address: 6201 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4109
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch some spectacular sunrises!!! All of our rooms have a thrilling view of the ocean and beach. Also catch the in-season Friday night beach fireworks right from our sundeck! Choose from spacious, beautifully decorated one-room suites, two-room efficiencies or two-bedroom efficiency apartments. All efficiencies have full sized refrigerators and motel rooms have a beverage refrigerator. Each soundproof and fireproof room offers air conditioning and heat, direct dial phone and color TV, suites have two TVs. Amenities include laundry facilities, elevator, BBQ, game-room, free off-street parking, golf nearby and tennis courts adjacent. Coffee shops and restaurants are just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nassau Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Hotel Wildwood Crest
Nassau Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing