We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”
Review of Jolly Roger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jolly Roger Motel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I called around Wildwood Crest on short notice to see if there were any vacancies for the weekend. Having stayed at the 'Roger several times as an adult, and for many years during my childhood, we were please that they had a room available.

Our Pool-view Efficiency room was exceptionally clean, had ample supplies of towels, pillows, sheets, dish soap and a dishrag. Upon entering, it was obvious that the carpets also had recently been professionally cleaned (wife is in the carpet cleaning business and recognized this). Staff was very professional and helpful and both the lobby and property seemed clean and well maintained. Maid service was excellent and we saw a groundskeeper sweeping up in the parking lot and corridors.

Much like other "Motor Inns" in Wildwood Crest, the decor (color scheme, bathroom design, etc.) at the 'Roger is dated (think 1970's esque). Unless you are planning to spend large amounts of money staying at the big hotel across the street, this is the standard for the typical Wildwood Crest Motel. This can be very difficult for out of state travelers to understand as they are not as familiar with the area as those of us from New Jersey and neighboring states. Part of the allure of Wildwood Crest are these older motels and while the 'Roger may appear as if it's from another era, it is both well maintained, very cleaned and courteously staffed which is why we are repeat visitors.

The only real issue (as it has always been) is the placement of the air conditioning units, which seem to blow directly at the bed. If there is any way that the Management could fix this problem, it would be great.

All in all, great stay at the Jolly Roger and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Poolview are our favorite style of room, very convenient. Landview rooms also have a nice view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SvPistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    124
    34
    24
    32
See reviews for
261
67
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

After a long night of drive, we were exhausted and hoping to lay down on the beach and wait for check in time. Bad weather made us change our plan and we took a chance to see if we could check in early, we received a very cordial welcome by courteous people. Room was clean, pool was clean, close to beach and we enjoyed the familly spirit of the place. Our vacations were perfect and we owe them a lot for it. Is the place perfect ? Of course, not ! I prefer first class service than any 5 stars scornful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtlcasinoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

have been going to this motel for over 30 years with entire family. this yr we booked 10 rooms. great staff, clean but slightly old fashioned rooms. Has one of the largest pools with a lifeguard on duty at all times and a kiddie pool. Across the street from the beach, outdoor grills with eating areas and fully equipped kitchen in efficiencies. Great family place. If you're looking for luxury don't stay here but with children best place to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amm414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The price is too high for what you actually get. Could not even take a nice shower because the shower wasn't working. My daughter found an empty can of sprite underneath the bed. The sink and toilet weren't as cleaned. No wifi signal from our room either. I do have to say that the pool area is really nice and they have gas grills conveniently located in the pool area. Although all staff was really nice and professional, the place needs major renovation and I wouldn't recommend it or spend my money here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitoandVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just got back from our yearly trip to the Crest (June 26th-30th) and we always stay at the Jolly Roger. People please know this is a Motel not a 5 star Hotel and is great for the price although we did notice that there was a large price jump in the packages this year. We love the staff and this year and Mike you made our vacation the best in years "We will be coming back" Great pool, the room is dated but just part of the Jolly Roger charm. Rooms are always cleaned well and staff is friendly. For our family this is the best MOTEL on the Crest we know what we will be getting and are fine with the old room and bathroom as long as there clean which they always are...Can't wait until next year!! Thanks again MIKE!!!
A loyal customer....Nick

Room Tip: No elevator so if you can't carry your things up 3 flights get a room on the first floor>
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planman08850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This motel is just the perfect place to stay with kids if you have a budget and want to make sure you still have money to do all the activities. The rooms are spacious with kitchen. Very very clean and the staff is always present. The journalist that spent 4 days with her family was very happy of this place. the pool is clean and convenient. A full kitchen so they could cook breafast anmd dinner if they felt like it.
A place ti go!

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famillesabord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a night here June 2012 (45 and 52yrs old), nice place to stay, courteous staff, very accommodating , nice clean pool, rooms were clean and fresh. Would defiantly stay here again!!!

Angelo & Kim

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.7 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#35 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Inn
Lotus Inn
#14 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Motel

Property: Jolly Roger Motel
Address: 6805 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3901
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#36 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jolly Roger Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jolly Roger is a classic Wildwood Crest family motel. One block to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Jolly Roger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing