We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in wildwood crest”
Review of Jolly Roger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jolly Roger Motel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 2 August 2014

When we booked our 3 night stay at The Jolly Roger I was expecting a clean friendly motel on the jersey shore will a few amenities but nothing fancy. That is exactly what we got at this motel. Yes the rooms are outdated and the lobby is straight out of the 80's complete with the wicker furniture. However the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The pool was a hit with the kids and we spent as much time there as the beach. Couple things I wish were different: beds were very uncomfortable and stiff, parking spaces are narrow and difficult to get gear out, decor of the hotel could use a facelift (we stopped at park lane motel down the road and it was much nicer). Overall it is an average stay that met our basic needs. Next time we will try another spot and see how that compares.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBGE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Jolly Roger Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The new owners did above and beyond on making our 4th year wonderful. The BEST pool in the Crest, and having a family owned resort that is from the area is such an edge. We will be back next year and look forward to a flawless stay at the Jolly Roger!!

Room Tip: We love the 1st floor pool view for easy access to the barbecue area and new cafe!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Vera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After going to the Jolly Roger every July for more than 3 decades, our large group was extremely nervous about the new ownership. It turns out - we had been mistreated for the last 30 years. Cindy, Joe, and Vince - even the cleaning crew - were extremely friendly and accommodating for the entire duration of our trip. We see that upgrades are gradually being made, and look forward to returning in less than a year. It'll be great to have a coffee shop again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InOneEar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Jolly Roger for two nites as a mini-vacation getaway in Wildwood. The motel is extremely dated and needs much updating. Be prepared for plumbing issues, clogged drains and fluctuating water temperatures. The first nite we were there, the ice machine was out of serivice and the management was aware. Still no ice.... This hotel is run by a family so dont be supprised when a small child answers the front desk when you call. Bed was smaller than most, stated it was queen and felt like a full..? Could have done without the narrow staircase to carry all my bag up to get to my room...no elevator. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Jolly Roger last week. We found the new owners, Joe & Vince, to be extremely friendly and accommodating. We had 2 rooms and they made sure we were together. They gave great restaurant recommendations for breakfast & dinner (even called one restaurant so they had a table for us). We had great conversations with them as they were very personable. The pool was large and the kids had a blast after the beach, especially since there was no chlorine to irritate their eyes. Sure the rooms are outdated but it is a shore hotel and that is to be expected. It is kept very clean and that is what matters to us. The room was cleaned as soon as we left for breakfast so when we returned we had fresh towels. Very quick to give us extra towels as well when needed. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wow!!!! I love the new owners. The new energy flowing from the hotel is breath taking. I have been staying at the Jolly Roger for 20 years and this was the first year it felt like home. I was 13 my first time there and as a child it was missing something in my opinion. The hotel was always inviting but the staff never were. As a child and till last year the staff made you feel unwelcome. We were just dollar signs to them. Now with the new owners a sense of family is now there. The hotel is in the process of remodeling the cafe into a small diner during the day and a coffee bar at night. I love it. All the rooms have new shower heads and if you stayed there in the past you know the old shower heads sucked. Due to the late purchase of the hotel the owners were only able to get some of the rooms flat screen TVs. By next year all rooms should have them. I love it. The rooms feel more clean and the maids actually want to be there. I left my portable DVD player behind by mistake and the maids returned it to the office and I was informed of my forgetfulness. The pool area is one of the biggest in wildwood crest and now it is salt water. I love it.
Can't wait to visit again.

Doug (Candlesmoker lol)

Room Tip: Tennis view is the best. It is quiet when you want and if you want excitement then just walk to the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank candlesmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here for 1 night as part of our vacation. We got an amazing rate on Groupon. The staff was very friendly. The room was a bit larger then others we have stayed in while in Wildwood. Had 2 double beds and fridge. there was a small balcony with 2 chairs & table. the kids really enjoyed this. The hotel is 12 blocks from the boardwalk and 1 block from the amazing crest beach. They have a great walkway out to the water. One concern is the room stays fairly lit most of the night. The door leading out to the balcony is fogged glass but lets in quite a bit of light. We hung a blanket in front of it to help with sleep. There is an ice cream place 6 blocks away. The pool is beautiful, We enjoyed this hotel & would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trajon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.7 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,062 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#17 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#15 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#31 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Inn
Lotus Inn
#14 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Motel

Address: 6805 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3901
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#36 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £52 - £877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jolly Roger Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jolly Roger is a classic Wildwood Crest family motel. One block to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jolly Roger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing