We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price, beware of front desk lady”
Review of Monterey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Resort
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Just came back from a 3 night stay here and we had 2 rooms for 12 people. The price you pay for being right on the beach is very good. Then again, for the price you pay you may also need to put up with the cranky woman at the front desk. I read the previous reviews and brushed them off, but she berated me in front of my family within an hour of our arrival. Still don't know why, on the phone I said we had 11 people and one extra came at the last minute so we had 6 for each room which is allowed (6 adults & 6 children). I think she thought were were trying to get more than 12 in the rooms, but there was no excuse for her behavior and extreme unprofessionalism. She then proceeded to yell at another family the same time she was yelling at me. I then witnessed her tirade on yet another family on day 2. Kind of makes you wonder, if she is screaming at so many people, who is the real problem? Regarding the rooms- We found that our feet were getting black from walking on tile floor in the room so had to wear out flip flops in the room. The other room had carpet and was wet from the time we got there. Rooms are small, but get the job done. Showers are like previous reviews- water gets hot, cold, hot, cold, etc. Again, the location is great and it was nice to be right on the beach. The psychopath front desk lady didn't ruin our vacation and didn't bother us again after the incident on the first day and we did have a wonderful family vacation. Not sure if I would stay here again and I do think the cheaper price reflects the potential abuse you may take from the front desk lady.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

I have always hated staying in the motels in Wildwood and the Crest because they have always been dumpy. This was a nice change. It's not the Hyatt Regency or anything, but it definitely was an improvement over other places. We had room 106 and it was newly remodeled and for the most part clean. It had plenty of room and the location is great. - right at the beach, plus the walk down to the water is nothing like it is down in Wildwood.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The day before I arrived at the Monterey Resort, i call just to make sure my reservation was ok,and the pool schedule . but the reception I received over the phone was very rude. I was told I did not explained myself properly. on my arrival, at the point of checking in, the person at the office was yelling at another family that was also checking in. I was shocked of the way she spoke to them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseygirl25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My expectations were not high for this stay, I have been to some of the NJ shore places and they are usually old, run down, depressing and expensive. I travel a lot for work and have become used to something a little nicer, but this was all I could find on short notice so we went.

I am happy to say that I was very pleasantly surprised, the location is as good as it gets, right on the beach (a really nice and clean beach). The pool is sparkling clean and the room was bigger than I thought, and they change the towels and make the beds daily. The shared barbecue area is of reasonable quality and is close to the pool, overlooking the ocean. The unit we were in could probably use a little updating but it was clean and our cleaning person Becky was friendly and very helpful, and she did a really nice job cleaning every day at a time that suited our schedule. It had a full fridge, range with an oven and a microwave - and a beautiful view of the ocean. These units are individually owned and there may be others that are more updated than the one we had. But then again, who knows… I guess this is a bit of gamble. However, many of the doors on our floor were often open and they all looked more or less the same to me.

Our air conditioned room easily accommodated 6 people (teenagers and up in age) and was very comfortable. I will go there again with my family.

The person at the front desk was a little unfriendly and intimidating when we arrived, but she was OK later. Not overly friendly but professional enough, maybe she just had a bad day… The only negative I can think of is that you have to be careful in the shower, it can go from nice and warm to cold to very hot in a few seconds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

although the location is great, that is where the perks of this hotel stop. the staff was rude i never saw them smile once. payment is required before they even let you into the room, something i've never heard of in all my travel, also something they did not tell us before we arrived. they give you a list of rules two pages long. and they are watching to make sure you are obeying them. we had seven people staying in a 2 bedroom condo, all family members, and the lady at the desk advised us that our room was disgusting and before we went to the beach we had to make sure the room was cleaner for the maid.....FOR THE MAID!! besides the fact that our clothes were hanging out of our unpacked bags the room was perfectly clean for the cleaning staff. But apparently there maids are special maids that don't have to clean. also the manager took it upon herself to repermand my 10 year old brother, who was so worried about messing up the hotel room he tried to take his bathing suit off outside the door of our hotel room under his towel and accidently flashed his butt in the courtyard. she screamed at my little brother across the court yard infront of all the guests and embarassed him. The people who run this place need to be retrained in hospitality. We will never ever be renting here again. NOT WORTH THE MONEY! stay at one of the other 50 hotels on the shore if you want to enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jaykayay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We booked our trip 2 day before. I was expecting a dirty smelly place for a 2 stars motel, but actually I was surprise of the cleanest of the place. It needs work and the units are a little dated, but the place was REALLY clean, the rooms did not smell and the pool was also very clean. Nothing fancy but I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hola12353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This place is right on the beach! nothing could be closer. There is a great pizza place right next door ( you make a left at the sand). Monterey has a pool, bbq and outdoor shower to wash the sand off. The price is the lowest you can get for beachfront rooms. The new manager is really nice. I got room 315 which is the best room because it is furthest from the pool and noise on the third floor, no one walks by because it is and end unit and i am a light sleeper. Plus you can see the ocean right from the door. Also great AC in this unit and hbo in both room. I will stay in that room again if i can. bring your own booze because the local prices are high.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kevin028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#36 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#50 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#11 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#57 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca D'or Motel
Conca D'or Motel
#47 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Resort

Address: 410 E Monterey Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £62 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey is located on the beach at the southern end of Wildwood Crest. Rooms have a beautiful beach and ocean view. Two-room efficiencies and 2-bedroom efficiencies are available for rent. Family oriented with heated pool, shuffleboard, ping pong and pool table. Great family specials. Close to many activities such as: boating, miniature golf, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monterey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Wildwood Crest
Monterey Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing