We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Safari Motel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed with our 1 year old for a week, it was great to have a hotel room with two rooms and a bed instead of a pullout in the front room. Our daughter could nap and go to bed early in the back room in her pack n' play but we could move about in the front room and still sleep on a bed instead of a pullout sofa! (did wish it was a queen instead of a full, but still better than a pullout couch, also wished it was on the ground floor because of all the baby gear but we just kept the stroller in the car) Room was very clean! Pool was also clean. Nice to stay at a family owned and operated business where they seemed to truly care... Complimentary coffee/tea/cookies every morning and a bbq with dinner, live music and wine, beer, and soda... Very nice touch and very nice owners/staff. Great location to beach and boardwalk and restaurants (Beach Creek was excellent but higher end pricing, and Bandanas around the block was great Mexican BYOB good prices, my family also loved Little Italy.) Fun to walk north to the action, or peaceful to walk south through the pretty and calmer Crest.

Room Tip: Nice to have a two room hotel room so child could sleep in back and we had front room but still had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank July982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    29
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
82
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed 4 days. Kids loved it there and the "blue pool" for after the beach. Adamo was very helpful recommended a great restaurant for the family. Room was very clean. So close to the beach it was great. Would differently go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed the week of July 4th and cannot wait to go back! My boyfriend and I loved the room as it was very clean and spacious - definitely better than we expected for the great deal we got!
The hotel is conveniently located only two blocks from the beach and the staff was willing to answer any questions we had about area businesses.

Can't wait to plan next year's stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshPrice101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our second year vacationing at the American Safari, and like last year, we had a great experience! Adamo and Jerry work tirelessly to make sure you have a great experience. Cookies and coffee every morning, oldies music by the pool, VERY clean rooms that are maintained by a very polite and courteous staff, location is perfect to beach and boardwalk...etc. We will definitely be back next year and so forth. When we find a good motel we stick with it! See you next year Adamo and Jerry and company!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This place was great. So clean--- which you do not always find down at the shore. Beds, pillows very comfortable. good walking distance to beach and boardwalk. Very friendly staff. Wildwood is quite a drive for us 4hrs down, 5 hours home due to traffic. however if we do decide to go back to Wildwood it would be to stay at The American Safari

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have been staying at the Safari for 15 years. Location is great a block from the ocean. Rooms are clean and bright and have everything you would expect for a motel room. Our unit comes with a small kitchen area that comes with pots pans dishes and utensils. Dish soap sponge and towels so you really don't need to bring much. There are two grills by the pool if you like to grill. There are also alot of places to eat nearby that are within walking distance. Adamo,Jeanette and Adamo jr. have always gone out of their way to makesure that everything you need is available to you. You can also ask them about things to do in the area,they are very knowledgeable and their suggestions have always been spot on. The staff they have working for them. . housekeepers ground crew etc are also extremely friendly and helpful. We also like that they let you stay for as little as three nights or longer if you like. Alot of the motels in the area will only book you if you stay for an entire week, we like it that they are flexible about that. So if you are looking for a nice relaxing couple of days or a week or two by the ocean I would highly recommend this property. They also run the Aztec Motel and the Gondolier. You can stay at one and use the amenities at all three. They also run the Buttercup Suites ...besides the ocean being so close the boardwalk is only a couple of blocks away also. Hope you enjoy your stay with them as much as we do.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drutilio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We really can't say much we basically just slept there. Overall the room was clean, a/c worked well, not happy about not being able to connect my kindle via wifi. Swimming pool is really small, it seemed like everyone knew each other or were related, so we felt like the odd balls.
Other than the above I must say it's location is good... one block from boardwalk/beach. Not bad for the price, staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: My room was located by the laundry room/courtesy bathroom... gets lots of traffic... that's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#20 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Safari Motel

Property: American Safari Motel
Address: 5610 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#26 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — American Safari Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your American Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Safari Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing