We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Safari Motel
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Adam and Jeanette are great people they treat you like family. American Safari is a great place to stay, location is perfect you are 1 block from beach and 2 blocks from boardwalk. Very clean, there staff is very pleasant always available if needed. Affordable. Ravagnan's Bergenfield, NJ

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Small rooms, small pool, small parking spots. No frills amenities such as small thin bath towels, twin beds in our room. The fridge was full size (bit ironic I thought).
Everything was clean. Rooms looked maintained and recently painted. No mold, rust or other signs of age.
The location was good. 2 blocks from boardwalk. Couple of nice restaurants behind the motel; Bandanas and Little Italy.
Overall my family said it was OK, no complaints but would try someplace different if we go back to the Wildwood area.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank boomer448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was our first stay at the American Safari. The staff was wonderful. The room was the cleanest of ALL places we've stayed in the past. Full size refrigerator. The rooms were surprisingly quiet. The maintenance man seemed to be on the grounds ALL THE TIME. That man is a work horse! And very friendly I might add. The desk staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. The cleaning staff did a terrific job. Every time we came in after they cleaned, you could see the difference (even though I am a bit OCD and make sure I clean up after we use anything). The floors were so clean as was the kitchen and bathroom. I was very, very impressed with this little gem! We will most definitely return to the American Safari! Thank you to all that took care of us during our stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel continues to please year after year! It's ALWAYS clean, Adamo and family are really great and accommodating. We stayed in 301, 4 of us, and it was plenty of room. Very quiet, a lot of light, an ocean view and the furniture is nice and new. There's a good sized closet in the bedroom and lots of drawer space. We didn't use the pool (we are beach bums), but it always looked clean and festive. There are lots of chairs, and fun music, palm trees, etc... and usually the wonderful smell of someone grilling on one of the clean grills by the pool. This family owns 3 hotels, so you can use the pools at all 3, which is good if one of the pools is crowded.

The only negatory (not a negatory really for me, but just something to note) wifi has improved this year, but still a little inconsistent probably b/c it's near the ocean and for 3 hotels. Worked better with my laptop than iPad or phone (and yes, I know that you are on vacation....but as an independent contractor - I have to check in on things in case of emergencies....so a hotel with wifi is a plus for me.)

This hotel is really conveniently located, only 2 blocks from the boardwalk and across the street from the beach. Most things are in walking distance - including a bakery, Bandana's Mexican, Little Italy italian, Cone Crazy ice cream, several breakfast places, and some other restaurants. It's a nice walk to the boardwalk, saves you $6-$15 a day of having to park in the boardwalk parking lots (b/c you can walk). Just be warned that it's a typical WW hotel as far as parking - tight spaces, and lots of big SUVs (b/c it's a family hotel). But....Adamo is REALLY accomodating as far as parking and finds a way to make it work.

I'd stay at any hotel this family owns. They are all kept up, clean, smell great, clean bathrooms and well-stocked with plates, silverware, dish liquid, towels, pillows (we had 3 each on the bed), blankets, etc... and there are little touches like free coffee/tea/newspapers in the lobby - and yummy italian cookies! You will not be disappointed or have to be apprehensive when coming here like some other hotels. Trust the good reviews, this hotel is great!

Room Tip: If you have a hard time with stairs, stay on the first floor as there are no elavators...but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cattdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our visit to the American Safari was excellent. Staff were attentive and polite. Our room had been renovated and was very clean and pleasant. The owner Adamo Pipitone was onsite and responsive to questions.

Room Tip: Pool side are the best view towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Walt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a great time at this Motel. Room was clean . Pool great. The Free coffee was a nice touch . The only thing my husband did not like , No queen size bed. 2 full size beds. Me on other hand loved it . Best sleep I've had in years . LOL !!!!!! Will defiantly come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dee6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Another summer has come and gone and another great year staying at the American Safari. It was nice to see all of the people we have met here throughout the past seasons also return and catch up on what has happened this past year. It was great to see the staff again too. Jerry,Rosie and all of the girls who clean our room. They all remember you year after year and we have become a family. That is what is nice about staying here. You become part of their family. Thanks for a great summer and can't wait to return on Memorial Day weekend 2015.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agitator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#14 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#20 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#25 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Attache Resort Motel
Attache Resort Motel
#22 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Scape Inn
Sea Scape Inn
#45 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#17 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Safari Motel

Address: 5610 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#26 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £69 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — American Safari Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your American Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Safari Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing