We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This motel is more than a GREAT place to stay...motel shows the owner's pride in their facility.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Safari Motel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This motel is more than a GREAT place to stay...motel shows the owner's pride in their facility.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

This has been our 4th stay with the owners of this motel. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation from the time we checked in to the time we left. The owner's take sincere pride in making sure their guests have a wonderful vacation. They go above and beyond to make sure everyone is satisifed. The place is always so clean, and well groomed. They are very family oriented and accomodating to your needs. Everyone is very pleasant. While we were there they also hosted an awesome buffet, entertainment, and beverages at no extra cost. Really great...we highly reccommend this motel if you have never stayed anywhere...and trying to make a choice while in the Crest. We look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    29
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
82
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

My Husband, 4 year old and myself just returned from a 4 day stay at the American Safari.I was slightly concerned after reading the wide spectrum of reviews, mostly bad. I am here to report that the news is good. First let me start with if you are expecting Hilton type hotels in Wildwood Crest don't come here. Our experience was great. From the owner who was extremely pleasant to the clean rooms. We had an enjoyable time and would return again. To those who may write false reports based on jealousy, maliciousness etc. SHAME ON YOU!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz070809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

This is the second year in row we have stayed here, the rooms are very clean and well kept. It is a great smaller motel, with nice personal service. I would recommend this motel to someone looking for a place to stay. The owner is very friendly. and provides coffee and cookies in the office in the am. The motel is one short block from the beach and about 4 shoert blocks to the boardwalk, there is a bike rental and small diner/convenience store within walking distance and of course the ice cream parlor across the street for a night cap.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majakey921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysburg PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

From the friendly check-in to the excellent housekeeping services, this place is great. Rooms are adorable and very affordable. The pool and barbecue area are icing on the cake. The location of the motel (close to boardwalk, beach, and great restaurants) make it a one-stop park & walk vacation. We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Visited the motel just past the peak season couple of years ago, it was priced just right and quite enough to kick back with our older parents. Both us and them loved the pool and its design. It was clean and attractive looking, love the palms and chair setup. The room itself was definitely not a 5 star hotel quality but clean and cozy. None of us is really a fan of the beach in Wildwood so we spent more time at the pool. My parents liked it especially. The hotel is right next to the beach, just have to cross the only street and pass the beach hotel to get there, 1 minute walk for most. The boardwalk is about two blocks away north of American Safari, also a very short walk. It is a great location and a great value compared to some of the other overpriced hotel, but we all know the prices at the Jersey shore are ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveNSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

My family and I have been going to this motel for nearly twenty years. It was owned by a great couple for the majority of that time; they took excellent care of the motel and its customers. Then they retired and sold it to new owners. The place has gone steadily down hill ever since. The male receptionist is extremely rude and ignorant. The rooms have gotten progressively dirtier and dirtier. The doors don't lock properly. All of the faucets drip incessantly. Some of the TV's don't work and forget the microwaves. We just came back from the worst weekend we have ever spent in Wildwood thanks to the a-holes running this place. Now they also own the Aztec and the Gondolier. They seem to specialize in buying up motels and running them down. Don't go to this fleabag from hell; there are many nicer motels. After twenty years of coming here, we never will again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelerJim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

When my friend and I arrived, we both agreed that the outside of the hotel looked charming. Once we opened the door to our room, the horrible smell overwhelmed us. It smelled like mold & urine. Thankfully, I brought my own cleaning supplies so I immediately sprayed the bathroom down, remote, handles, etc. and then sprayed Lysol all over, turned on the AC and left the room for a few hours. The smell wasn't as bad when we returned but both of us had horrible sinus problems the entire weekend along with a hacking cough all night long. We also had runny noses whenever we were inside of the room. It's a shame because this hotel is family owned and we could tell they put a lot of hard work and love into this hotel but they must have a problem with mold. They also need to make the hotel room doors more secure. The only lock that worked was the door knob and for women, this is NOT safe! The fridge, microwave & A/C were new and nice. The bathrooms could use new faucets. The toliet seat was a disgrace! It looked like they painted it instead of replacing it! It had what appeared to be bubbling paint. I couldn't believe they didn't replace it!!! Price was very reasonable. Hotel office staff & workers were all friendly and helpful. The office was cozy and they even had cool t-shirts with the hotel's logo for sale.They should add a bike rack at each of their hotels so guests can secure their bikes. Close to beach and boards!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikeridergirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#21 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#28 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Safari Motel

Property: American Safari Motel
Address: 5610 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#26 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — American Safari Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your American Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Safari Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing