We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place for peace of mind!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Safari Motel
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 4 October 2009

my wife and i took off for mini vacation and what beter place than wildwood,new jersey.we also wanted to try a different time of year and a different hotel.this time we chose the "american safari hotel".let me tell you about about this place,the rooms were discounted at a good rate, open till the end october,a heated pool,which i took advantage of ,deluxe accomadations,1 block to the beach! and nice owners.what else can i say! if anybody needs to get away from all the confusionof everyday,take a safari to this hotel and have a wonderful time!!! don c baker jr york pa

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LURCH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2009

This has been our 4th stay with the owners of this motel. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation from the time we checked in to the time we left. The owner's take sincere pride in making sure their guests have a wonderful vacation. They go above and beyond to make sure everyone is satisifed. The place is always so clean, and well groomed. They are very family oriented and accomodating to your needs. Everyone is very pleasant. While we were there they also hosted an awesome buffet, entertainment, and beverages at no extra cost. Really great...we highly reccommend this motel if you have never stayed anywhere...and trying to make a choice while in the Crest. We look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My Husband, 4 year old and myself just returned from a 4 day stay at the American Safari.I was slightly concerned after reading the wide spectrum of reviews, mostly bad. I am here to report that the news is good. First let me start with if you are expecting Hilton type hotels in Wildwood Crest don't come here. Our experience was great. From the owner who was extremely pleasant to the clean rooms. We had an enjoyable time and would return again. To those who may write false reports based on jealousy, maliciousness etc. SHAME ON YOU!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz070809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This is the second year in row we have stayed here, the rooms are very clean and well kept. It is a great smaller motel, with nice personal service. I would recommend this motel to someone looking for a place to stay. The owner is very friendly. and provides coffee and cookies in the office in the am. The motel is one short block from the beach and about 4 shoert blocks to the boardwalk, there is a bike rental and small diner/convenience store within walking distance and of course the ice cream parlor across the street for a night cap.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majakey921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

From the friendly check-in to the excellent housekeeping services, this place is great. Rooms are adorable and very affordable. The pool and barbecue area are icing on the cake. The location of the motel (close to boardwalk, beach, and great restaurants) make it a one-stop park & walk vacation. We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyjack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Visited the motel just past the peak season couple of years ago, it was priced just right and quite enough to kick back with our older parents. Both us and them loved the pool and its design. It was clean and attractive looking, love the palms and chair setup. The room itself was definitely not a 5 star hotel quality but clean and cozy. None of us is really a fan of the beach in Wildwood so we spent more time at the pool. My parents liked it especially. The hotel is right next to the beach, just have to cross the only street and pass the beach hotel to get there, 1 minute walk for most. The boardwalk is about two blocks away north of American Safari, also a very short walk. It is a great location and a great value compared to some of the other overpriced hotel, but we all know the prices at the Jersey shore are ridiculous.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiveNSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My family and I have been going to this motel for nearly twenty years. It was owned by a great couple for the majority of that time; they took excellent care of the motel and its customers. Then they retired and sold it to new owners. The place has gone steadily down hill ever since. The male receptionist is extremely rude and ignorant. The rooms have gotten progressively dirtier and dirtier. The doors don't lock properly. All of the faucets drip incessantly. Some of the TV's don't work and forget the microwaves. We just came back from the worst weekend we have ever spent in Wildwood thanks to the a-holes running this place. Now they also own the Aztec and the Gondolier. They seem to specialize in buying up motels and running them down. Don't go to this fleabag from hell; there are many nicer motels. After twenty years of coming here, we never will again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelerJim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.9 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#34 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Astronaut Motel
Astronaut Motel
#38 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
59 reviews
0 mi away
Aztec Resort Motel
Aztec Resort Motel
#20 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#29 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#50 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Safari Motel

Address: 5610 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4326
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#23 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £37 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — American Safari Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your American Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Safari Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing