We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST BEACH MOTEL I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shalimar Resort Motel
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 24 November 2007

My family and I stayed at the Shalimar for a wedding this fall, a bit after the renovations were completed. I have to say that this is BY FAR THE BEST beach resort motel I have stayed in. I have 2 young kids with whom my husband and I have traveled a lot. We have rented many houses, stayed in high end hotels and stayed in regular motels. This place when compared to even the nicest places, was outstanding: big, clean pool, mini golf right out front; kids loved the fake palm trees out front too. Our room was a two floor suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and 2 decks. This has got to be the value of the shore. It was immaculate. The bedding was all handmade out of beautiful classic but modern patterns. The pillows were soft yet firm. The mattresses all felt new. A TV on each floor of the suite. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The owners clearly took great pride in what they had accomplished. I read that people had been unable to stay here as planned last summer due to delayed completion--anyone who has ever run a construction project knows this will happen. The motel is now up and running and it was so clearly worth the wait. I will stay here every time I come back to the Shore. I might even plan to go to the Shore just to stay here. We were happy, the kids were happy. Oh, and it's exactly 1 block from the beach. Where we saw 6 dolphins jumping in the morning. It was amazing. Then we saw them the next morning. The dolphins love Wildwood too!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFamBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2007

Been to Wildwood every year of my life at some point in the summer. That makes this trip # 44. I have seen it all, experienced it all, and most of it in the Crest. Shalimar was a new experience for my family. I have stayed in poor to moderate, never top of the line. It is Wildwood ya know. But for 3 nights, this place has some charm. Owners take care of the place and seem to make sure that everything is neat and clean. Rooms well maintained, newer and bathrooms acceptable. Pool cleaned daily. Grills cleaned daily and a no tolerance for smoking in rooms policy iwth a $250 deposit. How they know you did not smoke in the rooms is beyond me with the majority of smokers puffing away out on the deck. One major downside. If you don't smoke, then expect a ton of it on your balcony. Thus was the case on the rooms at either side of us. Made the nightime tradition of sitting outside a bit of a chore. But, while $225 a night seems excessive, it is Wildwood. And for those who go, pay the extra $40 a night per average to get a place that is newer, clean and better than average. Always remember it is Wildwood and you are not getting a bargain. You pay thru the nose. But the beach is wonderful and the lure, if you have gone like I have for so long really never gets old. It is where families have memories that live forever, good ar bad. But Shalimar is better than most down there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

Stayed: July 2007
Thank MERAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelsalot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mereditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mom333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#14 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#17 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attache Resort Motel
Attache Resort Motel
#22 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Resort Motel

Address: 6405 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £65 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shalimar Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and enjoy the retro inspired style of our accommodations-from our guest rooms to our largest three-bedroom townhouse. Our recent renovations blend the classic mid-century architecture of the Wildwoods with modern conveniences, like wireless internet and a complete fitness center including steam room. At the center of the Shalimar is the spacious pool area, open late and offering sun-drenched southern exposure for you while the kids enjoy the diving board and slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shalimar Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Wildwood Crest
Shalimar Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing