We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Resort Motel
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had high hopes after reading all the great reviews, but I was left wanting. While the motel was updated compared to other wildwood accomodations, it was hardly comfortable. first the room we were in was mostly tile floors. I felt like I was staying in a bathroom most of our stay. the beds were in desperate need of replacement. they were very cheap. there was not much soundproofing. You could hear every step outside the door and on the stairs. The pool was nice looking, but we could not enjoy it. I think there was a family of like 30 renting out the majority of the first floor. they seemed to take over the pool every day all day. You just felt like you were intruding on "their" party. the room was VERY plain. no pictures, no decorations of any kind. It felt like a concrete box. I will probably not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachluver73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We are very sorry that your stay did not go as you would have liked. Most of our units are completely carpeted, however, the kitchen/living room area of our first floor efficiencies are tiled due to the fact that those customers tend to go back and forth from the pool to their rooms very frequently. The tile allows us to keep the rooms as clean as possible and prevents the rooms from becoming too damp. It also sounds like you were in a room by our BBQ area and steps - while many people like the convenience of this location, we have locations that are quieter and are happy to place customers in the locations that they prefer whenever possible. We replace our beds very frequently and are constantly making updates to the equipment in the rooms.

Is season we often have groups of customers who come back year after year and book from the year before. We enjoy welcoming customers back every year and find this to be a testament to how happy they are here because they keep coming back. But we are also ready and willing to advocate for any of our customers if something is happening that they are unhappy about - all they have to do is let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    53
    17
    13
    35
See reviews for
122
21
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've stayed at so many hotels in Wildwood over the years. Many of them, like the Lollipop and the Carideon started out as clean inexpensive rentals, but Wildwood in general over the years has truly been on the decline. We got tired of working all year, anticipating a great vacation only to spend a week in one of North WW dumps. Eventually, we stopped doing hotels and motels and tried condo rentals. Although they were much cleaner, in the long run they were much more expensive, and in some cases were advertised as condos but were in fact simply motels converted to so-called condos. The Shalimar was great. For one, the clientele appeared to be working class people, all of whom were very friendly. The rooms are very clean, and it's location is close to supermarkets, parks, and restaurants. The staff is ABSOLUTELY wonderful. Elaine, Christina, and Brittany will bend over backwards to make sure your every need is met. They truly are the best hotel staff I have ever encountered. The pool is clean, and stays open late. The only cons we had was the motels proximity to the boardwalk (we had to drive every night), also you have to pay to use the gym, and finally there's no free coffee in the lobby which for working class people "GOOD COFFEE is a must. I don't mind putting on a pot on each morning, but on vacation (even in dumps), coffee is usually free. Those minor issues aside,(and I do mean minor) we really enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend "The Shalimar" to anyone looking for a clean, quite, vacation. We hope to visit again next Summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esabree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

we have a great time. my friend and I are having a great time. we have the T-1 town house suite we have our own balcony in our bed room. I like the place and I would go back for at least 3 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolegraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Every year since I was a baby, our family vacation was always Wildwood and my whole family stayed at The Rio Motel. We have so many cherished memories from those days. Once it closed down, we have always felt 'homeless' down there...staying at various motels in WW and WW Crest, but never loving any of them, until The Shalimar! We just spent the greatest week in years there. The staff was great. Check-in and out was simple and quick. The rooms were clean, the pool is huge and open late. The laundry facilities were better than anywhere else i have stayed. Everyone around the pool was friendly, the clientele was fabulous. We had the best vacation In years and finally found our new home away from home. I'm about to see if we can book another summer getaway and we will surely be returning next year. Highly recommend The Shalimar, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside on the first floor, even though the pool was open late, it was never too loud. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We are so glad you found us and we look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood Ridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel is nice. We stayed 7 nights in a T1 townhouse unit. The two decks are great. The room could use more storage for clothing either in additional furniture or shelving. The property is well kept and housekeeping does a good job. The one hiccup we experienced was a bacon odor that the last guests "left" in the room that stubbornly hung in there for the duration of our stay.....it did lessen over time. Overall, management seems on the ball.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RERWoodRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed one of our townhouse units with the private balconies. So sorry about the bacon smell - we do our best to deal with situations like that. There are always things we can try if it is too much. We have considered putting up some additional shelving and very much appreciate your recommendation/comments. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great time at the shalimar. Pool is clean and has an awesome diving board lots of fun got adults and kids!! I really liked the BBQ Grills and my son loved the pool as well as the miniture Golf area. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. There are no towels for the pool so bring your own. Also the room is a little cramped ( we stayed in Room 107) and mattress probably need to e changed soon they are a bit unfortable not alot, with those exceptions everything else was good. The hotel is about a block from the beach and close to Cape May. One thing is to keep in mind of that you are bringing more then one car, you will have to park one of the cars on the premise and the other about a block away or at a meter. I would reccommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We took a day trip to Wildwood from the Philadelphia area and made no reservations. After staying in the Crest just last month at another motel, I was prepared for older, basic accommodations that were clean but with sparse amenities. We stumbled upon the Shalimar as we were driving through and were immediately sold when the front-desk person gave a tour of the room with 2 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, 3 balconies, Jacuzzi tub and updated decor--at a reasonable price!! And did I mention only a block away from the beach?!

I will definitely keep this motel in my database for a future stay and have already recommended it via Facebook. I'm not sure how many motels in the area have multiple bedrooms (the Oceanview is one), but this one was actually nicely appointed.

Room Tip: Our room was 408. I think all rooms are this level have multiple bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillygirl109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We are so glad you happened upon us! We do have several options of larger rooms that can accommodate larger families or families that just want some more room for their vacation. We hope you will keep us in mind for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#17 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#13 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Resort Motel

Property: Shalimar Resort Motel
Address: 6405 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shalimar Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and enjoy the retro inspired style of our accommodations-from our guest rooms to our largest three-bedroom townhouse. Our recent renovations blend the classic mid-century architecture of the Wildwoods with modern conveniences, like wireless internet and a complete fitness center including steam room. At the center of the Shalimar is the spacious pool area, open late and offering sun-drenched southern exposure for you while the kids enjoy the diving board and slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shalimar Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Wildwood Crest
Shalimar Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing