We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great classic motel, good people, with awesome cafe on premises.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tangiers Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tangiers Resort Motel
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Sparks, Md
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great classic motel, good people, with awesome cafe on premises.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Tangiers is in the northern part of the Crest, only a few blocks from the southern end of the boardwalk.
I first met the owners at a car show in Timonium, Md a few years ago and decided to stay there for a weekend. It is an older motel, so don't expect state of the art bathrooms and fixtures. But that's not a bad thing. It's kind of retro, the way motel rooms were back in the day, which is cool. It's kept clean and the owners are friendly, nice people.

I got to know the people at the attached "Doo Wop Coffee Shop". Oldies playing, 50s and some 60s memorabilia on the walls, great food and service, and immaculately clean. (they won best breakfast on the island!) Whenever I'm down I usually have breakfast there 1 of the mornings, and am planning on staying in this motel again soon.

As for the post about being "on surveillance" and the one about getting grief on checking out late, I can't say anything about that as I haven't experienced either one. It's all been pleasant for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Motelandrestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
57
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

I was over at tangiers this weekend,the price was fair and the room nothing special. The reason why I gave the one star was the service. I was very dissatified. On the morning before checking out we decided to go to the beach and came back about 10:30, right after entering the room this guy knocks at the door furious demanding us to leave. I was scared and confused why would he act like that. There are no reason for someone to act that why.I understand that It was our foult for not paying attention to the check out time because we assume it was 11 (as most places are) but for them act like that way was unacceptable. I spoke with the owner the woman was even worst telling us that check out time was 10 and thats it. She has no understanding of customer service and how to approach people. I was very offended they way she handled the situation. We were only 30 minute late not 1-2-3 hours. I preferred to pay her the 30 minute late check out and never had to go through that again. I dont want to hurt her business but I am really upset cause I have check out before but never in my life been kicked out.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Been staying at the Tangiers for the last several years! The rooms and the resort are kept very clean.It is in one of the best parts of the Wildwoods to stay,
Wildwood Crest is nice and quiet and the Tangiers is only a short walk to the start of the boardwalk. The WiFi is not free but i got a very strong signal for optimum WiFi just use your log-on if you are a optimum customer.

Bruce and Arlene do a great job and make your stay very enjoyable!!!
Thank you for another GREAT time! I Hope to be able to get back by the end of summer!

Thank's again Bruce,
Eric-New York

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank ArubaKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

I stayed there with my family. They had us on surveillance the whole time. I felt so uncomfortable. They watched every move my kids made. Do not consider if you have young children.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TangiersMotel, Manager at Tangiers Resort Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We love children! The majority of our repeat clientele have young children. We have security cameras on site for the safety of all of our guests. When children are left unattended and are destroying property we have to intervene and correct the issue. Pool equipment, Giant Chess set pieces and other equipment are expensive to replace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

Paulsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Needed a room on short notice and called Tangiers the fact that they had vacancy should have been my first clue! While the price was a value deal I still feel like I overpaid for what I got. The only nice thing was the location...The room was very dark and outdated. We had an efficiency room. The room where the double bed was was also the access to the bathroom so the two teens with us had to come into the bedroom to use the bathroom. the bathroom had no tissues, few rough towels and no shower head. The hot water was cold the cold water was hot. The overall appearance was outdated and in need of repair. While Arlene and Bruce at the front desk were very nice the hotel needs some love. You can go across the street to the Crusader and for about $60.00 more you can get a MUCH nicer room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerzeezgirl4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Location was great, perfect view of the ocean. Deck was facing the ocean as promised and right across the street. Staff was very friendly and pleasant. Restaurant on the property was very good and convenient. My disappointment came with the room. First when you walked in there is a drop of 3/4 of an inch. Room was very small and smelt musty, rug was old and spotty. The bathroom was from the 1950's, the sink and the toilet were green, toilet seat was white. There was no strainer in the sink or bathtub (don't wear jewelry) and the drain of the sink was rusty. The shower curtain was thick and old looking. The toilet whistled after you flushed. Kitchenette which consisted of a very small sink, too burner stove and a tiny microwave was only about 4 feet long. The only thing new was the refrigerator. Pool had a dirty ring around it. Could only get a few channels on the TV. Not a good choice to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Well, we wanted to go to Wildwood for 1 night and this was the only place that would let us stay for 1 night on a Sat. night. The room was clean and did not smell musty. Yes, the bathroom did look like 1970 (see picture), but it was clean. We got a 1-room efficiency with 2 double beds. The beds were a bit hard. It had a microwave and a large refrigerator and a small electric stove. The air conditioner worked just fine and it was 100 degrees that day. We were able to sleep and despite a rowdy crowd at the pool, it was quiet at night. There is a Doo-Wop ice cream shop/diner attached to the hotel and the food was decent. We could walk to the beginning of the boardwalk ( about 6 blocks). We rented bikes from Crest bikes - we did not like them, the surrey we rented did not have the seat adjusted correctly and my legs kept hitting the steering wheel. The pool was warm, but the sides of the pool were dirty and the kind of skeeved me out a bit. The beach is about 1.5 blocks and you can see it from the hotel. The beach isn't to far from the water (about 2 blocks walking on the sand). The owners were nice and helpful. However, we noticed about 5 flies in our room when we checked-in. We were able to kill them, but when we woke up there were another 5 more flies. That worried me, because that would mean there was decaying food somewhere, maybe in the sink. I would try to find another place, but most of the hotels wanted a 3 night min. So, if flies don't bother you, then this is an OK place. However, it costs us $181 for just 1 night, but it is peak season. The Days Inn Wildwood wanted $300/night. So I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.9 mi away
Apollo Resort Motel
Apollo Resort Motel
#62 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ala Kai Motel
Ala Kai Motel
#39 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Resort
Monterey Resort
#44 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#23 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#61 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangiers Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangiers Resort Motel

Property: Tangiers Resort Motel
Address: 6201 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tangiers Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented motel with a great location, just across the street from the beautiful Wildwood Crest Beach. We have a host of amenities to make your vacation great. Onsite Doo Wop Coffee Shop that serves breakfast, lunch, Ice cream and other delicious treats. Shuffle board, large swimming pool, guest laundry facilities, fax service, outdoor natural gas grills and more. The gift shop is chock full of gifts and basic beach necessities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tangiers Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangiers Motel Wildwood Crest
Tangiers Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing