We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice throwback motel”
Review of Bel-Air Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bel-Air Motel
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice throwback motel next to start of boardwalk of Wildwood. Also less than 1/2 block from beaach. The room was nice. Two rooms, entrance has sofa bed, table, tv, apartment size fridge. Then back room has queen size bed and another Tv. Has full bath with two doors. Pool was super and heated! Will stay here next time going to Wildwood. And great price for it.

Room Tip: Less than a block to the start of the boardwalk. Also the start for the Tramcar. Less than 100 yards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I planned a last minute two night getaway to Wildwood Crest. The Bel-Air was the only place that had a room for both nights. The accommodations more than satisfied our needs. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The property is clean and well maintained. The entire staff is friendly and works hard at keeping things in order and making sure the guests are happy. They advertise a heated pool, and guess what, it is actually heated, unlike other places that advertise it but do not follow through. If you are expecting a five star hotel with all the bells and whistles, look somewhere else, but I doubt that you will find it in The Wildwoods. The Bel-Air’s high rating on Trip Advisor is likely due to reasonable rates, clean rooms, good management and housekeeping, great pool and great location. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This motel is an older motel -- not fancy, but very clean and the beds are comfortable. It is only a block from the beach giving you some sea breeze and the sounds of seagulls. Additionally it is only a block or two from the Wildwood boardwalk. We went to get away from our fast-paced lifestyle and the Jersey Shore provided it. I watched daylight come, bicycled all but one morning, enjoyed the various food options, walked the boardwalk, and rode the tram plus visited Cape May one of the mornings. The motel's pool is heated which eliminated the initial shock of getting in. I found the little bathtub in our shower very interesting and quaint. It would be nice to have the possibility of having a dvd player in the room. We were on the first floor in a two-double bed layout -- dorm-refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donavon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Recent stay at the Bel Air was very disappointing. Rating on tripadvisor was #1. Was I every fooled. The place is OLD AND DINGY. Nothing has ever been updated or painted or replaced. Clean, so so but not dirty. Bed is uncomfortable I was stiff for days. Towels and wash cloths have holes in them and you feel like you are drying yourself with sandpaper. Fifty cents for ice. Parking places are so small you have a hard time getting out of your car. For $193.00 a night (with all the taxes and fees) I do expect much more. Will not return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have been staying at the Bel Air for over 15 years, sometimes 3 and 4 visits a year. Never disappointed. Steve, Elvis, and the staff are awesome. Close enough to boardwalk and beach without being too noisy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - probably have stayed in every one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

this is a great hotel..great location..clean, friendly, quiet, maids were great, pool was clean, nice size rooms, check in and check out was fast and easy. the only bad thing I can say is the wifi was horrible!!!! hopefully I can return soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammylm656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked our stay at the Bel-Air Motel largely based on TripAdvisor ratings. It has a charming retro look with a nice pool. However the place is old and dingy. The rooms haven't been updated in MANY years and my wife and I cannot figure out why the ratings on this site are so high. This place is mediocre, at best. We're veterans to Wildwood / Wildwood Crest vacations and we will not be returning to the Bel-Air. High hopes fell flat, unfortunately.

Some of the positives: It's a block from the beach and a block from the beginning of the boardwalk. The pool is standard Wildwood size with a small kiddie section. It's well maintained with a nice little grilling area. It looks like a cozy, retro vacation motel -- and the office people are friendly.

Some of the negatives: The rooms haven't been updated since at least the late 80's. The sheets and bedding were disgusting and our comforter hadn't been washed in a while. There were no clocks in our room (yes, not even an alarm clock)... not that that's all that bad :-) The ice maker costs 25 cents! For the price that we paid, I could have found something much nicer with modern amenities.

All-in-all, we enjoyed our Wildwood trip because of the beach and boardwalk. But we won't be returning to the Bel-Air and I definitely would not recommend to family or friends. In 2012 we stayed at the Blue Palms (owned by Morey's), which was comparable in price and completely renovated inside and out. I can honestly say that I don't completely trust TripAdvisor anymore. Too many people feel that reviews are bogus and I'm inclined to agree with them.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to have similar amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.6 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
0 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel-Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel-Air Motel

Address: 5510 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4324
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing