We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Wildwood.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

When my friends and I stayed here in May we had the best time. Everyone was very pleasant and friendly. Our room was beautiful the bathroom was shining. I would recommend this to anyone who staying in Wildwood and whos looking for a reasonably priced place to stay. Best motel on the atlantic we look forward to our next trip down there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danakm201973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.

We are extremely proud of the Wildwood Crest beach and local amenities. We are pleased to share them with our guests.

Best Regards,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Room was very clean. Location is great--very close to the beach. The pool was immaculate and large enough to accommodate the people. We spent 4 nights there in early September and would definitely go back. It was a nice time of year for the beach also--not too crowded, lower rates, and absolutely perfect weather. My only complaint is that the mattresses were a bit too soft for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMC116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Deciding to take a spur of the moment road trip and spend one night in Wildwood, I called from the road, and we reserved a room with a pool and ocean-view at what turned out to be a wonderfully nostalgic place. We were delighted with our experience at The Crusader from the start. The room was immaculate, and it was a thrill to see the care and upkeep that the owners and staff have given to maintain the integrity of this motel. Although it was clearly designed well over 40 years ago, that did not mean anything was shabby or poorly functioning. Our room was spotless, the bathroom gleaming, and the attention to cleanliness and the pride of the staff was visible inside and out. Everyone we encountered was friendly and courteous. It is only a few steps from a clean, beautiful, wide beach.The pool was crystal clear, and I enjoyed a perfect morning swim. The price was an excellent value for our location, and we would definitely return, but we'll plan for more than one night on our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests, and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Hopefully you will soon become another member of the "Crusader Family".

Thank you for your patronage and taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,
Alan and the "Cru" staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at the end of June and will be returning. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate. Separate sleeping and sitting areas with a kitchenette. Especially liked having a real coffee maker to brew a nice cup of coffee and sit outside to watch the sunrise. Good location. Close to boardwalk and beach. Nice sun deck and pool. The Crusader exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, close to the beach. Not dingy, but not too up to date with renovations. Big pool with a kiddie side, kid slide. Sun deck, ping pong table, some shuffle board game painted on the floor. Good views of the ocean, and boardwalk. Parks nearby. Restaurant down stairs is really really good, and cheap check it out. Been here twice, maybe three times. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view or pool view. Don't pick street view you'll be really upset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for being a return customer. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will continue to come back year after year.

Just a note that our interior design choice is made in effort to stay with the "Doo Wop" theme of the Wildwoods. Yes, it is different from the norm. Thank you for noticing.

Best Regards,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Crusader with our family of 4 based on the reviews on this site. This was our first time to Wildwood. Many of the reviews of other hotels in the area were negative in regards to cleanliness and service. We were very happy with our stay at the Crusader. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful from our arrival to departure. Our room was large and very clean in all areas. Our bed was ok and comfortable, not the best but we slept great. Whenever we needed anything as far as extra towels or tissues, we received them quickly with no problem. This hotel was very family friendly. Many families were here with kids and no late night partying. We felt very safe and comfortable at this hotel. The best thing about this hotel was the great location to the beach. Cross the road and you or right on your way to the beach! Also an easy walk to the Boardwalk and other restaurants in the area. We never had to worry about driving our car anywhere. The only downside I found strange was you had to put quarters in the ice machine and I didn't have any change on me. Never been to a hotel that charges for ice, but not a big deal. Everything else was great. If we make it back to Wildwood we will definitely stay at the Crusader again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you chose to stay with us on your first trip to the Wildwoods.

We take great pride in offering a clean, safe and very family oriented atmosphere to our guests. I certainly hope that you will join the several hundreds of families who return year after year.

Best Regards,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at the Crusader last week with my family and I would highly recommend this motel. Seems like it has recently been renovated and is very clean. The room was very nice; comfortable beds, clean (new-ish) bathroom. The pool deck was great to use after a day at the beach. All new furniture on the deck. Plenty of tables and lounge chairs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are right outside the pool, so a bit noisier but easy if you have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpirrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you. It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope there will be many more vacations with us in the future.

Aside from the typical annual maintenance we do various upgrades through out the property each year. Our guest often ask when booking reservations "so what's new this year?" Our largest project this past spring was a total rehab of the pool deck and sundeck. Thank you for noticing.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best Regards,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#2 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Address: 6101 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £110 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort is located directly on the beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest, New Jersey. Here you will find the cleanest, whitest expanse of sandy beaches on the entire East Coast. There is surfing and water sports nearby and we boast the best amusement boardwalk on the coast featuring Morey's Amusement Piers and Water Parks within walking distance. Our 40+ year reputation is a benchmark in cleanliness and hospitality. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel Wildwood Crest
Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing