We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family oriented and clean place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The place is CLEAN, comfortable beds, great layout,
Kept and maintained well. Good size pool. Great place for family. So convenient to the beach boardwalk and restaurants. The family owned restaurant was also great food snd service. We would definitely come back and recommend.
Thanks...Crusader for making our vacation successful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have been traveling to Wildwood for about 25 years and this is my first stay at this hotel. Very clean room, updated, clean grounds and the owners/staff are always tidying up. I booked the trip last minute and since this hotel requires a bank check for the deposit and it would not arrive before check-in day, the owner Alan was kind enough to hold the room for me on my word that I would be there by 1pm. I was shocked at his hospitality and old-school style. My kids are older so this might have been our last trip down to Wildwood for a while and the Crusader made the stay very comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Since we had to book last minute, we were only able to get a street view and the internet was spotty...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runnergirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A bad day at the beach is better than a great day at home! Thanks to The Crusader and Wildwood Crest. Our stay was very nice. We had a smooth check-in. Jenna and Allen were very accommodating and friendly and answered any questions we had about our room, the motel, or dining around town (even though we vacation there 4x a summer, it's nice to hear from locals). Pauline, our housekeeping staff, was excellent! Always immacualte when we returned to our room with plenty of towels, soap, etc, etc. The pool was fun and there was plenty of oom for all those guest that decided to partake in pool fun! There is even an enclosed 2.5ft sectioned-off kiddie pool that my 2 year old loved. Great experience, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Meghan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We just spent one glorious week in Wildwood N.J. at this Hotel. Needless to say that our hosts Jana and Allan were simply the best anywhere down here. Let me explain, first of all they treat you like family upon arrival that is why I bring treats for them upon arrival. The staff is just the very best and I know since my family and I have been coming to the Jersey Shore for the past 30 + years. A little known fact is that the restaurant in the hotel is a "Hidden Gem". Rick who owns the place is not afilliated with the Crusader is one of the best little hidden secrets. If you come down, besides the best breakfast in town, the dinners are fabulous. I had Turkey (which is fresh cut off the breast and homemade stuffing) really homemade along with Broccoli and Red Skin Mashed which I could not finish, gravy was real not jar gravy and cranberry sauce was just the best ever. My husband and daughter had Shrimp Scampi, they said it was the best they ever had anywhere. The next day, I had a turkey triple decker, well what more can I say. When you plan to come down to Wildwood Crest, consider staying at the Crusader since the rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The pool lifeguard Lenny is a great joke teller and there is constant Music playing at the pool. The staff never pressures you to feel uncomfortable when it is time to clean the room. Yes they have rules for Adults and Children while swimming which is 100% reasonable and yes they provide towels at the pool. At the Crusader they have a nice place with tables and chairs to have your lunch while swimming at the pool with a view of the beach and the waves. We have already booked our vacation for next year...Can't wait.

Room Tip: Take any room on the pool level if you want quick access to the pool. The upper rooms have a great v...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our 8th year at the Crusader! It is a clean and family friendly hotel in the Wildwood Crest. We have 3 sons ages 12, 9 & 9. It is perfect for us! I recommend it to anyone traveling with kids.

Room Tip: We prefer the street side rooms so that we do not have the noise from the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MatManTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family and I have been coming to the Crusader for a few years. We have tried other hotels in the area and nothing compares to the Crusader. We will not go anywhere else. It is clean and well maintained. The staff is fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Crusader for the 4th of July weekend and had a great time. The staff is very friendly and always cleaning something on the premises. We have 2 kids which means we come with way too many bags. I love that they have carts and an elevator because it really makes that process much easier. The pool has a lifeguard on duty, which gives some added comfort when the kids are swimming. Parking is pretty good too. There are spots around the hotel as well as under the hotel and they aren't super tight like some places I've stayed at. You can walk to the boardwalk but we drive because it is a bit of a walk. The only reason I rated it 4 out of 5 is because I think the rooms are a bit outdated and could use a little makeover. Still not something that would deter me from staying again. Overall, a great place for families!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AMac6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,061 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Address: 6101 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £64 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort is located directly on the beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest, New Jersey. Here you will find the cleanest, whitest expanse of sandy beaches on the entire East Coast. There is surfing and water sports nearby and we boast the best amusement boardwalk on the coast featuring Morey's Amusement Piers and Water Parks within walking distance. Our 40+ year reputation is a benchmark in cleanliness and hospitality. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel Wildwood Crest
Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing