We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value, but needs some TLC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value, but needs some TLC.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed Sept 2 through Sept 6. Room had a kitchenette with all the amenities, stove top, microwave and toaster, which was nice. Casework needed some TLC. Main door into unit entered into a lockable bedroom, which you passed through to get to remainder of the unit. My husband and I were alone so it was ok. If others were staying- no privacy. TV in bedroom and separate living area was nice. Clean, but door frame in bathroom was rusty at bottoms. Paint was peeling off ceiling grid. Room was humid, but OK if keep door and sliding balcony doors closed and AC on. Pool closed early at 8pm. Tiki was not open all week. Desk didn't have any amenities. No stamps, toothpaste etc. Pool was beautiful, right off the beach. Hot tub was not hot, but nice and warm.Beach and sand clean and beautiful. Water was brisk and exzilerating. Good for value and Great location. Would go back to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla_walnutsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we will look into your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    40
    27
    47
See reviews for
110
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This may be our fourth time staying here. We used to stay at the Apollo until that got overcrowded. We like to stay at Summer Nites but that gets pricey after a few stays so we stay at the royal hawaiin if we want to cram in a few more days at the beach. Great pool and hot tub(warm) with a fun tropical theme. Rooms are standard beach quality, worn, tired and old. We paid $135 with tax for a room with two doubles, micro, fridge and separate living room. We had a balcony with a little beach view over the parking lot. Try to get a room near the front if the place. Better view and I am feeling like those rooms are cleaner. We booked at last minute. I've been happier in other rooms than this one. The room doesn't seem as clean. It's tight on the beach and has a snack shop. I may try somewhere else next time as I think my tastes have changed (spoiled). It seems dog friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we will look into your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is perfect, it has a game room, HUGE pool, a tiki bar, front beach access & a place to wash your feet after the beach. My husband loves the hot tub & my daughter LOVES the baby pool which is attached to the main pool. The staff is very friendly, they are always willing to accommodate any request in a timely manner. You never have to ask for extra towels, there are always an abundance which is nice. This is a hotel for families that want to stay at the beach, have privacy, and enjoy the quieter side of things. We continue to stay here year after year - this is our 5th year in a row. We'll be back in June!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allentown,PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Royal Hawaiian is another hotel where maintenance is lagging. Screen door screen was ripped out, electical wall sockets were worn out - would not hold in a plug, pocket door to bathroom did not slide - trapped you in the bathroom, vent falling out of the ceiling, etc. Plus the archaic practice of paying in cash only - who wants to carry all that cash. Plus, the parking spaces are made for compact cars only- so narrow you can't get out of your car when parked next to someone - expect scratches and dents - we got them. We used to go there for many years, so on short notice we thought we would go again - never again!

Room Tip: Try a Mory's Pier hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we will look into your concerns. The parking we can not change it is standard size by law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We've been staying in this hotel for over 15 years for our long weekend go away. The service I always good and the management accommodating. The rooms were renovated over the last few years contrary to what other angry reviewers stated. There were issues over 5 years ago with mold in the bathrooms but all of them have since been renovated - we've seen at least 8 rooms and these issues are no more.
Be cognizant of reviewers who blame somebody else for their screw ups

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfriend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementon, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have read all the reviews and I have to says all front desk people were very nice our room was very clean! We has plenty of towels and wash cloths bed were very comfortable sheets were very clean and no bad smells in the room. There were a few people a little wild but you will find this all over Wildwood no matter were you stay. The pool was very clean. So if you read other reviews please don't listen a very nice place to stay. We are going again for a long weekend in August and can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyann1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northvale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had reservations at this hotel for 2 days. The Day staff was lovely and the view and pool were great. But we checked in to our room to find mold on the bathroom walls. We stayed and went to the boardwalk came back at 11pm to find Large centipede bugs crawling on our walls and out of the vents. We called the front desk for help and all we got was aggravation. The women showed up with a fly swatter and an annoyed look on her face, she proceeded to flick the one bug off the wall and leave. We told her either clean the place or just give us another room ( which there were plenty of ) but instead refused , and told us stop making a big deal out of nothing. I then requested my money back. She refused and told us to leave the property. We finally got our money and left at 12am. Do NOT stay here unless armed with bug spray.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for your concerns we will look into this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#30 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Colony Resort Motel
Beach Colony Resort Motel
#1 of 7 in Wildwood Crest
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#20 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort

Property: Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
Address: On the Beach at 500 East Orchid Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing