We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Pan American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pan American Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is really great! It is NOT the typical jersey shore hotel or motel, which I usually find to be old, dingy, musty-smelling, run-down. The Pan American is the complete opposite - very clean and nice! They have white duvet/linens on the bed which is a great indication that they have to keep it clean. Other places at the shore usually use those gross polyester flower patterned blankets that they probably never clean.

The bathroom is great because there is a sink area outside of the main bathroom and then the full bath with another sink so one person can be getting ready while someone else showers. It makes getting ready easier.

We had room 418 which was a 4th floor oceanfront efficiency suite - so worth the money! Even though you can see the ocean/beach from one of the side rooms, it's nice to have a straight-on completely unobstructed and gorgeous view. It's so serene and peaceful.

The efficiency kitchen was very convenient - good-sized refrigerator, microwave/convection oven combo, 2 burner stovetop, with basic plates, bowls, pots, pans, utensils, etc. They even supplied dish soap and a sponge.

The pool area is also great. They have a sun deck where you can lounge and literally overlook the beach.

The Wildwood Crest location of the hotel itself is perfect - about 3 or 4 blocks south of the boardwalk if you want to go, but far enough away that you wouldn't hear the noise (we stayed mid-week Sept so it was quiet all around). And only a 15-min drive to Cape May.

Overall, super nice place to stay and will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AMB1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Pan American. I am happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities our Oceanfront Efficiency Suites have to offer including the breath taking views of the beach. We pride ourselves in making all our rooms exceptionally clean, comfortable and with the conveniences of home for a more enjoyable vacation experience.
The pool area is a Hotel favorite and we have now added a beautiful fire pit to the area.

Please join us again this year as we celebrate our 50th Anniversary! Our Reservations Office is open and we are now booking for the 2014 Season.

Best Wishes and Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have been staying at Pan American with the group "Keepsakes and Memories" for a few years and they never fail us. The hotel staff is the best from maids up to the front desk employees, they do an excellent job making our stay another yearly memory. I cannot wait till next September to relax in the beautiful surroundings and enjoy the company of my wonderful traveling friends. Great job Pan American...kudos to you all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and making the Pan American Hotel your group's vacation destination! We are so happy that all of the Pan Am Team has continued to exceed your expectations each year. We truly look forward to our "Keepsakes and Memories" arrival every year.

Thank you again for your kind words. I will pass them along to the entire Team.

Have a safe and happy winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was my first stay at the Pan American and I could not have been wore pleased. I was therewith a group of 56 and everyone was happy with the accommodations, staff and the hotel overall. My room was poolside and the beach view was great.

The hotel is VERY clean and rooms are comfortable. I was walking to the elevator one day and heard a spraying noise, when I reached the end of the hall I saw housekeeping staff using a steamer cleaning the chair rails in the hall. Very impressive!!!!

Lori and Carmen from Housekeeping were very helpful to our group, with information and very attentive to our needs

will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent. The rooms overlooking the pool had great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gammo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience with the world. I am so delighted you and your group had such a wonderful time. We are happy you recognized our Housekeeping's attention to detail and cleanliness. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pan American Hotel. Please join us next year as we celebrate our 50th anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have been staying at the Pan American Hotel since 1986! The staff is wonderful and the rooms and pool are very clean. It is the only hotel on the beach that we recommend to people that want to stay in Wildwood Crest. Seeing the dolphins every day is a special treat! For anyone that appreciates fine white sand and for the most part, clean gentle ocean waves, this is the gorgeous beach resort for you! Elaine T.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the Pan American Hotel for your vacation home for so many years. The Pan Am Staff is committed to assuring our guests the very best quality and service. It is an honor to welcome you back every year, not just as our guest, but as friends and family.

Thank you again and have a blessed winter season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family have been staying at the Pan American for the past 7 years and with Moreys resorts for 13 years. We have no many memories and fun experiences that still have us and the staff at the Pan American laughing. The resort is always clean and well taking care of from year to year. I would recommend the Pan American to anyone looking for a great vacation. The staff is like a family to us after all our years. The restuarant at the hotel is very good and family oriented.

The Jackson & Branwell Family

Room Tip: Any room at the Pan AMerican are clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your continued support of the Morey Resorts. We are so grateful for guests like you and your family who return to the Pan American Hotel each season, creating more memories not only for you and your family but for the entire Pan Am Team as well. It is always our pleasure to make our guests feel right at home. We look forward to seeing the entire Jackson/Branwell family next year. And the list continues.......

Best wishes for a safe and happy winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Pan American after Labor Day. We were both pleased with the hotel. It appeared that it had been remodeled recently. We stayed on the fourth floor in Rm. 402. Because of previous reviews I asked for a room on the fourth floor facing the pool, if available. You can pretty much see the ocean from all of the rooms in the hotel. The penthouse was right above us–we did not hear any noise from up there. This room might be more noisy during peak season–Ocean Avenue is just to the right of the room and there are baseball fields and basketball courts on the other side of the hotel. For those with small children, there is a playground located right near the hotel on the way to the boardwalk. The room was decorated nicely. The bed was very comfortable. There is a safe in the room. The kitchen has a refrigerator with a freezer, a two burner electric stove and a microwave with convection oven. There is also a coffee pot–bring your own filters and coffee. The hotel does bring out a Keurig coffee machine with cookies down in the lobby in the afternoon. There is also a lounge area that has a big screen television. The ice machines are down in the basement along with some video games and a shower that you can use to rinse off and change clothes. The pool is very nice, towels are provided and there is also a counter where you can buy food and drinks. There are two sun decks–we utilized the sun deck at night-very relaxing to listen to the waves of ocean while drinking a cocktail! The hotel is located a couple of blocks from the beginning of the boardwalk. We actually didn't need to drive anywhere---there are restaurants within walking distance. We had a good breakfast at the restaurant located in the hotel. Overall, a very good stay. We will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeeFan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the Pan American Hotel for your vacation destination. I am delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable and your room was comfortable. We strive to provide our guests with the best accommodations and superior customer service. Throughout the Hotel, we provide our guests with many conveniences, such as the shower and changing room you mentioned. The upper sun decks are a great way to take in the evening.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year as we celebrate our 50th anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We loved our stay at the Pan American. There is no better location in Wildwood Crest. Everything is within walking distance, including the boardwalk. The tram on the boardwalk picks up/drops off just a few blocks away, saving a ton of money on parking. There are many great restaurants in walking distance as well. The hotel itself is very well maintained and very clean. We stayed on the 4th floor, north side, and had great views. We had rowdy children in the room next to us and could not hear them when inside of our room, which is rare for a Wildwood hotel. Definitely request a high floor-there is no need to pay for ocean front if you are on a high floor. The attached restaurant has delicious and reasonably priced breakfast, and has great service. The only downsides were that the beach is very long in front of the Pan Am, so be prepared to walk a distance to the water! Also, the bathroom in our room was very small. Other than that, we highly recommend this hotel! We will be back!

Room Tip: Pick a top floor. North side is more quiet. We loved room 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach5413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pan American Hotel for your vacation. We appreciate your kind words and very insightful review. Our location is very convenient for our guests. The boardwalk is just 5 short blocks north of us, putting the Pan Am in a nice walking distance to so many things. Thank you for sharing that.
Our Pan Am Team takes great pride in exceeding guest satisfaction is all areas of the Hotel.
I will pass along your compliments regarding Alosi's Restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.2 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#6 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 5901 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4227
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#3 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: £65 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pan American Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Wildwood Crest
Hotel Pan American
The Pan American Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing