We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Pan American hotel”
Review of Pan American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pan American Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved the Pan American hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very clean, friendly staff, nicely decorated, nice pool, great location- right next to the beach, playground, basketball courts and bike rentals. A short walk to the board walk. We loved it! We will be back next summer. Oh, and the restaurant inside has great food too!

Room Tip: Good views all around. We were on the fourth floor facing the courts and playground and loved it. Oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaZ18255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimKellyMgr, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very nice review. We truly appreciate when our guests take the time to tell the world about their experience with us at the Pan American Hotel. I am delighted you and your family had an enjoyable vacation. We are dedicated to customer service that is above and beyond and providing ultra clean accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next season.

Best Wishes,

Jim Kelly GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    77
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
269
86
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a hotel, so it's a little bigger than the other places, which are all small motels. They offer more amenities, and it's a little nicer, as you would expect from a hotel. We had a nice time when we stayed there, and we were a very large group down there for a basketball tournament, so we were loud at times, and between the kids and the adults, we were everywhere, yet they were very accommodating. They don't let you make noise at night, and at one point we were all on the observation deck partying, and talking, and although we are educated adults, it did get a little loud at times as any large group would, but instead of being rude, they set up a conference room for us to bring the party inside so as to not disturb the other guests, which was very nice of them, but we understood their position and just called it a night instead. Finding a clean place seems to be an issue down there from a lot of other reviews I read, so I can tell you, this place is clean. It is on the expensive side, but you do get what you pay for, which is more of a hotel experience rather than a 'too close for comfort', awkward, unfriendly at times, and uncomfortable, little motel experience. The rooms here are also small but not as small and very comfortable. The location is PRIME, no better location. Right next to it is a basketball park, (which strictly closes approx. 10-11 every night, the police make sure as they are always patrolling and making you feel safe) a bike rental with really nice people running it, and a playground area with swings and such, so if you have children they will love it. The back of the hotel is the bike path which is convenient, and we always love to rent bikes when we are down there, everybody does it, and they have baskets for all the bikes if you want one. It is also in walking distance of the boardwalk and rides if you like that insanity, which most everyone does at least one night of their vacation, just keep your little ones close. It's right in the middle of all the action on Ocean, but far enough away from the crowds and craziness of wildwood. Another big plus, they have an on site restaurant, Alosi's, for coffee and breakfast, etc, and the breakfast we had was very good, and the hostess could not be nicer, really. It has a small game room for the kids which is nice if it's raining. It has a nice pool area, which they keep very clean, and it's on the beach side, so having coffee on the terrace in the early morning looking out at the beach and overlooking the pool, was a perfect and relaxing way to start each day. I was very comfortable there, because although it is a bigger hotel, they have a small business mentality of excellent customer service, which is very important when you're on vacation, nobody wants to deal with rude people, it can ruin a vacation. I am not a 'motel' kind of person, so for me this is a perfect place, if you can get a reservation. I absolutely recommend the Pan American Hotel. I am going to try their sister hotel The Port Royal on my next visit, which is even a little bigger, I hope it is as good. Happy Trails...:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool or the ocean. They have suites with bunk beds for kids. Rent bik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsetjackson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

While the rooms are pricey, the location is perfectly situated right on the beach and walking distance to boardwalk.

The reception desk staff, the cleaning staff, the restaurant staff were all very welcoming, pleasant and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and even the pull out sleep sofa had an excellent mattress and was spacious. Five of us shared a deluxe suite with 2 baths, kitchenette and balcony and while the décor could have been a bit more upscale to reflect the cost, we enjoyed our stay and we'd go there again. The rest of our family had rooms on other floors and they were also happy with their accommodations.

I had dinner one evening in the dining room and had an excellent Shrimp Scampi meal which was served by a very attentive waitress. No complaints. But it is expensive to stay and eat there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vg574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I am not a big fan of Wildwood and I was not looking forward to the trip. However the experience at the Pan American made the trip worthwhile. We had two rooms which both had full kitchens and living rooms and were exceptionally clean. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and catered to our every need. The pool area was nice and they had a nice size kiddie pool which my two year old enjoyed. They had a food window where you could order a good selection of food. Parking was very easy as they have parking at street level or in the basement. They have a small little arcade in the basement. They also had a kids play room that had activities throughout the day. The food was very good at the attached restaurant and the staff was incredibly nice. The other cool thing about the hotel is you have a baseball field on one side and modern basketball courts on the other. A few negatives are 1.) Location. It is far from the boardwalk action but you can hop on the tram car. 2.) The area around the hotel is nothing but other hotels so you don't have many food or drink choices 3.) Noise. The hotel is filled with families so you will hear a lot of kids noises. It honestly didn't bother me

As for Wildwood I enjoyed the vacation but I still say they have the worlds worst and dirtiest beaches. If you enjoy the beach, do yourself a favor and go to Cape May. I would stay at this hotel again and I hope to bring the family back every year. Good times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Yes, the hotel is on the pricey side. But, in this case, you get what you pay for. The location is perfect - not too far from the boardwalk, but far enough away to be peaceful at night.

Mostly, the impression we got was that this place is CLEAN. I think the pool area was cleaner than my bathroom at home (I'm a huge fan of bleach, so....). The staff were constantly outside scrubbing or tending to the area. We saw narry a stray BandAid in the pool, which is a feat considering how much use the pool gets. The hotel has some sort of activities for the kids in the pool in the afternoon. We had our two-year-old in the kiddie pool one afternoon and a woman offered us some floating pool toys for him to play with. I think she was a hotel staff member because she explained that they were put out by the hotel. Then she went back to playing a penny-diving game with some of the older kids. Very nice touch.

Front desk staff were friendly and warm and the rooms were nicely updated.

I was impressed with the changing area in the basement. If you want to stay beyond check-out time on your check-out day, there's a very nice bathroom and shower with towels in the basement of the hotel. I was skeptical when they told us about it, but we checked it out on our last day and thought it looked nice enough for showering before hitting the road to go home.

The only suggestion I can think of is to get those retractable clotheslines installed in the showers for more space to hang wet suits and towels.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Really, all of the rooms have ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is our 3rd year at the Pan American Hotel, and once again we enjoyed it so much we re-booked our rooms for 2015 before even leaving. The hotel is a perfect example of the mid-century architecture that makes Wildwood so unique and a property that prides itself in constant upgrades and customer service. The interior of the hotel is decorated in a retro aviation travel theme that is upscale, classy, and just downright cool. It makes you feel like you are in an early 1960's travel magazine photo set. The entire property is immaculately clean. No dust anywhere to be seen in the common areas or the rooms, and every night you can watch the pool attendant scrubbing and hosing down the entire pool area. Over this past winter they installed double paned windows and doors on the pool side of the hotel and they really keep the noise down from the outside, though the door was very heavy and hard to open and close. Towels are nice and soft compared to most places and they do give you soap and shampoo. Alosi's Bistro is a great restaurant and is attached to the hotel, and the location of the hotel is perfect, close enough to the Boardwalk to walk to it, but far away enough to have peace and quiet. The new fire pit they installed was great for the chilly nights we encountered and it's nice to see they constant upgrades they do to the property every year. My only "complaints" are the HVAC system in the rooms and the keys. There is no thermostat, only a switch that is OFF/LOW/MED/HIGH. What this means is even on the low setting the A/C runs constantly and eventually the room turns into a refrigerator, turn it off and the room will end up getting warm and muggy. I don't know what it would take for them to get thermostats installed in the rooms, but that would be a great upgrade, as would upgrading to card locks, the old keys are a bit outdated. The staff is all wonderful and we look forward to seeing the familiar faces every year. The coffee and cookies in the evening were a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of the beach. The pool side is a bit noisy during the day but quiets down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten island
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel was very clean which is my top priority. Everything was great. Only a couple of turnoffs: I felt like they nickel and dime you. Ex. $4.28 if you want to park in preferred parking...$0.25 for a cup of ice...complimentary coffee at night???? and only one TV in the kitchen of the efficiency room. The sliding glass doors to the terrence were very hard to open and we had to call someone to free my crying daughter who was stuck out there. They compensated us with free lunch the next day which was very nice. If you are looking to save $ there are a COUPLE nice motels near by, but if you want guaranteed cleanliness and are willing to spend, this is the place to go. Also, the clientele was what you would expect from a fine establishment...no low life's or wild, disorderly children. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mela724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.2 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
913 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
405 reviews
1.7 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Property: Pan American Hotel
Address: 5901 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4227
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#3 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pan American Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Wildwood Crest
Hotel Pan American
The Pan American Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing