We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAFARI TIME - KUZUKO LODGE SOUTH AFRICA”
Review of Kuzuko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuzuko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SAFARI TIME - KUZUKO LODGE SOUTH AFRICA”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My family and I recently visitited Kuzuko Lodge, we had one of the best experiences. The staff were excellent, nothing was too hard.. We traveled to the lodge with 4 children ages ranging 8 to 16 and each one of our children had an awesome time. We all very impressed with our safari guide Tammy, Tammy truly has a passion for her work, Tammys efforts to ensure we encountered all the parks game was well appreciated. My family and I will be back to Kuzuko. I have no hesitation in recommending this experience to anyone..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    53
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
174
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springbok, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We visited the lodge as a family during June 2012. We were the only guests the night we stayed and still everyone went out of their way to accomodate us. The food is superb and the rooms amazing. The view from the deck was breathtaking. Everyone was friendly and the only thing I could fault was that at times it was weird to have everyone staring at you, waiting should you need anything during mealtimes but that is just our opinion. It is one of those magical places you never want to leave. One thing you should perhaps know is that the roads leading there is not the best. We drove an SUV and had no trouble but with a car it could be a slow journey. Also do not expect to much re the game drives. The drive itself is 5 star they provided us with blankets and warm water bottles for the cold and the vehicles as well as the landscape were great but the game kind of eluded us (maybe it was just us and to be honest it was winter time) we did see soooooooo many kudus and one elephant, zebra and what we loved, a black Rhino to which we could manage to get very very close. Also the ride can be very very bumpy (we drove soooo fast to try and find animals) that if you have back problems you could be in trouble. The lodge is amazing and we will definately be back but I think the game drives is something they could still look at. It was well worth a visit and we would definately recommend them

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We came to Kuzuko at the end of a busy holiday, and had the most wonderful 2 days. A ride in the morning, then breakfast and some personal time, then another ride in the evening, and a wonderful dinner. The views are just magnificent and the people are wonderful.

Two tips:

1) if this is your first visit to Africa, don't expect the animals to line up next to the roads to be seen by the visitors. This isn't a zoo, and they go where they want to, so it might take some looking before you find them.

2) Before going, find out what the condition of the veld is like. If it has been very dry for a long time, there will be fewer animals. At the moment it is lovely as they had good rain this summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bokkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodelshausen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at Kuzuko - which is really the Place of Glory!
The chalets are really comfortable, the service is, the food is absolutely amazing (beef filet etc.), the safaris are stunning! There was nothing left to wish for. Tammy, our ranger, went beyond herself to show us the animals. She is so knowlegeable and a great tracker! We saw elephants, lions, the rhino, zebra, monkeys, kudus, birds, owls, and so many more!
However, you have to stay at least 3 nights if you want to experience everything!
Great place to stay - luxury in the middle of nowhere, and - if you have Tammy as guide, there is so much to learn!!!

PS: Be prepared to spend 2 hours on a very rocky dirt road before getting to Kuzuko! Good tires needed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Spend two nights at the lodge, fantastic setting, fantastic friendly service, good food, not a fantastic variety of game. Unluckily we had terrible weather for game drives and my wife was on crutches. The lodge provided a wheelchair and it was fantastic. Game rangers forgot the birds and the plant life! If you don't have a lot of game, use the bird and plant life to keep everyone interested!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The only downside to this stunning lodge is the 40km gravel road to get there, not that it is dangerous, but it just feels never-ending....But when you get there, that is when relaxation kicks in big time!!

You must go on both the game drives per day. What you don’t see in the morning, you will definitely see on the afternoon drive. The rangers are all very professional and to the point. The head ranger "Riaan" who was designated to us, was fantastic, what a real nice guy and has so much patience with children. Well done Riaan! We saw all the animals except for the Leopard, but all your drives are embedded in our memories!

Then to the friendly staff of the lodge, this is what you call 6 star service. Also a big thank you to Sune, Rooms Divisions Manager, who always were eager to go the extra mile. The menu changes every night, the food was delicious. Just enough unless you struggle again with that extra pounds. From breakfast, to high tea and then dinner, wow! you will on the other hand pick up some kilo's, but it is worth it. The room was fantastic and it was very hot while we were there, but the air cons did their job. Rooms were clean and tidy at all times, sometimes at night after dinner the room staff left a chocolate or two, fantastic customer service.

The pool area was sufficient and so relaxing. Swimming in the pool with a view like that is rare. The spa treatments is also worth your while. All in all, this is a fantastic place to unwind, relax and rejuvenate yourself accompanied by your family, what more do you need. Put this Lodge on your Bucket List!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

What an experience we shall never forget! The game drives were absolutely fantastic...we didnt want them to end! Our ranger Freddie, was a super star and made so much effort in explaining things about the animals that we saw. Elephants, rhino, lion, cheetah, zebra, buffalo, baboons and many antelope breeds were amongst the animals we saw and we were not disappointed in any way! The hotel is so unique in its setting and the food is delicious too. We were also pleased to know we had a choice for our evening meal too. The staff are very helpful and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a safari experience. Totally unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sk699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
23.1 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
29.1 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
24.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
21.6 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuzuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuzuko Lodge

Property: Kuzuko Lodge
Address: Olivenfontein Farm | Kommadagga, Addo Elephant National Park 5800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuzuko Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuzuko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuzuko Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing