We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and experience”
Review of Kuzuko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kuzuko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and experience”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

What an experience! The bungalows are just beautiful, very large and comfortable with excellent facilities and the view - wow! Sitting on our balcony with our binoculars we see the animals in the distance as you are right in Addo Elephant Park.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, we were made to feel so welcome and relaxed. The food was wonderful and there was definitely plenty of it.

The morning and evening safaris each day were amazing. We were so lucky to see so much including lions, rhinos, cheetahs, elephants, buffalo and lots of zebras, antelopes and wilder beast. The rangers are so informative and get you so close to these beautiful animals but still feel so safe. Special thanks to Romeo.

Highly recommend and thank you Kuzuko Lodge for a relaxing yet breathtaking experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    53
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
179
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What is there to say that has not been said before. I endorse all that previous reviewers have stated about the chalets, the staff, the food, the area, the game drives, everything!!!! If you have an opportunity stay here.

Room Tip: All the chalets have the best location. Seems contradictary? go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrinkleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very remote and spectacular location. Disappointingly weather was very overcast but would love to have seen it in the sun and especially with a clear night sky for star gazing! Very friendly and helpful staff and outstanding rooms with fantastic views over the reserve from a hill top vantage point. Don't be put off by the stories of 40Km of dirt track to get there - it's actually mostly very good quality apart from a bumpier bit between about 15 and 20 km in and we were able to drive at 60 - 70 km per hour most of the way in a little Toyota Etios! However, I wouldn't suggest doing it at night if you can aviud it.
We went on two drives (only stayed one night unfortunately) but saw Elephant, Buffalo, Lions, Cheetah, Jackal, Zebra and various Antelopes, Wildebeest and Deer. The wildlife isn't as abundant as in the reserves around Joburg as the vegetation isn't lush enough to support the density but that does also make it easier to spot game from a distance.
Food was excellent and the whole ambience ofthe place was really good and felt pretty authentic. Thouroughly recommended as an end stop for the Garden Route (we drove from Cape Town and flew back from PE to Cape Town

Room Tip: Looked like all are good as in a single arc around the hill top
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Kuzuko Lodge in early February 2014 and wished we had booked longer. Great staff, good food and wonderful accomodation. The game drives were superb and Rodwell (our ranger) did a fantastic job on every drive we went on. All of the staff were a joy to deal with and they truly care about their jobs and guests. The views from the rooms are incredible and we spent time each morning have coffee and gazing out over the scenery. I highly recommend the lodge and look forward to returning some day.
Michael and Donna, Toronto, Canada

P.S. The desserts were amazing and the croissants rival anything you will find in France

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had 3 nights here at the end of our South African holiday it was fantastic, the chalets were fabulous we had terrific views. The place was spotless and the staff so friendly. We had 5 game drives and the rangers we so knowledgeable . Zander was the best we had him 3 time and Romeo twice he was also very good. It was the perfect end to our holiday and to see the animals so close was great. We could see a watering hole from our chalet and were able to see lots of animals come there.

Room Tip: They all have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We drove to the Eastern Cape wanting a change of scenery and long-weekend safari experience. Kuzuko Lodge offered comfortable rooms, an attentive staff and close encounters with African wildlife. Our ranger Freddy was incredibly knowledgable, enthusiastic and genuinely kind. He offered a wealth of information on the game drives as well as after dinner conversation at the lodge. The only downside was not being able to go on the cave walk excursion because the person with the gate keys wasn't around. Overall a fun, adventurous experience!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Zilk, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We loved our stay at Kuzuko Lodge. Beautiful accomodation overlooking Addo National Park. Wonderful staff in the restaurant and the wellness centre and the rangers were wonderful, they did their utmost to enable us to see all the animals.
They adjusted gamedrive times as we arrived a little too late.
A peaceful and relaxing accomodation and a restaurant that provided wonderful meals.
Truly 5 * quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
23.1 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
429 reviews
29.1 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#7 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
306 reviews
24.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
18.4 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 12 in Addo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuzuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuzuko Lodge

Property: Kuzuko Lodge
Address: Olivenfontein Farm | Kommadagga, Addo Elephant National Park 5800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuzuko Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kuzuko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuzuko Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing