We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart stopping splendour”
Review of Kuzuko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kuzuko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for less than 24 hours in April 2014 having tried to cram so much into our month long trip from Zambia; parts of SA and Mauritius. We set off from Cape of St Francis at around 1pm believing we had plenty of time to drive to Kuzuko which is described as part of Addo. Our directions were horribly scant and sat nav was as much use as an ash tray on a motorbike. We were thrilled by the scenery and sightings after sightings of animals: giraffes; zebras; ostrich & more. Stopping at Addo Elephant Park because we wanted to check we were heading in the right direction, we were told we were a good 2-2.5 hours from Kuzuko Lodge. Being told this at 4.30pm created a bit of angst particularly as we wanted to join the evening game drive and driving after dark (6pm) was not advisable. We put in more fuel and set off with some urgency. Miles and miles of beautiful open scenery and looking for the sign for Ann's Villa before our next marker. As the sun set over the Karoo the beauty of the landscape was enthralling. A huge crimson sky which lasted for about 30 minutes after which we were plunged into absolute darkness. Dirt tracks with ruts and holes the size of craters and desperation setting in. At one point kudu decided to bounce across our path but by about 6.30pm we arrived at the Estate Reception and were taken by jeep to the Lodge. On arrival we were greeted warmly by Jonathon and having missed the game drive expressed our disappointment. The staff could not have done more and went to much trouble to help us achieve a dream.
Our chalet was lovely with everything you could need and a balcony from where we spent a couple of hours the next day, just absorbing the magnificent views across the mountains and watching cape buffalo in the distance.
Dinner was delicious and service was excellent.
An early start and lucky to have Rodwell as our ranger & guide. I desperately wanted to see lions and was told guests had seen lions the day before, so it was unlikely we would see them today. We were told the scout had been out and was looking. Shortly after entering the reserve area we encountered a stand-off with a black rhino. Told to stay perfectly still because he was contemplating charging the landrover! What a heart stopping 30 seconds! Thankfully he contemplated well and took off into the bush. Driving through the reserve at sunrise was an unforgettable experience. Rodwell was contacted by the scout that we were going to track lions - and this is where the ride became even more exciting as we traversed scrub and dried river beds, ducking branches and bouncing about. It was fantastic. Eyes peeled in search of the elusive lions. After about 30 minutes there they were. Two magnificent males surveying the terrain and we watched as they walked in front of the vehicle and stood close by. I don't think I breathed for a couple of minutes as I was transfixed on the most amazing sight. The younger one roared and they moved on. We tracked them but sadly our vehicle got stuck in a ditch and had to be winched out by the tracker. Seeing antelope tearing in the opposite direction warned us the lions were still nearby.
We saw lots of beautiful creatures inc elephant, wildebeest, springbok, kudu, meerkats and more.
For me, seeing the lions was the highest point of the entire holiday already filled with high peaks. This special moment will stay with me forever along with the wonderful 20 hours spent at Kuzuko Lodge. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshrarebitCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Cannot say anything bad about this place. I was there for 2 nights with my teenage son. A warm welcome at the reception where we left our car and the luggage was transferred with us up to the lodge. We were given a welcome drink and afternoon tea, we were shown to our luxurious room then straight off on our first Game drive. Quite chilly at this time of year but great for seeing the animals. We were lucky enough o see Lions and Zebra lots of Kudu,Springbok etc. Hot towels and
drinks when we arrived back. Evening followed with a good meal and great nights sleep. On the following game drives we saw Elephants, Cheetah Wildebeest Buffalo and a whole load of other animals. I think the Rangers were absolutely fantastic good humoured and really knew their stuff. The evening sundowner was always a fantastic end to the drive. I would highly recommend the Lodge and hopefully will get back there one day. We also both had a brilliant massage in the spa. We paid extra for our but you can swap one of your game drives for a massage if you want to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jobloggslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A fantastic experience in a magical atmosphere. The staff a very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable. The lodges are very well appointed with fantastic views of open countryside from the patios. The beds are comfortable and there is a lounge area and full bathroom where you can lie in the bath and take in panoramic views. All meals are taken in the spacious dining room, again with fantastic views. Meals are imaginative with a very good selection to suite even the most fussy palate. The Rangers are fantastic; they are very knowledgeable and aim to give the guest a true "out of Africa" experience. If you want a "Disney see all the big five" type visit then this is not for you, the animals are skittish and the Rangers have to work hard to show them to you. They do, and we saw everything apart from a leopard. In all our stay was for three nights and we went on 5 game drives and each one was very special. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All lodges have a great view but it can be a bit of a hike up to the main complex. If you have any w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 186338Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Kuzuko Lodge and were treated like such special guests from the moment we arrived. You are greeted warmly on arrival at the lodge, with hot cloths and delicious hot chocolate, which was most welcome on a chilly night. Nothing is a problem for the warm and gracious staff, who take care of your every need. It was my son's birthday and they made him a lovely birthday cake. The rooms are beautiful, with everything you require. What an awesome view over the karoo, as the hotel is perched atop a hill. The food was lovely, and plentiful. The spa treatments were awesome, with wonderful staff at the spa. It was altogether an awesome few days, and I can't wait to return. Thank you for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TracyJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently and it was definitely the highlight of our South African holiday. From the moment we arrived, the service and attentiveness of the staff was incredible. Without exception, ever staff member was unfailingly pleasant, courteous and efficient. Our lodge was so comfortable and the setting and views magnificent. The actual game drives were fabulous and our rangers, Tammy and Rodwell worked so hard to let us see as many animals as possible. The early morning Cheetah Walk was a highlight in itself. Truly, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I arrived with a flat tire (worth the drive from Port Elizabeth to get here as it is away from the crowds) and the car was taken off and fixed and we were whisked off to the lodge and our beautiful chalet. Everything is thought out - the staff seem to track your movements and anticipate every need just as they track The animals. We saw lions from 10 feet away, cheetahs feasting on a wart hog, buffalo, surrounded by elephants, kudu, zebra, springboks and so much more. Every detail is thought of by the staff and the food is amazing! I also recommend the staff as Simi and her crew are extraordinarily talented and the prices are great. We plan to return with the whole family!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotEnoughHours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful view at the end of the world! A game lodge with friendly people, good game viewing and stunning views.

Different from the so many game lodges...in South Africa!

It is an amazing scenery along the way to Kuzuko & in Kuzuko. I simply loved all the elephants - could stay with them all day. The lions were also waiting to be discovered. Enjoyed the cheetah interaction.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Anneli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
17.4 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
48 reviews
23.1 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
483 reviews
29.1 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
356 reviews
18.5 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
511 reviews
24.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuzuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuzuko Lodge

Address: Olivenfontein Farm | Kommadagga, Addo Elephant National Park 5800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: £241 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuzuko Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kuzuko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuzuko Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing