We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Addo & Matyholweni!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addo Elephant National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matyholweni Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved Addo & Matyholweni!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in 3 SANParks' rest camps during the winter holidays and this was the best one. Staff were great from the day I phoned to book (and had special requirements) 'till the day we left (in contrast to a very bad experience in the ADDO main camp shop). House is typical SANParks, but has everything you need while spending most of your time in the bush. The braai on the stoep is brilliant! Only small disadvantage of Matyholweni is that the southern part of the park is a bit bushy, so you have to drive a few km before you can really start game spotting, but then again you do get a much better bush feel an more silence than in the main camp.
If you only look at the accommodation you might think it's a bit overpriced, but remember you also get a whole nature reserve included! Get that WildCard - it's worth it!

Room Tip: Small camp, so any, depending on your needs of course, will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you want a waterhole then Matyholweni rest camp will disappoint. It is in the bush and very close to the southern entry into Addo Elephant Park. The chalets are rustic and equipped for self catering. There is no restaurant here so you do have to make your own meals. I loved the peace and tranquility and we saw many elephants in this area. There were so many birds of prey and it is a much quieter (human noise) than main camp. We stayed in both Main camp and Matyholweni and both experiences were magical. No bustle or hustle at Matyholweni. Sitting on our balcony we were blown away by the number of shooting stars we saw. I was very impressed with Matyholweni and would definitely recommend a stay at this very tranquil camp. The chalet was very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy_vegemite_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to Addo Park, and the Mathyholweni Camp was a great surprise. The camp is small, and not crowded. The cottages were very well maintained and spotless! We did a few regular drives during our three day stay and saw many animals ... And of course, elephant. The Sanparks staff were well trained in their respective rolls, friendly and a pleasure to meet! There was a slight mishap with our booking which was treated with the greatest professionalism and complimentary game drive - which is highly recommended! I look forward to visiting and exploring Addo further.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here in spite of it being above our typical budget, and it was worth it! The cottage was beautiful (far better than the cottages we stayed in later in Kruger Park for the same price), with a very good private kitchen and deck w/ braai overlooking the park. We also loved the fact that we could be up early and in the park searching for animals first thing in the morning then come back for a late breakfast. Also...some other commenters have said they did not like being in this side of the park because of fewer animals, but we did not find this to be the case at all. Our best elephant encounters were in the southern part of the park and the large open field made viewing of Kudu, Eland, Zebra, Ostrich, Warthogs, etc. phenomenal. Also, you could not beat the location just off the N2 for entering and leaving the park. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthgirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Super quiet, clean and lovely. Very well equipped.
Small balcony provided an amazing view of the area with bird visiting us in the morning.
Good value unfortunately they were very busy so we could only stay one night here.
Camp is easily accessible through one of the park's main gates only a short drive up the road., makes a great base camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this through the Sanparks website and it was an excellent base for exploring Addo. The little thatched cottage had a large main room that included the bed, table and chairs, and a kitchen area. There is also a small balcony area out back. The location allows you to get a great early start in the morning, which proved invaluable as that was when the big cats were on the prowl. The check in process at the gate was very smooth. I would recommend here as an Addo base.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kommetjie, Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our first visit to Addo and we really enjoyed it. Matyholweni was an absolute dream of a camp. It is small and has individual units which are well spaced so you do not feel on top of anyone. Cottages were really excellent, spacious and comfortable. The staff were all friendly, helpful and the general overview of SANPARKS is doing SA proud. It is a great camp to go game viewing as most of the game is in the southern part of the park so you will definitely see herds of plains animals. We saw lots of buffalo and elephant, and nowhere in the park did we feel crowded. Well done SANPARKS.

Room Tip: No real preference having seen both single and double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
0.0 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#7 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 12 in Addo
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matyholweni Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matyholweni Rest Camp

Property: Matyholweni Rest Camp
Address: 3 km from Matyholweni Gate, Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Matyholweni Rest Camp Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing