We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zuurberg Mountain Village(Addo Elephant National Park)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuzuko Lodge(Addo Elephant National Park)
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorah Elephant Camp(Addo Elephant National Park)
US$970
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$910
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Bend Lodge(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Addo Elephant Country Estate(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
22
7
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
7
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflush toiletscommunal showersstayed one nightgame parkwater holehidenoisehyenastentfencecharcoalbraaibushstovebeddingcampbuffalo
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We booked one of these tents to be in the bush surrounded with animals and the nights sounds. The camp is basic, tents are adequate, bedding OK. The communal showers, toilets and kitchen are not great but enough to get by. We had amazing sightings of elephants right next to our tent (ask for no. 5 it is the closet to the communal facilities and the only one next the fence) the sounds and night from jackal, hyenas and elephants for our 3 night stay during the week made the experience the best. HOWEVER do not stay in the camp at month end or a weekend as the music coming from across the valley was terrible and loud from 9pm through to the next morning 8am. You can. It sleep and certainly do not hear the animals.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Speckboom was an incredible experience and the best way to stay in or around Addo for cheap. If you're not looking for a luxury safari or guest house experience, this is your place. Our tent had two very comfortable single beds with nice warm clean blankets and sheets. Even though it was late May and chilly at night, we were fine with a few layers and the provided blankets.

Bathrooms (flush toilets!), kitchen and showers were very clean. There's a stove for cooking but take advantage of the braii in your tent site. Don't forget your charcoal!

If you're used to pitching your own tent when camping and using a composting outdoor toilet, you'll find this luxurious!

The site is in the middle of the game park and has its own viewing area. You can't participate in late night/early morning guided drives from here. Expect be "locked in" from roughly 7pm-7am depending on time of year.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lsizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Amazing place to stay in Addo Elephant. Not a standard camp but a bush camp of 5 tents surrounded by animals.
Everything is quite clean for this kind of camp, including the common toilets and bathroom.
Finally the cache is excellent with this water hole. It was amazing to see buffalos and a rhino coming to drink!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night...
We were pleasantly surprised by this camp!!! Beautiful surroundings, right IN the bush! We had to walk through a maze of plants to find our tents! Well maintained, spotless hot showers and toilets!
Basic cutlery, pots etc supplied...
Tent 5 was right next to the game fence a few meters from the waterhole/hide, very convenient for sneak peaks of what was going on!
We saw elephants, buffalo and a hyena the night we were there.
Bird life was amazing!!!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Dorianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We prebooked Spekboom after our first choice , Addo Rest camp was full. We spent one night at the rest camp and moved on the next day to Spekboom.
Spekboom hasa only 5 tents.in an area not much bigger than a Football penalty area.
Each tent is quite separate and surrounded by Bush.
The toilet block and kitchen is reach along a small path through the bush and is clearly labelled Ablutions. At the Kitchen /Toilet block is the Fridge, two large gas rings and a large sink area.
Above the kitchen is a large Solar panel which passes Electricity int a shed which holds a series of large batteries. This gives the power for lighting in your tent at night.
Just next to Spekboom is a hide/fence with holes cut into it with a wonderful view of a Waterhole. When we were there in late October 2016 there were lots of Elephants moving into and out of the water hole. We also saw Buffalo, Wart Hogs,Deer and Jackals at this water hole.
We totally enjoyed Spekboom.
Take all your food with you as the nearest shop is 20kms away. No night driving allowed except for the official jeeps but they only operate from the Camp head office. So are marooned at Spekboom but there a a lot worse places you could be in.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt47Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews